We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old world charm with modern conveniences”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Ballarat
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old world charm with modern conveniences”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Oscar's is incredibly convenient to the centre of Ballarat. It is a beautifully renovated building without removing any of its charm. All furnishings used are in character with modern bathroom facilities and air-conditioning. Free wifi speed is just bearable. If you have any real business to do online better off tethering your mobile and using 3G/4G.

The staff are pleasant at all hours of the morning and evening. Parking is out the back down the lane beside Oscar's Hotel. If it is raining you will need to be quick getting inside as parking is not under cover - particularly tricky when it is 5C or lower.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    84
    25
    9
    3
See reviews for
33
99
14
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We had my mum's birthday party in the function room at Oscars in July. We had about 60 people come for tea then a few more for nibbles afterwards. The food was excellent and came out very fast, it was good value and we'll portioned. There was a little confusion with everyone making payments but I think that was due to some new staff working on the night.

Overall it was a great night.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for a conference and appreciated the art deco atmosphere combined with a very modern bathroom. Very central to the city this hotel has free parking and comfortable rooms. Breakfast service was slow but friendly.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank maggies53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Lovely room! Don't think the photos did it justice! Bed and pillows perfect! Cosy and warm in a cold place! Staff friendly and helpful! Close to wonderful cafe's and beautiful historic buildings! Oh and the shops

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueG46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is an Art Deco hotel that has been refurbish, the room was excellent, subtle colours, lovely soft bed, we had a front room and didn't hear any road noise. The location is great, so central to everything. I would recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: If you stayed at weekends you may need to ask for a back room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dizza86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed for two nights over Easter, and although the hotel and restaurant was closed on Good Friday (I agree with a previous review, it was a little weird at first having NO staff at all), we had a lovely time! The room was clean and well presented, the bathroom amazing - giant walk in shower, brilliant spa bath with a tv!! One negative point - aware there was a dvd player in the rooms, we brought some of our own dvd's to watch. The main player had broken connection cords, and when we tried the built in tv dvd player, it chewed and scratched our dvd :( The next day however, our player was fixed immediately, but no mention was made of our ruined dvd! A positive or two - very friendly staff (though, i think they should know at least the age of the building), and its close enough to walk to the lake, and town/bars/restaurants. Overall, we were very pleased with our room, and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalmaorigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent Good Friday at Oscars this year. A few days before I received a text message from a staff member telling me that reception would be closed that day and informed me of the after hours procedure. We arrived and had no trouble getting to our room. It was a bit eerie not having anyone around but it was also quite nice to have the feel of the whole hotel to yourself. Wifi info was left on the reception desk which was helpful. The room was lovely on first view and the bathroom even better. I liked that our room had a street view and the bed was very comfortable. I will have to agree with another reviewer about the pillows as I had a horrible sore neck the next day as the pillows were very firm. Other than that though a faultless stay and would recommend.

Room Tip: Room 1 had a street view and double shower heads!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Koukli86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.3 mi away
The Provincial Ballarat
The Provincial Ballarat
#1 of 32 in Ballarat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#2 of 32 in Ballarat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballarat Suites
0.2 mi away
Craig's Royal Hotel
Craig's Royal Hotel
#10 of 32 in Ballarat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar

Property: Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar
Address: 18 Doveton Street South, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ballarat
#7 Business Hotel in Ballarat
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique accommodation in the heart of Ballarat CBD. Great food, friendly staff and sunny courtyard in summer and gas log heaters in winter.The perfect place to stay for shopping, the theatre, soveriegn hill or attending functions in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar Ballarat, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing