We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great comfy place to stay”
Review of Quest Ballarat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quest Ballarat
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great comfy place to stay”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I recently stayed at Quest Ballarat in a one bedroom apartment for 7 days for a business trip. The apartment had everything in it to make me feel at home. Very well equipped, large and generally very clean. Reception staff very welcoming and friendly. It was also very nice and quiet. I would definitely stay here again, especially if it is a business trip or a long stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love To G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    136
    35
    7
    2
See reviews for
82
79
10
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Was here for an overnight stay only,which was a shame as I would have loved to have been here for a lot longer if needed. Excellent facilities, a homely feeling place.

May well have scored a perfect rating if I'd been here longer, intend to return next time I'm here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torsoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QBallarat, Manager at Quest Ballarat, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Torsoman
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Quest Ballarat.
We hope that you come back soon and stay for longer this time.
Regards
David Stevens
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

These 'serviced apartments' (hotel rooms with cooking facilities) are housed in the former Loreto Convent (later Loreto College). The external facade has been retained, but fortunately the interior has been completely gutted and rebuilt in a tasteful modern style.

My room was spacious and comfortable, with internet cable access but no wi-fi. Nothing in bar fridge except long-life milk. Location is not quite central, but within walking distance of Ballarat shops and restaurants (but it is very difficult to get a restaurant meal in Ballarat after 9pm).

Reception was efficient and competent enough, but a smile would help. Limited off-street parking. Loan of umbrella was welcome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James42_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QBallarat, Manager at Quest Ballarat, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear James
Thank you for your comments, we do appreciate your feedback.
Regarding the restaurants, we have added a couple of new one to our referral list that stay open later, so when next you are in Ballarat we can certainly assist you.
Thank you again and we hope to see you back in the very near future.
Regards
David Stevens
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We met up with a friend for a night away in Ballarat - and booked an executive apartment which was linked to a studio apartment by a double (lockable from both sides) door. The apartments are clean, modern and well equipped - everything you might need. We had really lovely service, including a portacot put in the room for our baby and the chance to check in early.

What really stood out was the fact that the soundproofing is fantastic - no - one could hear our baby who had an unsettled night - and we couldnt hear anything outside the apartment either.

There is a nespresso machine at reception, and a lovely small gym. We had no problem with off street parking and we were able to access it directly down the corridor from our room.

The location is great - walking distance to great cafes and the art gallery etc.

We are planning to meet up again and stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swagata B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Quest Ballarat for three nights earlier this month. We felt that the apartments were the best value for money we experienced during a three week motoring holiday across Victoria and NSW.

We booked a one bedroom apartment and were fortunate to be located on the ground floor. The apartments are relatively new, having been converted from an old girls high school. The original brickwork on the outside has been retained as have the high ceilings and the building fits in architecturally with the two churches at each side.

The apartment was spacious, well apponted, especially the kitchen, and located within walking distance to the main shopping areas of Ballarat. Parking can be a problem if there are conferences taking place or the apartments are fully booked.

The reception staff were very good and provided good advice on the local area. The only downside was an additional charge of $5.00 to borrow a DVD.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjones45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Lovely new apartments, clean, modern and close to the centre of town. Excellent restaurant 2 minutes walk down the street at Gee Cees. Would stay here again definitely. We had friends also staying in another apartment and discovered that there are a few different layouts but all were excellent. Apartments were also lovely and quiet- no street noise or noise in the corridors.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrystalQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Had a selfcontained unit on top floor facing North overlooking abandoned site, no views.No wireless internet. Modern interior, good bed, good size with front load washer and dryer in bathroom.Our only hassle was the washing machine being overly complex to work! Off street parking can be a problem if you return late and place is full. Great acoustics with no disturbance from Hall traffic or adjoining units. No lift so be prepared to lug your bags up 4 flights of stairs. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.2 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
0.3 mi away
The Provincial Ballarat
The Provincial Ballarat
#3 of 33 in Ballarat
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#1 of 33 in Ballarat
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites City Views
0.3 mi away
Craig's Royal Hotel
Craig's Royal Hotel
#10 of 33 in Ballarat
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Ballarat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Ballarat

Property: Quest Ballarat
Address: 7-11 Dawson Street North, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Quest Ballarat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Ballarat is the perfect place to stay for either business or leisure while in Ballarat. Centrally located within the old Loreto College building, Quest Ballarat has everything you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quest Ballarat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Ballarat Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing