We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BIG4 Ballarat Windmill Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This place is great the cabin I stayed in was clean and spacious. The only thing I would say they need is a coffee table as there was nothing to put ur coffee or drinks on while relaxing. That would have to be my only fault, so a very very minor thing. We were there for my daughters basketball tournament and have done 2 years now and plan for a third. Staff are warm and friendly and nothing is a problem.

Room Tip: The best room is the spa cottage.but all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriciaW2818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 217 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed for one night and we noticed straight away that there was great service at this park with the heater being left on in our cabin so it was warm on arrival. Unfortunately, we stayed on a weekend when it was wet and cold, so we couldn't make good use of the facilities. Just as well a new pool is being built because it was too cold for my kids to swim in. I do also have to say the $2 charge to borrow a dvd is a bit rich while the free use for 30 mins of the spa for big 4 members is a great idea. The big turn off was the bed. It was so hard that it felt like i was sleeping on wood. Both my husband and i woke up very sore. Just as well we brought our own pillows cause otherwise it would have been worse. All in all it's a clean and friendly place and staff are very helpful but a good sleep is extremely important, so i doubt we could stay here again just because of this.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeltum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Owner at BIG4 Ballarat Windmill Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Guest feedback is critical to our commitment to continuous improvement and customer service excellence, and we appreciate your comments. We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your short stay with BIG4 Ballarat Windmill and thrilled that you enjoyed our free spa. However, we are disappointed that we didn’t meet your expectations in two areas. Firstly, the $2 charge for the DVD’s is a nominal cost to keep the library stocked and in good working order with a wide range of movies available for all guests. We haven’t received any complaints before on this but will review for the future. Secondly, we are disappointed that you didn’t enjoy a restful night’s sleep. Again, we have never received any negative comments like this before but as a result of your feedback will review the mattresses for the future. Direct and immediate feedback is critical to our hospitality business as it is the only way we can ensure our guests are happy, and rectify any issues promptly. We sincerely hope to welcome you back to BIG4 Ballarat Windmill Holiday Park in the future and will do all we can to ensure you enjoy a great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband me and my son stayed in the caravan. It is good by day we had the spa, then my son wanted to play in the playground which is on the busy freeway with no fencing, during the night from 12am-3am there were 2 drunken guys using foul language that i learnt new words from shouting at the top of there voices telling everyone to wake up. Then later you hear 2 woman going at it worst sleep ever, told them at reception and thats when i was told that there was night security there well they must have been sleeping else where cause that was the first that i knew of that, there is no security to get in anyone could just walk through wont be back

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracey g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark C, Owner at BIG4 Ballarat Windmill Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

We appreciate and value your feedback and are sincerely disappointed to hear that there were aspects of your stay with us that fell below your expectations – especially when you suggested you were having such fun in the afternoon. I can assure you that all of our staff endeavour to meet all of the needs of our guests throughout the day and night. We do have a night manager who lives on site and is on call at any time for the safety and comfort of all guests. Our night manager patrols the park at various times of the night and does retire once all noise ceases and feels it appropriate. It is important to understand however, that in order for our night staff to be of assistance, they need to be notified and made aware that there is an issue. This is simply done by calling our 1800 number at any time of the day or night, or by using our phone that is located at the door of our reception.

In response to being on a busy freeway, we are situated on Remembrance Drive (Avenue of Honour), which is approximately 5kms from the busy Western Freeway. Our park is on the quiet outskirts of Ballarat approximately 8kms from the city centre. The playground is located well within the boundary fence of the park.

Once again, we are extremely disappointed that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and more so that we were not given the opportunity to hear of and attempt to rectify your concerns when they arose. We hope this experience has not deterred you from holidaying with BIG4 in the future and we do hope to see you back at BIG4 Ballarat Windmill Holiday Park soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Now this is one great place. Quite clean, Value for money. Great staff. Friendly Welcoming.
This was one of the best Big4 for value for money. Nice cabin. Cannot wait to see the new pool complex will have to come back someday. Great BBQ facilities nice that they were clean and we left them that way. Your standard are high and it is appreciated.

Room Tip: Check room before checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We agree with the other reviews exceptional customer service, beautiful quiet location, drive through site for our van, lots of cabins. Fantastic for young families, tennis court, basketball, great games room, under cover pool and much more. We only had 2 nights but would highly recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Glenys P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

It is a big4 and it is a fair bit more expensive than other parks. I did find the tent site small. The pool for the kids was inclosed but rather cold. The Sauna you need to pay for separatly. The BBQ needs coins in the camp kitchen. The entertainment room had a lovely wood heater and was warm. The couches are not all comfy. You need to test them... :) The Computers for the kids was great. To play other games in the games room you need to pay per game. The shower facility/ bathroom was good. Our kids loved the free saturday morning pancakes on offer. That was fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tasmanian300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Lots of businesses could learn about customer service from the Ballarat Windmill Team. Our family is relatively new to caravanning and we found the team helpful. Our powered site was shady and large enough for our young boys (ages 2 and 5) to play close to our van and have enough room to store bikes etc.
On Saturday morning our boys enjoyed the free pancakes put on for guests by our hosts - not oo many places offer freebies like this these days. Lots of happy campers!
You will find newer shower blocks etc at other parks but we found these to be well presented - clean and enough space. The boys loved the pool, play ground and jumping pillow. Just out of town we found the stay nice and quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a drive through site if you are newer to caravanning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballarat
5.7 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel
Mercure Ballarat Hotel
#7 of 34 in Ballarat
697 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites
25.1 mi away
Bellinzona Grange
Bellinzona Grange
#3 of 5 in Hepburn Springs
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#1 of 34 in Ballarat
394 reviews
5.6 mi away
BIG4 Ballarat Goldfields Holiday Park
6.1 mi away
Eureka Stockade Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BIG4 Ballarat Windmill Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 Ballarat Windmill Holiday Park

Address: 56 Remembrance Drive | Alfredton, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Ballarat
Price Range: $92 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BIG4 Ballarat Windmill Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Ballarat Avenue of Honour, BIG4 Ballarat Windmill Holiday Park is surrounded by trees and away from suburbia.Relax in our tranquil atmosphere, just minutes from the beautiful Lake and Gardens Precinct and the Heart of Historic Ballarat.At BIG4 Ballarat Windmill Holiday Park and Caravan Park your leisure is the main priority of our entire team. Together we provide you with all the quality accommodation and recreation facilities you expect of a Victorian Tourism Award Winning holiday park. * Indoor Heated Pool * Free Wireless Internet * Large Jumping Pillow * Spa and Sauna * Tennis Court * BBQ Area * BBQ Camp Kitchen * Heated Recreation Complex * Childrens' Playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BIG4 Ballarat Windmill Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BIG4 Ballarat Windmill Holiday Park Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing