We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place for a group to stay”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Galwiji Homestead

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
106 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Ballarat, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 106 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Robyn1946
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place for a group to stay”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Galwiji provides beds for 12 but there is room for extra people to camp as the web site says. Three toilets (one separate from a bathroom) are ideal for a group and two TV sets were an advantage for us - one could watch the football while the rest watched DVDs. The kitchen is well equipped. The walks that have been clearly mapped for visitors are a great help. We went into Buninyong for the market on the Sunday that we were there and then went on to the Museum of Australian Democracy at Eureka in Ballarat. That's well worth a visit. We'd like to return to Galwiji in October one year, when the weather is a little warmer. The wood fires are great, though.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The three toilets
Liked least: The dining table is a bit tight for any more than 8.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2015
It was a pleasure to have you to stay Robyn. Even more so when you told us that you've sampled a number of other properties in your yearly weekends away, and that Galwiji had stacked up well against them :)

Looking forward already to your next visit.

Kind regards. Malcolm Pryor. Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin D
Greater Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“spacious and comfortable”
Reviewed May 12, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Loved the old style charm a lovely spacious and comfortable residence with plenty of room for everyone.
The wood fire worked a treat and was still going as we awoke in the morning with plenty of wood supplied

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 13, 2015
Excellent to have you down from Shepparton Kevin. Hoping that your bike races were a big success. At least the rain held off for them!

Regards.

Malcolm Pryor, Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andrea_po...
2 reviews
“The perfect country house for a family weekend away”
Reviewed April 5, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We've just returned from a long weekend at Galwiji - our second Easter weekend stay and what would have been our third if we hadn't missed out on getting it last year. We are two families of four adults and five kids, and Galwiji suits our needs perfectly. The location is idyllic - far enough away from anywhere to enjoy the peace (and make as much noise as you want!) and close enough to civilisation to pop out and get a good quality (and much needed) coffee of a morning. The house is the best equipped of any holiday home I have ever stayed in and the location of everything is clearly labelled so that you are not wasting time trying to find out where everything is. We love Galwiji because it is simultaneously cosy and spacious; it is in good enough condition that it doesn't feel run down or tired, but is not so fancy that you need to worry about the kids touching things or ruining anything. Little things, like good quality bed linen and toilet paper, a roaring fire and a bottle of wine awaiting your arrival, and wifi that actually works, are what makes this place stand out from the others. Last, but definitely not least, the owners are the sort of people who greet you like you are family and who cannot do enough to help make your stay a happy one. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: April 2015
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 13, 2015
Such a pleasure to have you back again Andrea. Big family groups are our raison d'être, and you and yours certainly fit the bill.

Kind regards.

Malcolm Pryor, Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann G
Wonthaggi, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic facilities Has everything you need for a home away from home”
Reviewed April 1, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Very cosy with Coonara heater going at night and still able to get going in the morning
owner provides plenty of firewood Lovely walk in the forest Morning visit by kangaroos
Very comfortable for eight lady bowlers

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of room and 3 bathrooms
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2015
Ann, it was a pleasure to have you and your lawn bowls team stay. We're so glad you were able to find the time to explore the surrounds of the homestead too.

Thanks for leaving the house just as you found it :)

Kind regards.

Malcolm Pryor, Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judithann...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Comfortable, all you could want in a peaceful setting”
Reviewed March 23, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Comfortable beds, loads of space, everything you could think of was provided.
Very welcoming and friendly.
Would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to spend some time in the peaceful countryside

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Country situation
Liked least: Not a thing
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2015
An absolute pleasure to have you and Frank and your friends to stay Judith. Thanks for such a kind review. Hopefully we will be able to organise for a bit of a sing-along with my wife next time you stay! :)

Malcolm Pryor, Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey G
Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Serenity”
Reviewed March 12, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We were met by the Owners who were very lovely, chatty and accommodating. We all enjoyed the serenity and remoteness of the place and even the thunderstorm that sprung up and was threatened to blow us away was enjoyable! :) It was a home away from away home with everything you could possibly need. :)

Date of stay: February 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2015
Dear Tracey, it was a pleasure to have you and your extended family to stay for the Christening in Bannockburn. Even though I'd love to control the weather, I haven't worked out how yet :) But I'm really glad that you did your best to enjoy the storm, because they are often spectacular to watch over the farm.

I hope we can welcome you again (on a nice fine weekend :) soon.

Kind regards. Malcolm Pryor, Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muhlhan
Ballarat, Australia
1 review
“A peaceful spacious country home with sheep.”
Reviewed March 10, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Excellent service accommodating our particular needs. Malcolm was very helpful. The home had everything we needed with lots of space for the family. Loved the space to roam, gardens, dams, trees and especially the sheep.
Conveniently located only a short drive to the beautiful town of Buninyong.
Our family of five really enjoyed our visit and only wished we could have stayed longer!

Date of stay: February 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The drive in on the gravel road.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 11, 2015
Kathy, it was nothing but a pleasure to have you and your family stay at Galwiji while you waited for your house to settle. Thanks for being a wonderful and thoughtful guest.

Kind regards. Malcolm Pryor, Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing