We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic room”
Review of Peppinella Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Peppinella Motel
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The family room was quite basic and cramp and for the facilities provided, I think it's a little pricey compared to the other motels/hotels/apartment, I'd booked for my whole 2 weeks trips in Australia. Although there's a microwave in the room, there's no crockery or cutlery provided. Went to ask from the reception and they were happy to provide us with 4 plates and 4 sets of cutlery.

There's only one sink in the unit which is outside the bathroom. Have to share the sink for washing up dishes as well as brushing teeth. Anyway that didn't really bother us as we were just putting up a night and left early the next morning.

The heating unit and one of the electric blanket were not working properly but the owner was kind enough to come and change a new electric blanket for us.

The couple running the place is extremely helpful, friendly and accommodating. Showed us the direction to get to some places. Good coffee and tea as well as cookies and chocolates provided in room. That's the bonus.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaymum59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traceyandpeter74, Manager at Peppinella Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are sorry that you were not so happy with your room, this is a rather small family room which is best suited to families with young children, We do have two much larger family rooms which start at only $10.00 more than the one you choose, which gives alot more space and comfort. With regards to the heating I cannot comment on this as i personally was not aware that you had a problem and electric blankets die all the time but we always have spares onsite just in case as they only take minutes to change.

We are know considering turning this room back into a double room, and deleting off this family room as we have already done with the other one that was identical to this one to save on further problems and just keeping our two larger family rooms. Thank you for your feedback it will help make the decsision a whole lot easier to make.

Cheers Tracey and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 81 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

If you want glitz and glamor, this is not for you. It is a basic Budget Motel. The surprise is with the unbelievable attention to detail by the owners, who incidentally are extremely friendly. It is very clean, comfortable, spacious and warm. Needed for Ballarat.
The surprises were:-
Microwave
Toaster
European shower
Great toilet paper
Four types of coffee
Four types of tea
Large and small milk both full cream and skinny
Great cookies
Coffee plunger
Innumerable types of sugar
Blue ray player
I-pad docking player
Free Internet (200 Mb/day)
Excellent furniture (4 chairs 2 tables)
Vanity basin outside bathroom with plenty of counter space
Etc., etc.,

Even practical considerations of not allowing rear-to-room parking. We wondered why and were told by the guest information that fumes go into any open windows.

Room Tip: You play hide-and-seek to find the light switches. Ask before going to room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traceyandpeter74, Manager at Peppinella Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback, we do appreciate it. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could make your stay a pleasant one. We work very hard to make all our guests feel welcome and make sure our facilities are cleaned to a high standard. We do offer a wide variety of tea, coffee and sugar etc as not everyone drinks the same things so we hope that all our guests find something that they like. We are working on the light switch situattion and are in the middle of changing the brown switches to white so they are a little easier to see and find. We thank you again for your kind words and hope to have the pleasure of your businesss again in the future. Once again thank you Cheers Tracey and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed here with my baby daughter simply because it was the closest motel to where I had to be. For the price I paid, I was not expecting much and was pleasantly surprised. The room was not modern or pretty by any means but it was very clean, the linen was nice and the bathroom had nice towels and lovely toiletries provided. I was also impressed by the kitchen facilities provided, down to offering herbal tea, fresh milk and cookies along with the usual coffee and sugars. My breakfast was delivered on time, with a smile and an unexpected complimentary newspaper. The service was prompt, friendly and helpful when I didn't have any cash on me and had to use my card for a very small transaction. I felt welcome, and home and feel they made every attempt to make my stay pleasant. Overall seemed a busy, well run establishment where I would definitely stay again when I need to be in the area. Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kookycathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traceyandpeter74, Manager at Peppinella Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are working hard to renovate all our rooms, but this does take time. The room you had is definately on the list to be done as it does need a major overhaul as the previous owners painted all the lovely woodwork white/cream which does not help. We would welcome you back at any time thanks again. cheers Tracey and Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We ended up booking this motel because we wanted for 5 people under the same roof. There were no other motels available at that time. Moreover prices were very reasonable. It's slightly off the CBD, however Safeways, McDonalds etc are within 5 minutes reach by car, Owners are good.
Rooms are fine and comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeerajVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traceyandpeter74, Owner at Peppinella Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

thank you for your feedback we are glad that you enjoyed you stay in room 12 our biggest room, which consists of one queen bed and 3 single beds. This unit also has two Tv''s one in each room and a good size family fridge. thanks once again for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My partner, her father, son and I stayed in a family room, which has a queen bed in the main room and a separate room with 2 beds (with its own flat screen TV and Foxtel). Although its an older style motel, we were very happy with the facilities and the owners are pleased to help in any way possible. Our room was comfortable, very well equipped with reverse cycle air conditioning, microwave, tea & coffee making, electric blankets, iPod dock, Blu-ray/DVD player, 2 flat screen TVs and spotlessly clean. Very quiet location with shops and take away food only a few minutes drive away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie-wayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traceyandpeter74, Owner at Peppinella Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed you time with us, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. As stated we are an older styled motel, however we are working very hard to make the insides of the rooms comforatable and cossy for everyone's stay with a few mod cons thrown in

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic Motel !! Value for Money and beyond. Clean , Comfortable and came in above my expectations. There is also a bus stop right out the front as its a little way out from central Ballarat and also a microwave in the room and as we had a toddler it was handy for warming bottles, the small play was handy.The is also vending machine insight and for any extras there is a great Mini mart not far away. From the moment we were greeted we were taken care of in every aspect. Thanks Peppinella :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyzafletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traceyandpeter74, Owner at Peppinella Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

thank you so much for your kind words, we do endevour to make everyone's stay with us a good as we can.. We do appreciate your feedback. As stated the bus stop is just outside the property and takes around ten minutes by bus to get into the heart of Ballarat. There is also the Mini mart located about 400 metres down the road on the opposite side which has alot of products that anyone may need. Once again thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is one of those regional motels with exposed red brick walls. I was a little shocked when I opened the front door and was faced with the sink at the other end of the room. It's outside of the bathroom and made the room look a bit hodge-podge. The furniture and decor was very dated but all appliances (coffee maker, toaster, electric blankets, air conditioning and TV) worked fine. It has the look and feel of the budget motel that it is, but its fine if you just need a peace to sleep.

Room Tip: Try to not get room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ancsi50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traceyandpeter74, Owner at Peppinella Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

thank you for your review. While you may not have been happy with the room, you could have seen what you were booking from the photo's on the internet site in which you booked. I would like to know were we get red bricks from though as while we have bricks on our walls they are defienatly not red they are brown in colour. we hope that you find the kind of accomadation you are after but might I suggest that perhaps for what you were looking for you look in a slightly higher price bracket.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
3.1 mi away
Bell Tower Inn
Bell Tower Inn
#17 of 33 in Ballarat
141 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Main Lead
Comfort Inn Main Lead
#30 of 33 in Ballarat
92 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ballarat Central City Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Bakery Hill Motel
Bakery Hill Motel
#21 of 33 in Ballarat
124 reviews
4.4 mi away
Victoriana Motor Inn
Victoriana Motor Inn
#15 of 33 in Ballarat
94 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel
Mercure Ballarat Hotel
#8 of 33 in Ballarat
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppinella Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppinella Motel

Address: 102 Smythes Rd, Ballarat, Victoria 3356, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Price Range: $77 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Peppinella Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Peppinella Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppinella Motel Ballarat, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing