We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Place to Call Home for the Weekend”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Galwiji Homestead

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
93 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Ballarat, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 93 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LKD25
1 review
“A Place to Call Home for the Weekend”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Galwiji Homestead is such a wonderful place to stay. I came up with a group of good friends from church, and all 12 of us had such a fantastic time. It is a place where you feel at home the moment you step in the door. The owners, Ann and Bill were so generous with their time and ensured we all felt so welcome. Their local knowledge was truly appreciated too. All communication from Malcolm was fantastic, super efficient and went above and beyond all expectations.
The bedrooms are very comfortable and there are plenty of bathrooms (that is greatly appreciated when you have a big group). The large living room was a great place to relax (especially with the wood fire going)and we all fitted in so comfortably. It was a great place to sit and chat or as we did have a games night. The surrounding land is beautiful and it was so lovely to look out and see some Kangaroos bounding through.
You are certainly well looked after from the moment you make the first enquiry to the moment you finish your stay. Would recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing place to getaway. What really sums it up is a line from a famous Australian film, "How's the serenity?" That question doesn't necessarily need an answer but at Galwiji Homestead it's perfect.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2014
Dear Leah, thanks for leaving such a kind review. We are humbled (and we're glad you like the movie The Castle too).

Having you and your friends to stay was an absolute pleasure.

We hope it was a 21st birthday party you'll remember for your whole life!

Take care. Malcolm Pryor. Operations Manager.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M
1 review
“A great place to Stay! Everything you need.”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A great place to spend time with family and relax. A wonderful time was had by all and the property was just perfect as there is plenty of room. Bill and Ann were great hosts and would highly recommend to family and friends and hope to return for another holiday in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful surroundings and getting to enjoy it with family. Games room was fantastic.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2014
Dear David, it was such a pleasure to have you and your family as our first New Zealand guests. Thank you so much for making Galwiji Homestead a part of your plans.

Kind regards. Malcolm Pryor, Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sosta K
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect home away from home”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My family and friends stayed at Galwiji Homestead and even with four adults and seven children there was plenty of room for us to relax and enjoy being together. We loved the country atmosphere.
Great to use as a homebase and discover Ballarat and surrounding areas.
Galwiji Homestead is a home away from home with everything you need to make your holiday enjoyable.
Very happy to recommend to family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt like home
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Galwiji Homestead. Please come again!

Kind regards. Malcolm Pryor, Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eduteinme...
1 review
“Our Best Weekend in February 2014!”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Still yet to experience a better weekend than our weekend at the farm. Highlight of course was "getting lost" only to see 10s of kangaroos hoping through the fields! The french guys were almost besides themselves with excitement. The venue was in very good shape and who ever thought ping pong and fuzzball tables can keep you up until 3 in the morning. Flo enjoyed the piano more than anything which was just fantastic for the rest of us can only play Twinkle, twinkle little star on piano.

An encore in the future a very high possibility.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Games room!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2014
Eddie, you and your group were so much fun and mum and dad (aka Ann & Bill) loved speaking French and German to other members. Please come again!

Take care. Malcolm Pryor, Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Rural Peace & Quiet”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 for a stay in September 2012

Our visit to Galwiji was the perfect place for the quiet get-away that my husband and I really needed. We stayed over a long weekend at this spacious rural Victorian country property and took delight in our ability to remove ourselves from phones, emails, and the “noise” of everyday city life. Soon after entering the property I noticed myself slowing down, breathing deeper and sighing contentedly. The homestead is well-appointed: a slow-combustion stove, open fire place, and pots and pans hanging from a rustic chandelier belie its modern kitchen facilities. Our sleeps were very comfortable and bathing facilities were more than adequate. There is plenty of room to spread out and make space for ourselves within this very large farm-style family house. It would adequately cater for numbers ranging from a couple to a small group, such as an extended family gathering for a special celebration. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan to visit there again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Liked least: I should have taken more friends with me to enjoy the stay.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2014
My wife Rosie and I recently did what you did and took a quiet weekend away at Galwiji Homestead. We're glad it provided the pick me up for you that it did for us! :)

Regards. Malcolm Pryor. Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry C
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Relaxing break and the rustic charm of an Australian homestead.”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Two adults and four children....plenty for the kids to do whether it was playing inside, running around the gardens or walking the various trails around the property and surrounding fields.
We found the homestead to be well equipped, easily accommodating large families or groups. There are various areas to sit and talk or curl up and read a book or two (Ideal for those in need of a quiet time and seclusion).
If you like to explore the surrounding area, there are many places to visit without having to travel too far.
We had a great time and are already planning another stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2014
It was a pleasure to have you to stay at Galwiji Homestead. We're also delighted that you managed to sample the recently installed walking trails! The first of many to do so we hope.

Kind regards. Malcolm Pryor. Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa V
Cairns
1 review
“Relaxing, great location, fabulous house”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

After traveling from Cairns in our camper trailer, it was with great excitement and expectation when we booked our first house stay. The reviews are true, this place is great. We only stayed 2 nights but we could have stayed 2 weeks. The owners are lovely, and they keep this large house perfect. We loved all the homely touches like a pantry which contained all the little extras you don't normally travel with and every type of cooking utensil you could wish for. The grounds are a delight to see and explore and the owners will give you a run down of all the local attractions. I would happily stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 17, 2014
Thanks for such a lovely review Lisa. We were very glad to give you a real break from the hard yakka of travelling with a camper.

Kindest regards. Malcolm Pryor. Operations Manager. Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing