We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great package!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sovereign Hill Hotel
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We recently stayed at comfort Inn Sovereign hill, we booked package which included entry to sovereign hill & dinner & tickets for the show Blood on the Southern Cross which we thoroughly enjoyed. Very easy to access sovereign hill via a gate. We were upgraded to a King room which was a great bonus it was very nice. Would recommend. :)

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank coota21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 346 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

We arrived to find our room , dusty , and the bathroom absolutely disgusting . The mould and hair and soap scum in the shower appalling ...we even took photos to show the manager ( not sure how beneficial this was!! ) . We complained and were placed in another room ..not much better ,but since we were with overseas friends we decided not to make another fuss.
The room itself was tired ,our roman blinds were broken ,dusty ,holey and full of cobwebs.Our toilet light didnot work so we were in complete darkness when using the toilet .We attempted to contact the front desk to report this only to find they close at 10pm !! The breakfast very also underwhelming . I understand this is a 3 star resort ,but did expect it to at the least be clean.
We had invited our overseas guests to join us on this weekend as we thought it would be a great experience , especially for the children .They were as disappointed as we were with the accommodation as their room was worse than ours.
I wouldnot stay here agin until I was assured the housekeeping problem was sorted. The reception staff were good and we did get a partial refund .

Room Tip: Rooms are a good size , check if it is an old room or a newly refurbish one before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussiemum69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovereignhill, Manager at Sovereign Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for your comments with regards to your recent stay with us at the Comfort Inn Sovereign Hill and in particular bringing this to my attention on check-out. I can assure you it was "most beneficial" to receive this feedback as it gave us the opportunity to tackle the issues and concerns that were raised. Compensation through a reduction in the tariff goes some way in responding to such feedback. However action to correct the problem has a far greater impact. My inspection of your accommodation did confirm sub-standard housekeeping which was immediately addressed on the day with the housekeeping team. In an effort to get rooms ready for occupancy some corners were cut in the cleaning routines which is totally unacceptable. As a consequence, on the day the entire accommodation wing you occupied was temporarily taken out of inventory whilst housekeeping undertook a thorough inspection and spring cleaning of all rooms. This year plans are underway to fully refurb this accommodation wing as in some cases cleaning alone is not the problem - general wear and tear is the issue. Once again we appreciate your feedback and the opportunity to address the issues raised.
Kind regards

Neil Robbins
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed for two nights while visiting Sovereign Hill in 'The Residence' room 46. Great accommodation which I couldn't fault. From the smooth check in, by an enthusiastic young man, to the free continental breakfast, everything was perfect. It was great to access Sovereign Hill through our own entry and come and go as we pleased. The room was spacious and clean with an excellent air conditioner (40 degree day when we arrived). Would definitely recommend using Comfort Inn to make the most of your visit to Sovereign Hill.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank XOX140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovereignhill, Manager at Sovereign Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for the great feedback. Your room was located in the Residence which recently underwent a full refurbishment. Hope to see you again.

Kind regards

Neil Robbins
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

If you want to visit Sovereign Hill, this is for sure the best place to sleep for the night. The hotel is within the park complex and with direct access to the attractions.

To be a Motel style place, it is quite nice. We got a governor room, and it was nicely appointed and clean. The bathroom is spartan, very basic decoration but still decent.
Breakfast is Do it By Yourself because it is not served in the restaurant, so we had to buy our own food to have it the next day.

The view of the fields in front of our room was very nice especially in the evening or in the morning.

Service is basic but nice, not for staying more than 1 day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGADOTTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights to take our grandson to see Sovereign Hill. The location is great from the point of view of being close to the main attraction, no worries with car parking etc and easy access to the Sovereign Hill Gold Mine complex etc.
The accommodation in the Esmond block where we stayed is clean & comfortable. Our first day was very hot with temperatures in the very high 30's so it was absolutely necessary to run the air conditioner which was quite loud. The second day was a much cooler one and we would easily have been able to leave the air con off except that there are was no insect screen on the only openable door in the two room suite. There are wire screens mounted on windows which are inoperable. There are screens mounted in front of doors which are locked shut and cannot be opened, probably brought about by the installation of card operated door locks which means there are no longer any keys for these locks.
Overall this was an enjoyable stay but the accommodation could do with some TLC and maintenance work on fittings such as door handles, fly screens etc.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steveg050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovereignhill, Manager at Sovereign Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay. We hope you enjoyed the "Grandparents Treat" package. With regards to the couple of points you raised our maintenance team have inspected the air-conditioning unit in the room you occupied and found that although the unit is working there is a fan noise when the unit is operating at high speed which does need attention,
With regards to the screens there are double doors in both the main and second bedroom but only screens on one of the doors - the access door does not have a screen. However both doors can be opened for ventilation.
Once again thanks for the feedback.

Kind regards

Neil Robbins
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We took our 9yo grandson to Sovereign Hill and Ballarat for 3 days and stayed at the Comfort inn within the Sovereign Hill Complex this was great no parking issues or long walk we just went through the gate into the park each morning and was able to get into things early before the queues and stay late for the night show. We could also go back to the room with our lunch and to take clothes back when the cool morning turned to a warm day. The room had just bee refurbed and had a new bathroom , comfy beads and a great TV. It also had a big fridge so we were able to have lots of cold drinks and food. A great place to stay and visit.

Room Tip: Choose one in the "residence" closer to the gate and carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harrisp6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Purchased the family package - Accomm 1 night ,Park entry 2 days, Dinner & Show. Our children are 13 & 15 and enjoyed the whole experience. After holidaying in the city for a week it was very nice to experience something different. There are different blocks of accommodation, we stayed inside Sovereign Hill park "Stanfield" I think the name was parents Bed & Double Bunks in one room very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Tracey400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel
Mercure Ballarat Hotel
#7 of 33 in Ballarat
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites
1.6 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#1 of 33 in Ballarat
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Ballarat Central City Motor Inn
1.3 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
1.1 mi away
Craig's Royal Hotel
Craig's Royal Hotel
#6 of 33 in Ballarat
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sovereign Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Hill Hotel

Address: Magpie St, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Sovereign Hill Lodge)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range: $79 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sovereign Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sovereign Hill Hotel offers modern, family-friendly, hotel accommodation right in the heart of Sovereign Hill. The hotel offers comfort and convenience with all the action of Main Street and our evening sound-and-light show, right on your doorstep. Choose from a variety of accommodation,ranging from luxurious Governors Rooms to spacious and comfortable family rooms. The hotel offers a range of cost effective packages to fully engage you in the Sovereign Hill experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sovereign Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovereign Hill Motel
Sovereign Hill Hotel Ballarat, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing