We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Sovereign Hill
from $36.47
More Info
from $118.69
More Info
from $20.74
More Info
AURA
7 Reviews
from $45.76
More Info
Reviews (3,490)
Filter reviews
3,458 results
Traveler rating
2,188
916
235
81
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,188
916
235
81
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews panning for gold gold pour candle making gold mine coach ride candle dipping living museum bowling alley christmas in july raspberry drops two days devonshire tea period costume musket firing gold rush red hill mine boiled lollies
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 3,458 reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2019 via mobile

Having visit the UKs north of England’s Beamish many times was expecting to maybe a little disappointed as Beamish (a living, working museum set in 500 acres of beautiful Durham with costumed folk bringing life to the rebuilt town). This expectation was soon expelled within minutes of walking in the entrance.
This place is an absolute credit to the staff and volunteers.
Spent two days here and and just managed to see most of the site, demonstrations and tours. Most impressive were the mining tours of which there are 4 , one free and three costing $7.50 (excellent value) , managed to do 3 of theses and all impressive. The work that’s gone into the wooded lining of the levels impressive and extensive. The cast (as they would known in Disney world lol) were informative, helpful, friendly, entertaining, proactive and as at Beamish brought the place to life. Do try the pie shop (bakery) as the steak pies are out of this world , had two while here! Had gread fun panning for gold, but didn’t initially find any bits. On visiting the nearby store i mentioned this to one of the staff who asured me that poeple find some everyday and said that if he didn’t have to man the shop he would show me and the grankids how to pan properly . All talk so I thought but then his colleague turned up and he immediately took us down to the stream and demonstrated the correct way to pan. He soon produced two specks of gold! I then had a go and found a large spec - over the moon!
I could go on and on but I think you will have got my drift by now.
NOT TO BE MISSED IF VISITING MELBURNE !!!!!

Date of experience: February 2019
3  Thank Y3363HArichardw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sovereign H, Manager at Sovereign Hill, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2019

Hi Y3363HArichardw,

Thank-you so much for your review and for visiting Sovereign Hill recently. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and that you enjoyed so many of the activities we have on offer.

We hope to see you again soon.

The Sovereign Hill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2019 via mobile

We were impressed with the layout of Sovereign Hill. We realised as soon as we arrived that there was enough happening to keep us entertained all day. We enjoyed the historical buildings the Gold Mine tour, successful Gold Panning, and much more.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Ailsa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sovereign H, Manager at Sovereign Hill, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2019

Hi Alisa G,

Thank-you for your review and for visiting Sovereign Hill recently. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit, including the gold mine tour and hope to see you again soon.

The Sovereign Hill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2019

A great day out for us as a couple, however could definitely see plenty of children and families having a great time too!

We took the trip from Melbourne, we decided against using a tour group as the cost was pretty high, took the train from Southern cross station to Ballarat, then the gold rush special coach to Sovereign Hill.

The journey was easy and the cost was $44 each for the return train fare from Southern Cross on our Myki cards.

I will say although the day was great, the overall cost of entry is a bit steep at over $100 for the two of us.

When there its like being transported back in time, all the activities and shows are excellent, our favorite was the gold pour (every hour on the hour) the man doing this demonstration was seriously knowledgeable and a great teacher! My husband remarked if the teachers at his school had been half as engaging as he was, he might have learnt something!

The candy making and candle dipping were personal favorites of mine. For food, again the prices are pretty expensive, at the dining locations it was $25+ for most meals. We went to the cafe, and their hot-dog meal was a little over $16, drinks were expensive too at over $5 for a bottle of coke or water.

After spending a great 6 hours here we took the complementary gold rush special coach back to the Ballarat station at 15:35 (the last and only coach back on this complementary service)

Overall an amazing day and would definitely recommend this trip to others.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank rachelw119944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sovereign H, Manager at Sovereign Hill, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2019

Hi Rachel b,

Thank-you for your review. We are glad to hear you and your partner enjoyed your visit to Sovereign Hill. We are also glad to hear that you took advantage of the gold rush express coach on your travels.

We hope to see you again soon.

The Sovereign Hill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2019

Really enjoyed our day here,rode in a stagecoach,went down a goldmine and watched people panning for gold.The little town is very authentic,lots to see.Children will love it

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Christined204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sovereign H, Manager at Sovereign Hill, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2019

Hi Christined204,

Thank-you for your review. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to Sovereign Hill and we hope to see you again soon.

The Sovereign Hill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2019 via mobile

Hi. Ive been meaning to write this review for a while. Brought my family and cousins from Ireland last November. Had a great day at Sovereign Hill. I have to give an average score and its to do with the price to get in, the cost of the food and one particular lady we saw in costume who we saw several times that day.
The price is exorborant for a family of 3 (i also paid for my cousins.) I get that it is a 2 day pass but we only had one day to use it. My cousins have since returned to ireland.

The food is expensive, the lines were long. The woman in the bakery was awesome but the food was warm and just not that great. Was told the food won awards but not sure why. Adequate at best.

The other thing was the woman we encountered in main street who approached us as a racist Irish charicature. Wed seen her earlier in the day in the street but we werent sure if shed heard our accent earlier on that day and decided to mock us or this is a daily occurance in the theme park.
She didnt havent that accent earlier on.
My cousins were outright offended. Its upsetting that you have allowed staff to perpetuate the stereotype of "Irish Drunk".

Other staff were great and we had a great day but this has upset me for several months but im writing on behalf of my cousins who are even more upset.

I loved the blacksmith and gold pour demos!

Date of experience: November 2018
4  Thank jconnor1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sovereign H, Manager at Sovereign Hill, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2019

Hi jconnor1980,

Thank-you for your review and for visiting Sovereign Hill recently. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the blacksmith and gold pour demonstrations.

In regards to your dining experience please be assured that we take all reviews very seriously and with them work to ensure we are able to provide the best customer experience possible. We have passed your feedback onto our catering company so that they will be able to ensure this doesn't happen again.

As for the encounter you had with one of our interpreters, she is a researched character based on a number of women who lived on the Goldfields in the 1850's. Unfortunately, many people who lived on the Goldfields took to the bottle, after they found the life they were living not as it was promised. This character represents a number of those stories and the research behind them.

If you have any other concerns or feedback please feel free to email them to enquiries@sovereignhill.com.au and we will be able to assist you.

Have a nice day,

The Sovereign Hill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews