We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ansonia on Lydiard
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here for a Saturday night in March 2013.

The hotel is walking distance to the city center and there are quite a few good places to grab a meal or something to drink nearby. Parking however, is difficult. There are some free carparks close by but as far as out in the street goes, you cant really park there during the day, it's all 2 hr parking and its metered 9am-5pm.

We stayed in a room on the bottom floor, this is where you can see in the photos with the glass roof. The rooms were big with a king bed, couch, table, chair, tv, bedside tables and cubboards. The bathroom was also pretty big, with a shower/bath combo. It was all kept clean and tidy.

Im guessing the building is very old because the floorboards creak loudly even when you are being careful, and you can hear when the room next door is moving about too.

The restaurant at the back of the hotel says on the sign that it opens for weekend lunch, but it was closed, which was a bit annoying.

All in all, this was a comfortable stay and we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josh-aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 134 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

Booking - booked directly with the hotel with no problems

Parking - you can park in the street outside the hotel. It's free from 5pm to 9am

Check in - quick and easy. Was informed that breakfast was included in the room rate - great

Room - take 1....room was very hot as bathroom heat lamps were stuck on. Sink also had a very large crack

Room - take 2....was moved to another room, same as the first but without the sink and lamp issues. The room (upstairs) was spacious and well fitted out. Bed was perfect. Free internet makes for a clear standout.

Breakfast - huge, I was full for the whole day!

Checkout - quick and easy.

I'd definately stay here again if I were to return to Ballarat. I'd recommend an upstairs room as those downstairs would certainly hear those upstairs walking around on the timber floor in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellin_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

one good point great position close to everything ,but no parking ( have to keep running down every hour to put money in meter) need correct money as no change given, reception not helpful ie keeping change for hot tired travellers was directed with a wave of the hand to some 2 hour parks somewhere down there. comfy bed but small room rather like sleeping in a bank vault, windows don,t open, not for the claustrophobic , ditto the bathroom ? a converted cupboard , bath and fittings grimy . only one face washer between us and two very small towels. the restaurant boasts fine dining , but give it a miss (think 1970 womens weekly recipes) everything covered in thick strange tasting sauces, that clash with the other flavours on the plate.ps also have to carry bags up to room no help offered so not for the not so fit'

Room Tip: chosse another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djascott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I have never written a review on trip advisor before, however my experience tonight has tipped me over the edge!!

I have been to this restaurant twice in the space of a week. I have never considered this restaurant before but my company had a team dinner there and the food was really good. Based on this experience I decided to take my wife there for a meal a few days later.........what a mistake!!

Again my meal was good, however my wife ordered the Kangaroo (apparently their signature dish). It was absolutely disgusting!! Both of us tasted it and both of us had to spit it out it was so bad. It tasted like it had been drowned in cheap off red wine. When we complained about the taste if was met with resistance from the manager and they refused to change the meal. We insisted the chef and manager both try it, their response was this was how it was supposed to taste.....OMG if your signature dish taste like this you have some serious issues as a restaurant.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nudge2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here in Feb 2013 for the inaugural Ballarat Beat Rockabilly Festival. The location was fantastic as it was central to the town and within 5 minute walking distance to all the festival locations.

The weather was hot over the weekend and the hotel rooms are equipped with air con, but for a husband and wife with lots of clothes for the rockabilly festival the wardrobes and room itself were tiny for storage. Also not recommended for anyone with accessibility issues as it is stairs only (no lift) and the shower is in the bathtub and requires significant coordination to climb in and out given the height..

However, be warned if you are from out of town.. The staff was sooooo unhelpful and were extremely surly when asked for directions, guidance and especially advice in relation to parking. Being from out of town, we had hired a car and when we realised there was no parking made available by the hotel, the staff were not helpful at all and in fact, basically made us feel like they didnt care, when the one suggestion that they did make, earned 5 parking fines between three couples over the weekend, and they were just the fines we knew of. Street parking is also costly in Ballarat, so research your other options before booking this hotel if you intend on bringing a car.

On the hotel location and restaurant alone, we could not fault it.. But just extremely disappointed by the lack of and less than helpful service we received especially given our first visit to Ballarat and our intention to spend time and our hard earned dollars shopping, dining and enjoying the town. Coming 'home' to the hotel to such a surly face dampened the local experience.

Room Tip: If staying for the Ballarat Beat Festival, ask to stay on first floor as the rooms near the stairs o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShanghaiSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Visiting historic Ballarat, we wanted to find accommodation that had history in its walls, and we found it at the character-filled Ansonia. This is a 19 room boutique hotel that has transformed from its stable origins into a charming hotel set around an enclosed atrium. Our trip was for business/pleasure so we were grateful to have access to the free wifi in the lounge, and to be able to work outside of our room. It was off-peak season so the hotel was not busy. We stayed in an Atrium room ($135) which was one large room, high ceilings, but the window looked onto the Atrium (have the shutters closed for privacy). The decor is not modern, but the bed was super comfy and clean with a combination of firm and soft pillows. The shower worked well and the bathroom was spacious and clean. Something was up with the staff when we checked in, but they were friendly by the end. We had to park on the street, although the flyer in the room said something about a parking station around the corner? The hotel is in a great location, we were late eating so brought back takeaway (thai) which we ate in the courtyard under the stars drinking wine from paper cups. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Atrium rooms are one large room with bed, desk and couch. The window looks onto the Atrium, so shutt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pebblage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The hotel has charm and the rooms are large but be careful in the bathroom or you will find yourself in the bath in the pitch black if you push the light on the timer! Someone seemed to be taking dancing lessons on the timber floor above us- we could hear every step. No off street parking. Hotel is ina good location and reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denpic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#16 of 33 in Ballarat
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
0.3 mi away
The Provincial Ballarat
The Provincial Ballarat
#4 of 33 in Ballarat
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#1 of 33 in Ballarat
399 reviews
0 mi away
Craig's Royal Hotel
Craig's Royal Hotel
#6 of 33 in Ballarat
267 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ansonia on Lydiard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ansonia on Lydiard

Address: 32 Lydiard St S, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range: $102 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ansonia on Lydiard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ansonia on Lydiard ia a B&B style Hotel set in a heritage building in the heart of Ballarat. A unique & tranquil setting suited to couples friends & corporate travellers. This property isn't suited to children under 8 yrs walking distance to restaurants,gallery's,shops,theatre/cinema perfect central location Guest lounge,open fire,sunny Atrium.Central to all tourist attractions in Ballarat ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ansonia on Lydiard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ansonia On Lydiard Ballarat
The Ansonia On Lydiard Ballarat, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing