We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ansonia on Lydiard
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ballarat Central City Motor Inn(Ballarat)(Great Value!)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sovereign Park Motor Inn(Ballarat)(Great Value!)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites The Menzies(Ballarat)(Great Value!)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoriana Motor Inn(Ballarat)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Heritage on Lydiard(Ballarat)(Great Value!)
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sovereign Hill Hotel(Ballarat)(Great Value!)
$89
$87
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seymours on Lydiard(Ballarat)(Great Value!)
$104
$95
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Inn Ballarat(Ballarat)(Great Value!)
$124
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveler rating
34
61
21
11
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
61
21
11
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest loungelovely atriumhigh ceilingsfirst floorupstairs roombreakfast servicehuge bathcafes and restaurantsfollowing morningthe main streethistoric buildingwould stay here againclose proximityvisiting ballaratart gallerytrain stationqueen bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 141 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2012

I have to disagree with rookie.
A worthwhile attempt at saving a beautiful facade but it is hardly reflected beyond the street line.

I belies its latest generation rebirth from commercial offices into a boutique hotel. Its a pity they did it on the cheap. The atrium needs some redesign to help get rid of the unwanted heat , The privacy of the atrium rooms needs clever some interior design, and the interiors need a bit of revamping. The uncontrolled earth shattering slam of the cabinet door was annoying.

But we were glad of the aircon , and can't fault the management for effort and attention. Despite being denuded of staff because of the new years day holiday they were pleasant and helpful once inside. We had to wait while in the 40 degree eat until they finally got to the door .

In terms of value for money it comes down to the expected experience of a heritage hotel. It needs more investment.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed here on the first night of a Victorian visit lasting a week :
> very attentive and friendly on booking in and thereafter.
> no assistance with bags up stairs but I had the sherpa with me so no issue.
> allocated room number 4 which was TINY - more suitable to one guest eg not enough area for 2 suit cases.
> VERY clean and bathroom was lovely.
> the location was very convenient to travel by foot to most of the beautiful city that is Ballarat.
> note only on street parking is available.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBG65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

As far as heritage hotels with modern interiors go, this hotel is above average but not a patch on the Henry Jones Art Hotel in Hobart. We stayed for one night and found the room size acceptable. Electronics were above avverage. Nice stereo, which included a docking station for ipod/iphone.
Closet is tiny with no full length hanging space unless you remove the ironing board.
As the heading suggests, the bed is the hardest of any hotel I've slept in. Pillows were no better. Wife and I (both fit and in our 30's) both woke up with sore backs.
Bathroom clean and well appointed.
Didn't eat in the restaurant as had other arrrangements for dinner and went to an old favourite (Black Cat Cafe) for breakfast.
No car park so you need to leave your car on the street. Not great with the number of pubs in the area. Our car escaped unscathed but the risks were probably reduced because the rain kept people off the street.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We came to Ballarat from the UK for a wedding and stayed at the Ansonia for four nights. We were warmly welcomed and given an upgrade on our original booking of a studio room, so felt we received excellent value for $149 a night with a large room in the atrium + complimentary buffet breakfast. We were particularly struck by the friendliness of the staff and the personalised feel to the service, particularly on the evening when we arranged for some of the other wedding guests from the UK to have dinner in the Ansonia's restaurant. The food and service were excellent and really contributed to a very enjoyable evening.

The Ansonia is in a heritage building and has a homely and relaxed feel which was a real joy after our previous rather impersonal experience of the Novotel St Kilda in Melbourne. It is centrally located so an ideal base from which to explore the town and surrounding area, which have much of interest to offer.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

V central. Fabulous old building. Large.room with all necessities/extras. Contemporary decor. Road noise and venetian blinds (letting light in) not great if light sleeper. V helpful, friendly reception. Outdoor bar/restaurant area looked lovely but closed on our visit. Whilst our room was clean, communal areas could do with a blitz.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoGE74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews