We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sovereign Hill Hotel
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

The location of the hotel was great - easy access to Sovereign Hill and not far from the town centre. When I called to book I asked for a Queen Room and wasn't given any options as to room type. When we checked in I was disappointed to find that we had been booked into a family room with bunk beds which was very old and plain looking, I am suprised that this would be the lead room type for someone asking for a Queen Room for 2 adults. We then went back to reception to ask for an alternate room as this was not what we expected for the price, we were shown an alternate room which is what we were after a nice modern looking room with a Queen bed, however we were going to be charged an upgrade fee to change to this room unless signing up to the loyalty program. Once in the newer room we had a pleasant stay the staff were helpful and the cooked breakfast was delicious and reasonably priced. For anyone looking at this Comfort Inn be sure to check which room they have booked you into before arrival.

Room Tip: Avoid the Bunk rooms unless required for a Family
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovereignhill, Manager at Sovereign Hill Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Thank you for the feedback – no doubt our location with convenient access into Sovereign Hill is a strong feature. Sorry to read that initially you were allocated accommodation in one of our family rooms which are called Colonial Rooms. These are larger ensuite rooms with queen beds and bunks beds accommodating families of up to 6 guests. It is unusual for us to assign Colonial Rooms for couples however it may have occurred as it was all that was available on the night. The alternative room you were assigned would have been one of our premium rooms called Governors Rooms – these would normally cost more as they are large rooms with king beds. Rather than pay more we often suggest to our guests that they join the Choice loyalty program, Choice Privileges. There is no charge to join, it is recognized globally at all Choice Hotels and offers guests many additional value added features including free newspapers, free WiFi, late check-outs and based on availability upgraded accommodation. But first impressions are important and we apologize that your initial expectations were not met.

Kind regards

Neil Robbins
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    136
    37
    25
    13
See reviews for
141
115
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warragul
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2012

If you are intending to watch the Blood on the Southern Cross night show, I would certainly recommend staying overnight at the on-site Comfort Inn. The staff were extremely helpful, and the room was delightful. A generous continental breakfast was provided in the room with the booking we made which was a good idea as there are not too many breakfast options at Sov Hill complex. By staying overnight we had access to the complex on the day we checked out which meant we did not have to cram everything into the afternoon of our arrivalHaving just a short walk down to the on-site dinner venue, then to where the show commenced, and the short walk back to our room after the show was so much more convenient than booking other local accommodation. The show was a unique experience and one I would recommend to round out the whole experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Comfortable well renovated rooms in period buildings overlooking Sovereign Hill that add to the experience of the gold rush times. Great to be able to access Sovereign Hill directly from the premises especially on a hot day to recuperate! The dining room is a lovely room and could readily accommodate continental breakfast facilities and add to the social atmosphere. Cooked breakfast was good. Always a friendly smile from the staff adding to the welcoming atmosphere.

If you are looking for good restaurants would highly recommend Craig's Royal Hotel restaurant and also Table 48.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Consistencyexpected
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The rooms were beautifully refurbished and great value for money, especially if you stay the second night. The location was great especially for visiting sovereign hill and wasn't too far from the city either. The pillows were abit hard and thin but apart from that can't fault it. Best comfort inn we stayed at!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BibbiQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovereignhill, Manager at Sovereign Hill Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and comments. Sorry about the pillows – we have been getting some really positive feedback about our beds recently but no matter how good the bed, finding the right pillow is paramount. Our Housekeeper is aware and over the next week will be correcting this issue. And to finish on a positive, thank you for acknowledging the attributes of our location – close enough to the city centre to be handy to the cafe’s & shops, but just far enough away to provide a little tranquility. And of course our access to Sovereign Hill is unbeatable.

Kind regards

Neil Robbins
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

A very clean accomodation with great friendly and helpful staff. Best location if you visit Sovereign Hill and the Night show. We were impressed with the room. The bed was that comfy that we almost regretted leaving. Refurbished room looked very good.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danron77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2012

The room was great with enough milk, tea coffee and continental breaky provided, the location and convinence is perfect to visit Sovereign Hill during the day and the Night Show. Lovely view over looking Ballarat. Was a little noisy between rooms but oh well you get that anywhere i think. I would recommend to others and definately stay there again myself :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CassP08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovereignhill, Manager at Sovereign Hill Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to the Comfort Inn Sovereign Hill. Ballarat is a sensational tourist city with its unique blend of history, culture and country hospitality. Occasionally guests will ask if Sovereign Hill is located very far from the city centre thinking that at 25 hectares we must be positioned well out from the city – but we are 5 minutes from the very heart of Ballarat’s bustling cafes and restaurants.

Kind regards

Neil Robbins
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

An extremely convenient location to visit the reconstructed gold mining town and display. The hotel adjoins it. It has a nice setting about fhte city and in close proximity to the city center with restaurants, museums etc.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank faorban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sovereignhill, Manager at Sovereign Hill Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Thank you for the very positive feedback – our guests often comment about the convenience aspect......with Sovereign Hill on your doorstep you are able to come and go as you please. And the other big benefit, house guests get entry into Sovereign Hill for the duration of their stay, from the day they arrive through to the day of departure – all for the price of a single days entry.

Kind regards

Neil Robbins
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites
0.2 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
1.6 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#1 of 33 in Ballarat
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Provincial Ballarat
The Provincial Ballarat
#2 of 33 in Ballarat
213 reviews
1.1 mi away
Craig's Royal Hotel
Craig's Royal Hotel
#10 of 33 in Ballarat
244 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sovereign Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Hill Hotel

Property: Sovereign Hill Hotel
Address: Magpie St, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Sovereign Hill Lodge)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sovereign Hill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sovereign Hill Hotel offers modern, family-friendly, hotel accommodation right in the heart of Sovereign Hill. The hotel offers comfort and convenience with all the action of Main Street and our evening sound-and-light show, right on your doorstep. Choose from a variety of accommodation,ranging from luxurious Governors Rooms to spacious and comfortable family rooms. The hotel offers a range of cost effective packages to fully engage you in the Sovereign Hill experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sovereign Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovereign Hill Motel
Sovereign Hill Hotel Ballarat, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing