We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sovereign Hill Hotel
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed here with work, and was in a Heritage Room. Was a great layout and the access to the Sovereign Hill park is second to none! Sally on the front desk was a great help. Would definitely recommend to anyone who wants something a bit different in Ballarat!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovereignhill, Manager at Sovereign Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for the very positive feedback from your recent stay at the Comfort Inn Sovereign Hill. And our Receptionist 'Sally' was delighted with your comments.

Kind regards

Neil Robbins
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 348 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

There is nothing that makes your heart sink faster than arriving on a long weekend to find that the computer system had incorrectly booked in for the wrong dates one day out (not our fault the print out was correct). The staff though handled it perfectly ringing around to find us alternative accommodation. Luckily they found us somewhere close by. When we arrived for the second night the room was stunning. we stayed in a governors room, nice view to the lawn area. Bathroom was clean & modern. Room spotless and tastefully decorated. The location is perfect if you are booked on the sound & light show or just a day in Sovereign Hill as they have a separate entrance & it's only a short stroll back to the room. When we departed they even refunded the price difference between the two rooms. Now that's service. So what started off as bad was turned around into a positive experience. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay here, however for long weekends you may want to double check they have correctly received your booking.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pearsojg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovereignhill, Manager at Sovereign Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for the great review of your recent visit. We are at a loss as to why the booking dates on the confirmation you received were different to your booking in the system – this is the first time this has ever occurred!! However I was pleased that we were able to secure alternative accommodation close by for the first night. And delighted that when you returned to finally check into your room at our hotel you found the room very much to your liking. Really pleased your special weekend turned out so well in the end.
Kind regards
Neil Robbins
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I spent 3 weeks at the Comfort Inn - Sovereign Hill, although initially in the Barracks quarters (which I probably wouldn't recommend for a long stay) found the staff more than helpful in placing me in more comfortable accommodation.
The staff were both friendly and very helpful and made the stay enjoyable.
The cooking facilities in the common area were well serviced and large enough to accommodate a number of people at one time.
The rooms are well serviced and a good size with all the comforts you need.

I'd recommend the Comfort Inn at Sovereign Hill to stay

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at the Comfort Inn Sovereign Hill while visiting Victoria.
The rooms are spotlessly clean and beds are great.
Didn't like the fact that we had to leave our car in the carpark , a fair distance from the rooms and carry our luggage up and down stairs.
Had I known that before I wouldn't have booked to stay there.
It isn't suitable for anyone with a disability to have to walk so far and we found it difficult finding our rooms.
We had stayed at other Motels for less money and equally as nice, so it's a little pricey...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaurinaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovereignhill, Manager at Sovereign Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Pleased to hear the room was most satisfactory, particularly our new pillow top mattresses for a great night sleep.
I am sorry you were allocated a 2nd storey room and found the stairs an inconvenience. We certainly would have allocated you a ground floor room if we knew accessibility was an issue. With regards to the issue of price there will always be cheaper accommodation available but I am pleased to say that for the remainder of June and into the July school holiday period we are offering some very competitive rates including our popular packages.
We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Comfort Inn Sovereign Hill in the future.
Kind regards
Neil Robbins – Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I was accompanying my sons school camp and whilst happy to be on call all day, the night times I wanted silence and I got it in my lovely double room. It had a really comfortable bed, the bathroom was clean, the shower had good pressure and the toiletries provided smelled nice. I found the continental breakfast in my cupboard a little odd but everything I needed was there; it just felt slightly like I was camping :-)
My room was large, clean and had a great view. There was some thumping from kids in another room until about 9 which was easy to ignore. The reception staff were very helpful, check in and out was fast, friendly and efficient.
It was a nice stay ;nothing amazing but no shockers either!

Room Tip: I had room 40 - ground floor overlooking Sovereign Hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mumoffour1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovereignhill, Manager at Sovereign Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for your feedback - delighted to read that you found our accommodation comfortable and to your liking. With regards to the breakfast arrangements, although it is satisfactory we also believe we can do better. That's we why are shortly to undergo a major refurbishment of our reception area which will include the provision of a breakfast restaurant in the spacious La Trobe Room adjacent to reception. Guests will be able to start their day with a relaxing full buffet breakfast experience.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards

Neil Robbins
'Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

If you're visiting Sovereign Hill and are looking for somewhere good to stay this is the place. It really is quite a nice place in an even better location but be careful when booking your room. Unfortunately I have a sorry tale to tell about our experience. We booked a room for two adults and one child and as we were staying for three nights, we said we were prepared to pay extra to have a 'good room'. Well that backfired. Apparently the room we were supposed to go into was given to the people who checked in right in front of us. We then got demoted to the lowest floor of a block that in terms of 'good' was last in line. The room was ugly, dark, dingy, old and tatty. There were two sets of double bunks, a double bed that sunk in the middle, one small chair and that's it. No table, one chair. The bathroom was tiny and ugly with nowhere to put a thing. The old TV was almost impossible to watch from its position inside a box. Strange. The included breakfast was 'make it yourself' in a grotty room on a higher floor. It consisted of basic cereal, milk, juice, white bread, tea, coffee. On top of this, for two nights we listened to thuds, shouts and bangs from kids upstairs (must have been an identical room) jumping off the top bunks onto the floor above our heads. Bang! At 9.30pm on night two we'd had enough. We asked to be moved for night three. Finally we got into the room we should have been in all along. A completely different block, clean, spacious, sunny and reasonably modern decor. We even had a little terrace out the front. If we'd been in this room for the first two nights I would have rated this hotel higher. Be careful where they put you because the end block is a shocker.

Room Tip: Steer clear of the block at the very end if all the rooms in it are as dark, dingy, grotty and old a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulesArch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a great relaxing time away. We went away for the weekend for our 13th year anniversary without our adorable kids, and it was a good getaway. The accommodation was all we needed for the two of us, it was nice,clean and updated, and the view was great.
Overall a great weekend away..

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giulia_74_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites
1.6 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#1 of 33 in Ballarat
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Ballarat Central City Motor Inn
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites City Views
1 mi away
Bakery Hill Motel
Bakery Hill Motel
#21 of 33 in Ballarat
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sovereign Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Hill Hotel

Address: Magpie St, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Sovereign Hill Lodge)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range: $97 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sovereign Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sovereign Hill Hotel offers modern, family-friendly, hotel accommodation right in the heart of Sovereign Hill. The hotel offers comfort and convenience with all the action of Main Street and our evening sound-and-light show, right on your doorstep. Choose from a variety of accommodation,ranging from luxurious Governors Rooms to spacious and comfortable family rooms. The hotel offers a range of cost effective packages to fully engage you in the Sovereign Hill experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Sovereign Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovereign Hill Motel
Sovereign Hill Hotel Ballarat, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing