We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Craig's Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveler rating
173
86
25
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
86
25
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh teacontinental breakfastroyal suiteold world charmgallery restaurantmain barmains and dessertsrestored hotelvalet parking isvalet servicesuperior roomdinner packagestep back in timegrand old hotellast saturdaylovely lunchgold rush
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 295 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were given a Royal Suite Package for a one night stay which included dinner breakfast car parking. Although we live in Ballarat we had never stayed at Craigs Royal Hotel. Dined there often. We had a beautiful tower room and we could sit in the tower and look at the wonderful views to be had. All the beautiful buildings around the area. The room was beautifly decorated with antiques and a very large bathroom with spa. The food was very yummy as per ususal. Service very prompt. Breakfast was good. Waitress told us about the farmers market and where it was and a few other tips about enjoying the rest of the day. Didnt have the heart to tell her I know. She such a sweetie. Sometimes u need to stay in your own town and just look around.

Room Tip: Stay more than one night
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klaebart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel looks great and I slept and ate very well. The rooms and public areas have been very well restored. They alone are a reason to stay here.
We’d heard the restaurant had a high reputation and it was deserved – both our dinner and next morning’s breakfast were very good. A nice French white with dinner and breakfast options that weren't run of the mill.
The bedroom was lovely: dark colours and plump bedding. The bathroom came with L’Occitan toiletries. (I don’t recall a minibar, though.)
We enjoyed exploring the hotel a bit - all sorts of interesting spaces.
The front desk provided good advice in an easy, professional way.
It reminded both me and my colleague of Mietta’s in Queenscliff, for those who know that well-regarded place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MymAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed the weekend in one of the suites which was everything it was promoted to be. The refurbishment has been done to an extremely high standard and really makes you feel like you are in amongst all the opulence of the late Victorian period, but with modern amenities. Our room had a big balcony overlooking the street and a HUGE spa bath, as well as wonderful antique furnishings including a very comfortable 4-poster bed. Just wonderful. Quiet. Staff incredibly helpful and pleasant. This is one of the nicest period hotels we have ever stayed in, far far better than the Windsor in Melbourne which was very tired and long overdue some TLC when we were there a couple years ago. Really interesting history of the hotel in the compendium which brings the place to life. Would recommend to anyone for a laid back weekend. BTW, ate in the restaurant both nights, three courses each, and did not have one disappointing dish. The food is beautifully presented and very high quality; personally I recommend the Coq au Vin, which was very tasty.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Summax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Arrived At Craig's Royal Hotel today for an intended lovely lunch for 2. We ordered the soup of the day....A Parsnip Puree which was rather bland and unexciting. It didn't appear to be freshly made at all. Then we moved on to The Market fish which was ok, and for myself the Sirloin Steak.......All I can say is "Terrible". The steak was tasteless, chewy with lots of sinew. Change your butcher and/or your chef. I couldn't eat half and struggled with the half I did eat. I also ordered the beetroot and quinoa salad which didn't arrive with our mains and it was only when we reminded the waiting staff about it that we received it. A very easy salad to construct but once again very unappetizing in appearance and taste. It was decided that we would not risk ordering the sweets, or coffee for that matter. Paid our overpriced bill and left. I would not recommend this hotel at all, a very expensive dining experience for what you receive on the plate. and I certainly won't be returning there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MARGARETDSALISBURY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Craig's Royal is situated in the main city centre (Ballarat is fairly small city in any case). Hotel used to be a palace and now has been refurbished as a hotel. Hotel decor is very rich and wood heavy. Hotel has the honour of hosting heads of states / members of royal families and famous personalities as its guest. Hotel has a lift but some rooms still require walking up a few steps to approach them. Room decor is very good and has a touch of the past.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hareesh_Tibrewala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews