We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service, amazing food!”
Review of Red Peppa

Red Peppa
Ranked #18 of 314 Restaurants in Ballarat
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing service, amazing food!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I was lucky enough to be taken here by locals on my visit to the beautiful Ballarat. Service was of the highest standard food couldn't be faulted a great evening! I would highly recommend to anyone wanting a brilliant evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 107Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    29
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
473 reviews
394 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Fair fare in Ballarat”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nothing special with the food here.

Servings were average portions with no great finesse re presentation. The menu did not suggest anything special in cuisine - standard small town cafe food.

Not sure why anyone would risk eating fish in an inland town?

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Webster27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not great but OK”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Lunch at Red Peppa was a mix of good and not-so-good experiences - the service was very friendly, but not very professional (my two dining companions and I each received a different version of the menu, no drinks list was offered); the food was hardly mind-blowing, but did represent very good value (I had two enormous pieces of beetroot, goat's cheese and walnut bruschetta and a coffee for $16.00); the cafe was well set out, but without much attention to detail (our table was a little greasy, and there was no salt in the shaker).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BIRMINGHAM
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Dissappointing”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were looking forward to a special night out with some good friends sadly the evening did not turn out to be as we had hoped. Only one meal out of 4 was anything like acceptable. Two of the meals were ridicoulsly small another badly cooked. For the price we paid we expected a lot better. We did bring our disatisfaction to the attention of one of the waiting staff but were ignored. If they had shown any interest I would not be wring this poor review. We left, the staff not making eye contact and had a nice supper at home.
The actual service we recieved however, until we made our displeasure known, was quite good, the miniscule meals arriving in good time etc.
The decor is rather uninteresting and the tables set out in a school classroom fashion

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FIDDLERBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, England
Level Contributor
243 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Good value lunch”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I took advantage of the special lunch menu and had wild mushroom risotto with a glass of house wine for 18 dollars, my wife had the braised pork belly off the main menu (18 dollars) and a glass of wine. Shared a cheesecake dessert. Good value lunch, popular place, would recommend

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricky49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Peppa also viewed

Ballarat, Victoria
Ballarat, Victoria
 

Been to Red Peppa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing