We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favourites”

Seymours on Lydiard Ballarat
Ranked #32 of 312 Restaurants in Ballarat
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Australian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bar, restaurant, hotel, cafe and 4 star motel accommodation, centrally located in Ballarat.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“One of our favourites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Saturday night dinner. We shared the calamari for entree which was served with salad leaves and garlic aioli, very nice. For mains we had eye fillet with fondant potato, carrots, leek, parsnip crisps in rosemary & red wine jus. Steak was asked for medium rare and was spot on. Take or leave the fondant potato. For dessert we had cream caramel and also coconut and lime cheese cake. Rarity these days but the dessert was made in house. The cream caramel was served with baklava cigar, doesn't need it, to heavy and to much. The cheese cake was baked, didn't say so on the menu. Was delicious. Serves was fast and attentive. Atmosphere was warm and friendly. One of our favourite restaurants.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank vigar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeymoursLydiard, Manager at Seymours on Lydiard Ballarat, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear vigar
Thank you for your amazing review. We really appreciate it. It was also lovely to read what your dinner selection was as this gives our readers a nice insight as to what they can expect from Chefs fantastic seasonal menu. Yes, you are absolutely correct.....our desserts are made in-house and Chef also has a different weekly specials menu with new desserts also.
Thank you for also acknowledging how fast and attentive the service was. We are well known for this.
We will see you soon for sure
Kind regards
Jacqui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    38
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Trusted the reviews - and were NOT disappointed...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Being from out of town we trusted the below reviews and were not disappointed. Jess behind the bar suggested a few tapas options and the Kangaroo melted in my mouth, the homemade spring rolls were awesome and the filo wraps - even though not my choice were very tasty!
A great place for a pint and some shared plates!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaybell77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeymoursLydiard, Manager at Seymours on Lydiard Ballarat, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Jaybell77
Thank you so much for your amazing review. We couldn't be anymore delighted. I'm pleased you mentioned that you had read through the previous reviews and that formed your decision to dine with us, as any business will agree to, feedback is just about everything isn't it?
Now the Kangaroo.......can I tell you I tried it for the very first time last week and I am a convert. I had always been a little scared (silly I know). It is divine isn't it and absolutely melts in the mouth. So, for our TripAdvisor readers, Jaybell77 and myself encourage you to pop in on our recommendation (and many others too) and try Chefs amazing summer menu. You won't be disappointed,
If you are ever down our way again we hope to see you
Kind regards
Jacqui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“comfortable, relaxed, and tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Chose tapas for the first time in this hotel, and experienced the open air balcony. Tapas was very tasty, and very reasonably priced. Staff were friendly and only too happy to explain their dishes to us. Lovely venue, will return soon!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debso66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeymoursLydiard, Manager at Seymours on Lydiard Ballarat, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Debso66
Thank you for taking the time to submit your lovely review. We really appreciate it. Tapas here at Seymours is extremely popular so I'm pleased you were able enjoy it especially so on our balcony. (Another popular dining area).
Nothing is too much trouble for our staff so thank you for acknowledging this also.
Look forward to seeing you again
Kind regards
Jacqui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“On The Run”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

My wife and I were recently in Ballarat and stayed at " Seymours " and having an early afternoon appointment popped into their Restaurant for a very quick bite for lunch which we were pleasantly surprised with the friendly and prompt service we received on arrival. The venue was quiet and clean.As we were in a bit of a rush our attendant Jacki seated us and offered us a drink while we glanced over the Lunch Menu. After placing our order it was not long and our meal was on the table. Within a few minutes another staff member asked if everything was to our pleasure, which of course it was. We proceeded on our way leaving with a full tummy and not any empty wallet. Having enjoyed our Lunch experience we pre-booked for Dinner of which we again received great service good food!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeymoursLydiard, Manager at Seymours on Lydiard Ballarat, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Alan W
Thank you for taking to the time to submit a fabulous review for both our Motel and Hotel. It is very much appreciated. We are delighted your dining experience was to your liking as we strongly believe we offer the best service in Ballarat for our patrons. Nothing is too much trouble and dietary requirements are all gladly catered for. So much so, you enjoyed a second meal with us. Great recommendation - thank you.
Please pop in and dine with us again when next in Ballarat
Kind regards
Jacqui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We enjoyed our New Years Eve dinner at Seymours. The staff are attentive and pleasant. The food was delicious. Thank you.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FionaEmery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeymoursLydiard, Manager at Seymours on Lydiard Ballarat, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear FionaEmery
We appreciate you taking the time to post your lovely feedback. Thank you. Delighted you enjoyed your New Years Eve dinner in our Restaurant and also for the 'shout' out regarding the staff. They really are the best.
Happy New Year and hope to see you soon
Kind regards
Jacqui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seymours on Lydiard Ballarat also viewed

 
Ballarat, Victoria
Ballarat, Victoria
 

Been to Seymours on Lydiard Ballarat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing