We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't waste your money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sovereign Hill Hotel
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Ballarat
tasmania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Booked a package deal for 1 night for $460 which included being accommodated in Sovereign Hill, dinner & "Blood on the Southern Cross" show. Our room was very nice. The dinner was at the hotel in Sov. Hill which had lovely atmosphere, but very small food portions and no choice. The show was fantastic, the highlight of our stay.

But what spoilt the whole time we were there was the fact our room (no. 56) was right in the middle of over 100 primary school children having a sleep over in two dormitories on either side of our room. Was told by reception that 3 different schools were staying there.

Came back to our room after Sovereign Hill closed to have a break before dinner and show, only to find yelling kids playing football right outside our door, looking in our windows and hitting the ball against the wall of our room. The next morning the children trooped past from 6.30 am, dragging their bags and chattering, getting ready to leave.

The children weren't doing anything wrong, excited to be there. What I objected to was paying all that money and having no privacy, peace or quiet because the hotel chose to dump us right in the middle of the kids.

You would be better off to stay at a nice B & B in Ballarat, have dinner at one of the many restaurants and just paying to go into Sovereign Hill and the show separately.

Room Tip: If staying during the week, ask to be as far from the school groups as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank armchairastronaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    132
    35
    25
    12
See reviews for
137
110
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Best family short break holiday ever. Very good value for money. Staff were excellent - all of them! They organised everything from accommodation, breakfast, lucky enough to get an early check in, had our tickets for Sovereign Hill and Sound and light show waiting for us. Couldn't fault a thing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sculturem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed overnight at this hotel as part of the Sovereign Hill package deal. We arrived a little early for check in and were given our entry into the attraction. Our reception by Chrystal & Jo on reception was particularly friendly, welcoming and informative. After a fun couple of hours in the recreation gold town we went back to the hotel reception and were given our room key. On reaching the room we discovered that the air conditioning was not working - all the members of staff (sorry didn't note all the names) who became involved were so helpful and positive and did their very best to get the unit working. Eventually we were moved to another upgraded room at no extra charge. The attitude of the staff turned a potential problem into a very positive experience. The breakfast was very good too.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Craigisla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Initially we found the set up of this hotel rather strange. Check in was in one building and the accommodation was in another and the evening meal was in another completely different building. However, once we had got things sorted out we settled in to our room quite well. The rooms were a reasonable size and the en suite was quite adequate. It was a surprise to look out of our bedroom window and see the chapel and fire station across the street. Later, as we explored the main street in Sovereign Hill we noticed that our room was part of the façade of an old building in this heritage centre. It was good to be right in the centre of things in Sovereign Hill and we enjoyed our stay. However, we expected to be able to buy a beer in the hotel but found out that, due to the refurbishments taking place, they didn't have any. Here was the Australian 'Pub with no beer'! We also found the breakfast a little unusual with eggs, bacon, sausage and beans being served up in mini cast iron frying pans. Were we being taken back to the 1850's?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AidenAbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We decided to get away for Valentine's Day as we do every year. Needless to say our decision to stay at Comfort Inn Soverign Hill was not a poor one. We had the Heritage Getaway package which included accommodation, 2 course dinner, light and sound show, buffet breakfast and entry into the Gold Museum and Soverign Hill it's self. We had an absolute ball and the only disappointment was that it was fully booked the next night so we were unable to stay an extra night. Rooms where perfect and clean, the food was amazing and the entertainment was second to none. Both of us would like to thank that staff at the Comfort Inn for their incredible service which made us feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble especially when we made them search for cancellations for the Saturday night. We have a truly romantic weekend in Ballarat and would not hesitate to do this adventure all over again.
Thanks again.
Amanda & Paul

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was to be a special occasion for us and our daughter and her husband. For what we had paid for the package, $480, per couple, we consider this a gross overcharge. Your accommodation should be rated at two stars max. On arrival we were appalled at the dirty entrance of the hotel block (rooms 72 & 73). We realize that the surroundings make it difficult to keep the place clean, but the front entrance (as first impression) was very dirty and seemed not to have been cleaned for days. We found our room rather sparse in every respect. The room was not clean enough with layers of dust on the blinds and everywhere else. The bathroom was not clean, shower moldy, the floor in the corners under the wash basin not cleaned for days,(or weeks?). Then the meals: dinner was obviously a kind of "meals on wheels" and so was breakfast. I would suggest that you do not employ a chef, or even a cook. To me it appeared to be frozen meals warmed up. To be honest, we have had better meals on our airline flights (and they are hardly edible). All in all, we were very disappointed with the whole deal and felt that we did not get value for our money. We regularly get relatives and friends visiting from overseas and we will definitely not consider your package deals again.

Room Tip: give value for money!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank mannekenjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Just come back from the light and sound show - very very good and informative
The show leaves lots to your imagination and very enjoyable - we were there when lots of school kids visiting and it was great to watch them enjoying themselves as well as learning

We did the whole package with accomodation dinner breaky and the show and we figured what we would spend separately on these items and it was good value

Dinner was very nice with a glass of wine or beer included with 2 courses

The accomodation was very good big room decent bathroom (although a small shower) and nice linen and good bed - big flat screen (room 48) plenty of tea and coffee and big bar fridge

Receiption friendly and efficient

It was good to have the two days included to visit sovereign hill as it is very good and worth a slow good look around- the god museum is very good

A great weekend

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nonna54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballarat Suites
0.2 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
1.4 mi away
The Provincial Ballarat
The Provincial Ballarat
#1 of 32 in Ballarat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#2 of 32 in Ballarat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
1.1 mi away
Craig's Royal Hotel
Craig's Royal Hotel
#9 of 32 in Ballarat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sovereign Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Hill Hotel

Property: Sovereign Hill Hotel
Address: Magpie St, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Sovereign Hill Lodge)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sovereign Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sovereign Hill Hotel offers modern, family-friendly, hotel accommodation right in the heart of Sovereign Hill. The hotel offers comfort and convenience with all the action of Main Street and our evening sound-and-light show, right on your doorstep. Choose from a variety of accommodation,ranging from luxurious Governors Rooms to spacious and comfortable family rooms. The hotel offers a range of cost effective packages to fully engage you in the Sovereign Hill experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sovereign Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovereign Hill Motel
Sovereign Hill Hotel Ballarat, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing