We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveler rating
40
64
22
13
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
40
64
22
13
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews street parking high ceilings bank vault boutique hotel included a continental breakfast following morning huge bath old building art gallery breakfast room the ground floor stayed recently decent size visited ballarat queen bed central location railway station
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 153 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

There are some positives to this hotel: the big, comfortable bed and the lack of noise at night. Otherwise, it is best described as past its best : tatty carpets, the faint smell of decay, tired bathroom etc. I hate to be critical but the Ansonia is very expensive for what it offers.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Q6975OYalanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron M, Manager at The Ansonia on Lydiard, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2018

Thank you for your feedback Alan, I am sorry to hear that your experience wasn't pleasant. The property had jus recently changed ownership and management and we are in the process of refreshing the property with new carpets to be installed in the coming weeks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2018

We stayed recently (2 adults and 2 kids) and had a lovely time. We came to Ballarat to mainly attend the Winter Wonderlights at Sovereign Hill, but also enjoyed a night in Ballarat.

We had a spacious 2 bedroom apartment that suited us perfectly. We made good use of the games room. Staff were warm and friendly and helped with questions. Breakfast - plenty of it but limited selections.

Very close to lots of restaurants and we also enjoyed the Ballarat Art Gallery (fabulous cafe too). 1 minute walk to Torist Information also.

We'll be back.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2018 via mobile

Booked a hotel room for the night for the purposes of visiting sovereign hill xmas in July show with a friend & our two babies. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a gorgeous spacious 2bedroom family room & with cot supplied. We enjoyed a tasty continental breakfast in the lovely dining room the following morning. Highly recommend this place! Very accommodating for families.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank JessiM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018

This is an old building converted to a hotel. Rooms are small but very well appointed. Hotel is modern but retains a lot of the old charm. Good position close to city centre, with an easy walk to shops and restaurants. Recommended.

Room tip: Try ground floor as there are no lifts and you have to use stairs.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron M, Manager at The Ansonia on Lydiard, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2018

Thank you Robyn, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2018

An old buidling with a lovely central atrium and large rooms, high ceilings.

Under new management for a couple of week. Staff pleasant and helpful.

Included continental breakfast was not extravagent, but definitely okay.

Very convenient location, short walk to main street, few blocks to the railway station. Very close to the Art Gallery and Mining Museum.

Close to many good restaurants.

I’ll be back!

Room tip: Ground floor more accessible.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JDinAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron M, Manager at The Ansonia on Lydiard, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2018

Thank you for your feedback, we have since extended our offerings for our complimentary continental breakfast which is now served in our breakfast room. As mentioned the property was under new management we have a lot of projects happening to make our guests stay more enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you again and showing you the refreshments that have been made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews