We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely surprise in a pretty native garden.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise in a pretty native garden.”
Reviewed January 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night and found the Mercure very pleasant. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the highlight was the fragrant eucalypts outside our front door, their leaves making a natural carpet on the ground, and dispensing a delightful fragrance in the rain.

I had been a bit hesitant after reading some reviews but found none of them to be true, well not in our room anyway!! I am quite fussy but found no reason to complain.

The front desk staff where polite and efficient as were the restaurant staff. Our waitress, Catherine was a delightful young lady who attended our every need.

The food was interesting and tasty and we enjoyed it very much. Breakfast was the typical serve yourself fare set in a lovely room which made for a relaxing eating experience. There was a good selection of cereals, muffins croissants, fruit. I loved the blueberries and yoghurt! . The hot food was just that and delicious. You don't want too many choices and what was served was quite adequate. Everything you need to set you up for a day of sightseeing .

All in all the the Mercure is a great choice if you want good quality accommodation and food and a very relaxing garden ambience. Good for the soul!! We thoroughly enjoyed our very short trip even though it was raining quite steadily.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susieq452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSavic, General Manager at Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre, responded to this review, January 17, 2011
Dear Traveller,

Thankyou for taking the time to post your great feedback on Trip Advisor.

It was a pleasure to read your comments, particulary with regards to the surrounds, I am glad you had the chance to take it all in. I agree the native bush setting is rather special, the sights and sounds make the Aussie bush quite like no other.

Im glad you had a great dining experience, we like to think of our food and beverage as our signature. We have tried an few new things on our new menu and it seems as though they where enjoyed.

Thankyou again for your great post, it was enjoyable to read and described the setting perfectly.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    244
    126
    48
    24
See reviews for
146
326
27
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Room was OK but did not reach our expeectations for 4 &1/2 stars with mecure.
Outside our room was leaf matter that had been there some time. Bird excrement was all over fire alarm and been there a while, the outside areas were tired and in need of some TLC.
Even though the room were appointed with Antique style furnitue we found the room quite dark and dowdy. On a positive it was very quite and we sleep well. Breakfast was lovely and service there great.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSavic, General Manager at Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre, responded to this review, January 17, 2011
Dear Traveller,

Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was pleased to read about you good nights sleep and great breakfast, a good rest and a good start to the day are always the minimum expectation in a hotel environment.

The leaf matter is a daily battle with the blower for us, with inexcess of 100 large native gum trees on our grounds the gardner wages a daily war on the leaves, he does not always win but i assure you he never stops trying. I have also asked our grounds keeper to clean the area around the fire cabinet you described.

Thankyou again for your time and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

regards Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We are very happy with the room although the TV has not been upgraded to digital and no cable TV. On the hotel website said that there is tennis court. We bought our tennis gear and was told that the tennis court doesn't belong to the hotel. Swimming pool is not heated. We had the breakfast at the hotel for 2 morning and notice that the breakfast menu are the same every day.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nee15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSavic, General Manager at Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre, responded to this review, January 17, 2011
Dear Traveller,

Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I am glad to let you know that we have placed an order for new LCD televisions for our rooms which will have all of the digital chanels available.

In terms of the pool we do have solar heating active, the issue however is that the overnight temparature in Ballarat still drops to single figures even in summer meaning even the sun is sometimes in effective.

The breakfast buffet standards are about brand consistency thus daily changes are not evident, we try and deliver a great breakfast the same way everyday. We do offer eggs cooked to order and omlettes etc which are a way of changing it around for travellers.

Thanks again for your time.

Regards Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 9, 2011

The r estaurant service ,stafff and meals were excellent.. Will recommend this and also the possiblity of using the conference facilities in future.

the room we stay was average.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSavic, General Manager at Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Dear Traveller,

Thanks for taking the time to write your post on Trip Advisor.

Thanks as well for the great feedback on our food and beverage product and staff, we like to think our food and service are our signature and this feedback is always well received by staff who put in the effort.

In terms of conferencing we are only too pleased to help, please dont hesitate to call our conferencing team anytime to discuss your future needs.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

I'd recommend this hotel to families looking to visit Sovereign Hill and stay close by - the package deal they offer with accommodation and park entry is terrific value. I was happy enough with the pretty standard motel room, certainly not flashy, but a bit more spacious than average, nice and quiet and clean. Nice grounds to explore with kids. We opted against dinner at the on-site restaurant as the menu was quite limited, but we ate there for breakfast and enjoyed a great buffet, well staffed and regularly replenished as the family hordes descended on the bacon and hash browns. Good value for a family getaway.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kajambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSavic, General Manager at Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Dear Traveller,

Thankyou for taking the time to write your post on Trip Advisor.

The Sovereign Hill package is indeed great value as Sovereign Hill is $100 entry alone for the family and with all of the other inclusions it is very attractive for a family.

I was glad to read about your pleasant breakfast experience particularly as it was a busy morning, I will be sure to pass your comments onto the staff present.

Thankyou and I look forward to seeing you again shortly.

Regards Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Arrived at the Mecure Ballarat and thought reception and ground areas were lovely. Unfortunately when we got to our room we were a little dissapointed. The only time the door was open was to bring our bags in and by the time we had stopped to have a lie down on the bed there was a bug crawling up the wall, my husband killed 6 mosquitoes in the first 5 minutes. When he went to ask for some bug spray the girl at reception said they had none - so my husband drove to Coles and came back at 10pm at night, spraying under the bed, along the curtains etc. The room was dusty and stunk of too much bleach. Rooms definetly need to be updated. Small tv, crappy bathroom...all I could hope was there was no bed-bugs all night. Wouldn't recommend. Kids couldn't wait to get home.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monte1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSavic, General Manager at Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Dear Traveller,

Thankyou for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was dissapointed to read about your recent stay particularly as you didnt have a good nights sleep. In terms of the mosquitos the unseasonal high rain fall, humidity and natural bush setting have done us no favours in controlling these pests but I can assure you that we have upto date pest control programs and daily room cleaning schedules. Sometimes nature wins out and the current conditions are a perfect example of this.

Thankyou again for your comments and if you would like to discuss this matter further please do not hesitate to call.

Regards Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Room was well laid out. Problem with hot water in shower as well as whewn having bath the turn on tap was un der shower head and could scold when opening. Enterainment units re radio and tv werte old and detracted from the ambieance of the rest. Food and service great.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSavic, General Manager at Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Dear Traveller,

Thankyou for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.

I was pleased to read about your comments regarding our food and beverage as this is an area we consider to be our signature.

I am also pleased to let you know that we have placed an order for new LCD televisions for our rooms which will be digital and have all of the available digital chanels.

Regards Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites
1.8 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#1 of 33 in Ballarat
364 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Provincial Ballarat
The Provincial Ballarat
#2 of 33 in Ballarat
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
1.3 mi away
Craig's Royal Hotel
Craig's Royal Hotel
#8 of 33 in Ballarat
243 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites City Views
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre

Property: Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
Address: 613 Main Rd, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Ballarat Lodge & Convention Centre)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ballarat
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ballarat
#13 Business Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for Ballarat accommodation, the Mercure Ballarat is ideally located and offers the perfect balance of both business and leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Ballarat Hotel And Convention Centre Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing