We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far exceeded all expectations”
Review of Bakery Hill Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bakery Hill Motel
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Only there for the night as that's all we needed and didn't have high expectations- however, was pleasantly surprised; gorgeous modern tweaks to a slightly dated room, spotless and faultless. Kylie and Mark were super helpful and friendly. We were attending the Red Hot Summer gig- Kylie was keen to help organise a bus pick up (we decided to drive) and we enjoyed a post gig review chat with Mark (who has great taste in music, by the way).


Like the name states, it is on a hill- so beware of the steep hill for parking but other than that, enjoy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauren_fernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 124 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

So three days before Australia Day I decided to turn the house (in Melbourne) over to my daughter and her friends, pack the sketchbook and have a weekend browse around the Victorian goldfield towns and their art galleries.
Ballarat seemed like a good base, got on Booking.com (and they are terrific too!)
Found one room left at the BW Bakery Hill Motel. This is always scary as you feel like you are at fickle Fate's mercy..
Need not have worried, it was a great find.
Got in late Australia Day to a spotless clean room, wonderful location - but the only thing that counts for me is the warmth of the welcome, and Mark and his wife epitomise the genuine, friendly Aussie spirit. He told me where I'd find food (many eating places), pointed me at the Aus-Day celebrations and fireworks display at the lake, even where to park.
Essentially, they turned a pleasant weekend into something warm and special.

And here's an opinion: The Ballarat Art Gallery is one of the nicest rural art galleries you will find in Australia. And do this: Go stand for a while in the darkened room that houses the Eureka flag. Then drive out to the stockade and let the mystical experience wash over you. You can keep Gallipolli. The Eureka stockade is the true heart & soul of Australian history.

Go there ... and stay at this motel.
Oh... and there is free wi-fi for the technophiles like me ;-)

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems, remember the name - it is on a hill, so it is on a slope. Make sure y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radiocam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We visited Ballarat on 3rd and 4th of January to catch up with friends and family and booked through our local travel agent in Wangaratta. Jason greeted us with a friendly welcome and advised us that we had room 13, stating "this is one of our better rooms". The room was okay apart from the textured plaster ceiling which previous occupiers had seen fit to scratch off in various patterns. On arrival I pulled out a chair to sit down for a cuppa and was dismayed to find various bits of rubbish on the floor, including twist ties, hairpin, crumbs etc. I immediately checked the bathroom and toilet which were immaculate so I just made a mental note to advise the owners when we checked out. On checkout day I sat on the single bed to put my shoes on and was horrified to see an empty condom wrapper on the floor under the queen sized bed. I immediately went to reception to advise them that I was not happy. Kylie suddenly became "otherwise committed" and went to get Mark. Nothing prepared me for his reaction which consisted of comments like "in 12 months we have never had a complaint", "our ratings have vastly improved since we took over" and "I can't give you a refund as you got an incredibly cheap deal which has not been offered for at least two years" (we paid $130 pn). I asked him to come to the room and see for himself. He refused stating "I'll do it when the cleaners get here". A polite apology would have been sufficient. We will definitely not be returning to this establishment and would certainly not recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evelyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We found the room to be very comfortable, clean & just a little dated.
Very friendly at check in & check out. The restaurant was magic, the service & staff made us very welcome! We'll be going back for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed one night at this welcoming hotel on our way to Melbourne. I’d booked a standard queen size room, but on arrival we were delighted to learn that we had been upgraded to a kingsize executive room. The room overlooked the street at the location of a busy roundabout, but we were pleased to discover that very little traffic noise could be heard inside the room and it was quiet at night. The room was spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean and had good quality furnishings. The bathroom was a good size and the shower unit was spacious, with good quality bathsheets provided. Breakfast was good and of a generous size.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paula67Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We just spent the weekend at this Best Western Motel at Bakery Hill and were very pleased with everything. The new owners Mark and Kylie made us feel very welcome and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. The family room we stayed in was very clean and very well kept. They are working hard to update some of the furnishings and facilities, which is great. We wish them all the best with their new venture. The location is awesome, walking distance to many eateries. The friendly service was the "icing on the cake". Truthfully, I'm pretty fussy and it can be so hard choosing accommodation over the internet but I would happily recommend this motel to others.

Room Tip: Very clean room and bathroom. Excellent condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0 mi away
Ballarat Central City Motor Inn
0.6 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#1 of 33 in Ballarat
400 reviews
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Ansonia on Lydiard
The Ansonia on Lydiard
#23 of 33 in Ballarat
134 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bell Tower Inn
Bell Tower Inn
#18 of 33 in Ballarat
141 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel
Mercure Ballarat Hotel
#8 of 33 in Ballarat
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bakery Hill Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakery Hill Motel

Address: 1 Humffray St S, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Price Range: $80 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bakery Hill Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small inner city Motel close to all the best that Ballarat has to offer in the way of restaurants, bars, galleries, theatres, shopping and of course, Sovereign Hill (1.5km).Having only just taken over the Motel in February, our focus has been on improving the cleanliness and hygiene of the rooms.We have all new doonas and bathroom linens and have replaced the old bed spread style bedding with the fresh, Hygenic, clean look of triple sheeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bakery Hill Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ballarat
Ballarat Best Western
Bakery Hill Motel Ballarat, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing