We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very average and hardly 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Ballarat
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very average and hardly 4 star”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

checked in to the poky dark room ordered room service Fish chip n salad.. arrived with no salad, ok no big deal but next day they charge 1.5 % extra CC fee despite 30% of the food missing??? Tried to have a shower in the morning.... no hot water??
Guess they can save the petty 1.5% and the money they saved by not bringing the salad and hire a plumber one day?

Room Tip: don't bother unless its location is of benifit its close to the uni but that's about all its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSavic, General Manager at Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Chris,

Thank you for your review and we apologies for the issues you had with the hot water and lack of salad in your room service order. I don’t recall reading these incidents in our duty log however I have spoken with the relevant department heads and rectified the issues you experienced.

As we are the new owners of the Ballarat Lodge and Convention Centre the more feedback we receive the quicker we can react and have these kinds of problems rectified.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your concerns and we look forward to welcoming you back some day to experience the New Ballarat Lodge.

Kind regards,

Allan Benfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    240
    122
    47
    23
See reviews for
143
318
27
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

we stayed in a queen room which was surprising kid friendly for a 2 yr and 11 month old cruiser with some furniture change we fitted 2 cots in there nicely. Please booked direct if staying here as they have a price match guarantee and you still get all the extras they price matched wotif. Zagames is next door for kids to play. Service and reception staff do a excellent job i think if you are not happy with something they are only more then happy to help. overall our experience was lovely and would stay here again. Very relaxing and nice walking path. We didn't have buffet breakfast but not to far away was Oscars in town which has a wonderful breakfast choices and excellent coffee. If you book breakfast at the lodge when booking accommodation it is only $15 a head

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilly t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

So I'm a little confused by my visort, the place it self is lovely and tranquil, the gardens are really quite lovely ( if you can see past the beer cans in the river or smokes budded out I the garden) the staff on front desk are friendly and ready to help, the bar safe not so much (and what bar dose not have tonic water ???) -to me I felt like ballarat loge used to be an amazing place to stay and now has began to become run down and a little tiered, I had read that people loved there full breakfast, I and my husband and brother did not enjoy it however dry rubbery bacon, watery poached eggs powdered ( i think at least tested like ) scrabbled eggs. NOT worth $25 a head! I did come with my family and we all stayed in separate rooms we had 7 rooms all up and I did like that I felt like we had our own space but not to far from each other and the wedding we attended at the same venue was lovely truly was. As I said at the start of this review I am confused by this hotel! I want to love it and I want to hate it. I can say this I would not Eat or dink hear again....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Its a pity really. The place is/was nice I guess. For example, the massive pool table in the promo pics, in reality is tattered and water stained. The grounds are really nice, but no one is picking up rubbish. Uncollected room service trays outside rooms for 24-36 hours.

Swimming pool that I'd expect in a suburban backyard, no shade at all. Dirty. Rundown.

In the rooms the have old style cabinets for CRT TVs, they just put the new TVs on top in bunged some tea and coffee in the cabinet.

Breakfast, toaster takes 2 runs unless you just want warm bread. $25 for full which included two types of watery eggs. Smelly mushroom. Dry bacon and sausage. Acceptable pastries.
Trainstation /office automatic coffee / tea machine.

Fruits were nice. No cheese or anything I'd really expect at a nice hotel breakfast.

Bar is nice. When you can get service. (We had to use the bell 3 times, 10 mins on a sat afternoon)

Overall I get the sense that the lovely staff are doing their best, I suspect the new management needed to cut hours/staff after the change over. Its a pity really.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank f4j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our second stay at this property but the first under the new owners since it is no longer part of Mecure brand. The rooms are starting to look tired and are crowded with too much heavy furniture. It also appears that the Nespresso machines have been removed (or perhaps ours was missing?). The airconditioning we managed finally to turn on but then couldn't get it to switch off. The shower is very average with poor water pressure and low water temperature. The mattress was well worn and in need of replacement. It bottomed out in places and had a busted spring which dug in to your shoulder.

All of this could be overlooked at the right price but at $225 a night including breakfast that is a premium for an average hotel room.

What however for me results in the 1 star rating was that the hotel had a wedding on the Saturday night which didn't finish until 20 past midnight. The noise made sleeping impossible. So don't stay here if you value a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyWal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites
1.6 mi away
The Provincial Ballarat
The Provincial Ballarat
#2 of 32 in Ballarat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.8 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#1 of 32 in Ballarat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
1.3 mi away
Craig's Royal Hotel
Craig's Royal Hotel
#8 of 32 in Ballarat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites City Views
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre

Property: Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
Address: 613 Main Rd, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia (Formerly Ballarat Lodge & Convention Centre)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ballarat
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ballarat
#13 Business Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for Ballarat accommodation, the Mercure Ballarat is ideally located and offers the perfect balance of both business and leisure facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Ballarat Hotel And Convention Centre Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing