We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Ballarat
from $29.20
More Info
from $123.40
More Info
from $121.20
More Info
Reviews (527)
Filter reviews
527 results
Traveler rating
176
209
107
28
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
209
107
28
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nuggets gold museum sovereign hill ticket blake exhibition great displays across the road worth a visit interesting facts gift shop on display interesting place entry ticket guided tour great place to visit coins exhibits information
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 527 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2018

I wasn't sure I would like visiting this place but it was really interesting. The gift shop was pretty good too. I learned where rose gold comes from but not white gold. The old dresses were lovely also

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank andiec704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2018

A fantastic and reasonable cheap way to spend a few hours. My partner and I wandered around this fantastic and interesting exhibition of an era neither of us were present for. Such interesting history and the pictures and stories to go with it. The only negative I would have is the lighting. I am by no means an aged person, but I could barely read some of the information regarding the exhibits. Some of the bulbs also need to be replaced on other exhibits. The Victorian Silhouette exhibit was simply amazing. To think that ladies dressed like that simply astounded me. What a fantastic exhibition.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank 36lisaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2018

The Gold Museum is fascinating, in and of itself. But the special fall presentation of the "Victorian Silhouette" exhibit was fantastic! They also had an interactive (try on a bonnet!) display which was fun. Explanations of what ladies went through just getting dressed every day, was a real eye-opener for the kids! Fun. Must see if you are in Ballarat!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Bea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2018

It was interesting, but poorly lit for my eyes. couldn,t read half the information, did let staff know who said other people had had the same problem.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank dorothy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2018

Gives a good insight into the establishment of Ballarat and the gold fields settlements in the 1850's.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Steve Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews