We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY COMFORTABLE STAY!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sovereign Hill Hotel
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“VERY COMFORTABLE STAY!!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

After travelling for 14 days staying in various motels and apartments, we all agreed that our stay at the Comfort Hill Sovereign Hill was the most comfortable. The best were soooo cosy and we all slept like babies. Was very handy to the Sound and Light Show and Sovereign Hill.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    135
    35
    25
    12
See reviews for
138
113
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bowning
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was my fourth visit to Sovereign Hill to show my husband Ted why I feel so much at home here. The staff are always friendly and helpful and the rooms are always clean and bright (there was only one problem and that was the shower which was quite small glad we were able to fit).. Love the freedom to wander through Sovereign Hill over a couple of days. Dinner before the show was great and the Sound and Laser Show always get better with something new added to it. Also the breakfast already in the room saves a lot of time for guest and staff. And yes I will be back. Keep up the great package deals at Sovereign Hill and the wonderful Hospitality and Accommodation cause we will return to our Home away from Home. Thank You Sovereign Hill

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debra_edward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovereignhill, Manager at Sovereign Hill Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your very special comments and feedback on your recent stay with us. I cant think of any better compliment than for a guest to say they feel so much at home when they stay with us. You summed up everything that we aspire to be as a hotel and in what we deliver in Sovereign Hill. Thank you. We will very much look forward to your next (5th) visit to the Comfort Inn.

Kind regards

Neil Robbins
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Its great to be able to wnader in to Sovereign Hill when you feel like it. The rooms are small but very comfortable and the light breakfast great. There was a long delay in servicing the room for the second night and its a long way to drag suitcases down steps but over overall a great palce to stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

This is the type of motel where you wish you could stay for a long time. The buildings are quaint and historic with rocking chairs on verandas to while away time. Overlooking Sovereign Hill you are also able to enjoy the Eureka Stockade theatre show for free (from a distance).

The rooms are quiet and well equipped. Linen is white and clean. The beds are extra comfortable.

No austar but big flat screen TV. There's a lounge to sit on too which is comfy.

The shower is on the small side but the bathroom is modern and clean with the usual comfort chain toiletries. Standard towels... I wish motels would supply bath sheets as standard.

Big bonus here was the in-room continental breakfast provided free. It may just be cereal and toast but it sure made us happy!

We would definitely stay again. Great blinds which block out all light too.

Overall 9/10 (the shower knocks off a point!)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suchiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovereignhill, Manager at Sovereign Hill Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for the great review - we were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay. The rooms were recently refurbished and the beds are brand new pillow top mattresses - very comfy we are often told. You stayed in one of our Sovereign Rooms conveniently located adjacent to the hotels exclusive entry point into Sovereign Hill.
We will look forward to you returning again.

Kind regards
Neil Robbins
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerville Victoria Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed at the Comfort Inn where the staff were very professional and friendly. Room was super and so easy to gain access to Sovereign Hill. Breakfast was already in the room so no time wasting trips to the restaurant for continent breakfast - great idea!!
Would definately recommend this hotel and the attraction itself was so well organised. We went to the Sound & Light 'Blood on the Southern Cross' show which was incredible along with dinner pre show. Very cold at night so need lots of blankets to keep warm.

Loved it!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moiraozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovereignhill, Manager at Sovereign Hill Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Really pleased to read your review on Trip Advisor - many of our guests love the convenience of the direct access into Sovereign Hill and delighted that you enjoyed the in-room breakfast as well.

Kind regards

Neil Robbins
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I found the room to be very nice. There were no problems and the easy access to Sovereign Hill was a plus! The fold out bed was comfortable and there were plenty of blankets, as it was quite cold this time of year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cats_Travel_Cowboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and i stayed at the motel the end of september this year. The motel was on the grounds of sovereign hill and was accesible by guests via a private gate. Ideal location to see sovereign hill. The rooms was clean and modern and the staff friendly. One slight complaint was that the tv reception was not very clear with quite a bit of interference.......having said that we were too busy to watch much tv at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sbgilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites
0.2 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
1.6 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#1 of 33 in Ballarat
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Provincial Ballarat
The Provincial Ballarat
#3 of 33 in Ballarat
208 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites City Views
1.3 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sovereign Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Hill Hotel

Property: Sovereign Hill Hotel
Address: Magpie St, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Sovereign Hill Lodge)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sovereign Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sovereign Hill Hotel offers modern, family-friendly, hotel accommodation right in the heart of Sovereign Hill. The hotel offers comfort and convenience with all the action of Main Street and our evening sound-and-light show, right on your doorstep. Choose from a variety of accommodation,ranging from luxurious Governors Rooms to spacious and comfortable family rooms. The hotel offers a range of cost effective packages to fully engage you in the Sovereign Hill experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sovereign Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovereign Hill Motel
Sovereign Hill Hotel Ballarat, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing