We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ansonia on Lydiard
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
33
60
21
11
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
60
21
11
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest loungelovely atriumhigh ceilingsfirst floorupstairs roombreakfast servicehuge bathcafes and restaurantsfollowing morningthe main streethistoric buildingwould stay here againclose proximityvisiting ballaratart gallerytrain stationqueen bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 139 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Our family recently visited Ballarat and started our accommodation search by surfing the local tourist website. My husband and I like to stay in boutique style accommodation, as there is always something interesting about this type of abode. Another must for us, was the ability to walk to cafes and restaurants.

The Ansonia on Lydiard caught our attention as it was previously a bank and was located 5 mins from Ballarat's main street, Sturt street. A bonus was that by booking direct with the hotel over the internet, we reduced our family room rate by around $50 per night.

Located in Lydiard St, the hotel is opposite Her Majesty's Theatre. The entrance foyer has a number of interesting art pieces on the walls. This continues through a longer hallway, the atrium. Family rooms are located on the first floor, while standard rooms are on the ground floor.

We were pleasantly welcomed by the manager, Laura - nice to see as we were hot and tired after driving from Canberra. Laura showed us to our room and gave us lots of information about the hotel.

Our family suite consisted of two bedrooms (1 with queen bed, the other with 2 singles) and an ensuite. There was also the usual fridge, tv and desk. The rooms were quite big in comparison to what we have seen on our many travels around the globe. The bathroom was spacious and well stocked with toiletries.

The only downside, if there is one, would be that the room was quite sparse, in terms of art on walls, but this could be due to heritage listing/regulations from local council. Curtains on the windows would assist in keeping street noise down as the venetian blinds only keep light in or out. But in saying that, we stayed a Saturday and Sunday night and the only noise we encountered was from the street sweeper and some local lads at around 5.30am.

While there is only street parking available to guests, we were able to find a park directly at the door on most occasions. This is not metered after 5.30pm and even when it is costs around $1 per hour (quite cheap compared to what we are used to in Sydney CBD $4 per hour).

We went out to breakfast both mornings so did not sample the Hotel's breakfast menu. We looked at the dinner menu, but as we had two small children with us, we decided to go for a walk and fed them at a local restaurant.

We were very happy with our stay at the Ansonia and we would definately stay there again if we ever make the long haul to Ballarat again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Budgiesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

We had our wedding at the Ansonia in December. It was a brilliant night in no small part due to the effort put in by Ansonia staff to ensure the night ran smoothly. We had great feedback from our guests, particularly on the service, food and accommodation.

We feel very fortunate to have had such a great team to work with to make our wedding a night to remember. They really went the extra mile to make the night a success. It was an absolute pleasure and a breeze working with them from start to finish.

Special thanks to Brett and Jill who were really amazing and of course to Marlene and Mark. It was a pleasure and we absolutely recommend staying and eating at the Ansonia if you are in Ballarat.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sassp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Cheap 'hotel' rock hard beds, domestic fridge in bedroom made so much noise we had to turn it off at night, air conditioning in the bedroom didn't work, sockets too far away from tables for laptop, no internet connection in bedroom, radiators need bleeding.

The Ansonia owners need to rethink their approach. Boutique does not mean quirky decor and light fittings. If you can't get the basics right then don't bother. Having had a 'boutique' hotel myself I know that the basics must be right in order to develop repeat business, without it you survive on the single trip tourist.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2009

Overpriced, underwehelming, in dire need of a revamp, very noisy at front of property.
Rooms dirty, glassware unwashed. Couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B0ris69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ansoniaonlydiard, Manager at The Ansonia on Lydiard, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2009

Firstly I'd like to apologise for a bad experience. Since taking over the Hotel less than 9 months ago we have worked hard to raise the level of cleanliness & standard of service that was lacking when we arrived and it is dissapointing to hear that one slipped through the cracks. The person responsible for the cleaning that weekend has since been dismissed. Despite an old, & a little tired, building she is loved & enjoyed by us & our guests, many of whom return again & again. We appreciate the opportunity to take another look at ourselves and ensure that things are in place to prevent it from happening again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2008

My wife and I spent one night at The Ansonia in April 08 during our honeymoon. It was the last night of a 'boutique hotel' tour of the Great Ocean Road & South Victoria. As the first 3 night's accommodation had been wonderful in Apollo Bay, Port Fairy and Hall's Gap we were expecting the same in Ballarat... What a disappointment! The staff were unhelpful and very unfriendly (to the point of being rude in the case of the lady on reception at checkout). Breakfast was supposed to be included in the price we paid but all that was available was cornflakes and toast - for which they tried to recharge us $20 per person at checkout! The room itself was very basic - certainly not the 4* boutique quality advertised. I would say a very basic 2* quality at best. In room facilities were very basic. No minibar - just a fridge on the floor next to th tv. Bathroom was clean but just a small bottle of shampoo and a bar of soap - no shower cap, shaving set, vanity set, etc. as would be expected for price/star rating.
Ballarat was great and there seemed to be plenty of accommodation available - so I would advise to avoid this hotel abd choose another.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews