We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveler rating
26
29
23
15
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
26
29
23
15
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews warm bed sovereign hill quiet motel comfortable beds city centre toaster soap
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 108 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2018

Was hesitant to stay here after some negative reviews . The rooms were huge . The beds extremely comfortable . Family of 4 slept very comfortably . Bathrooms were renovated and were great . Room was serviced each day. Service was great.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nelmay43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2018

Tired appartment with delapidated bathroom. Charging same price for renovated appartments as for the old ones.
Broken live power point adjacent to bathroom sink.
Clean beds and spacious room.
Bad smell from creek over the back fence blowing in.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Nickie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

I stayed at the above hotel on a whim and with a very last minute booking but I was very pleasently surprised..

Located not to far from Sovereign Hill this hotel was well worth the very reasonable amount of money spent..

The rooms are spacious , very comfortable and very well appointed and the bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have EVER slept in..and it had an electric blanket should you like to slide into a warm bed..
The bathroom was a good size with a large shower and very soft towels and a good supply of soap , shampoo etc..

The needs of a guest were very well thought of as there was even a microwave and a toaster in the room should you feel the need to heat something or get the munchies, there was plenty of tea, coffee and milk.. Although I have never liked those little cups and saucers you get in motels and wish someone would replace them with mugs..

You can order room service for breakfast or go down to thw dining room and you won’t be dissapointed by the standard of your breakfast or the price..

Very friendly staff , who always great you with a smile regardless of the time of day or the reason for your visit to reception.. Some of the bigger chains could certainly take a leaf out of this hotels book.

In summary if you’re planning a trip to Ballarat have a look at this place, the location is good , the price is excellent and they even have a indoor swimming pool and spa for those colder Ballarat days ..

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Graeme P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018

The staff were friendly and the room was clean. The bathroom had been recently rennovated but the main room was outdated. There was an old fashioned air conditioner and a reverse cycle on one wall, neither of which worked. Instead we were given a floor heater to plug in. Half of the switches for the lamps didn't work on our arrival and, after some investigation by the staff it turns out that the fuse switch had been tripped, probably by the heater being used by the previous occupant. Not exactly reassuring! This was one of the two accommodations on our week long journey in which a single room was classed as a family room. There was also a huge crack in the masonry that ran along the length of one wall and then up along the cornice of the adjoining wall. This had been repaired at some point with a sealant but it didn't add much to the experience. Despite booking for four people there were only two cups and two glasses provided. There was a toaster but no cutlery or crockery other than the teaspoons and saucers with the cups. This was far from our cheapest hotel on our holiday but was definitely our least pleasant experience.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sue-Maree W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

To begin with, the room hadn't been serviced/cleaned properly. Manager seemed not worried by this. Door to bathroom has obviously been sticking for a long time. It required slamming which was difficult from inside, especially since many other people having same issue have caused the lock to become wobbly. The bathroom was the coldest place on Earth. Yes, it is Winter in Ballarat, but having an open vent at the top of the window that allows the wind to howl through is not pleasant. If comfortable with your travel partner, it's so much warmer to dry and dress in main room. Beds were very comfortable and the room was very warm. Couch is looking bedraggled. The place served its purpose but we won't be back.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews