We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great hotel in an excellent location”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is an Art Deco hotel that has been refurbish, the room was excellent, subtle colours, lovely soft bed, we had a front room and didn't hear any road noise. The location is great, so central to everything. I would recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: If you stayed at weekends you may need to ask for a back room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dizza86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    90
    27
    9
    3
See reviews for
37
104
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed for two nights over Easter, and although the hotel and restaurant was closed on Good Friday (I agree with a previous review, it was a little weird at first having NO staff at all), we had a lovely time! The room was clean and well presented, the bathroom amazing - giant walk in shower, brilliant spa bath with a tv!! One negative point - aware there was a dvd player in the rooms, we brought some of our own dvd's to watch. The main player had broken connection cords, and when we tried the built in tv dvd player, it chewed and scratched our dvd :( The next day however, our player was fixed immediately, but no mention was made of our ruined dvd! A positive or two - very friendly staff (though, i think they should know at least the age of the building), and its close enough to walk to the lake, and town/bars/restaurants. Overall, we were very pleased with our room, and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalmaorigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent Good Friday at Oscars this year. A few days before I received a text message from a staff member telling me that reception would be closed that day and informed me of the after hours procedure. We arrived and had no trouble getting to our room. It was a bit eerie not having anyone around but it was also quite nice to have the feel of the whole hotel to yourself. Wifi info was left on the reception desk which was helpful. The room was lovely on first view and the bathroom even better. I liked that our room had a street view and the bed was very comfortable. I will have to agree with another reviewer about the pillows as I had a horrible sore neck the next day as the pillows were very firm. Other than that though a faultless stay and would recommend.

Room Tip: Room 1 had a street view and double shower heads!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Koukli86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our first trip to Ballarat for the Ballarat Beat Festival Feb 2013 , we could not have been happier with our accommodation, Such Friendly and helpful staff ,great food, immaculately clean and comfy rooms and such a beautiful old hotel .And the location well , could not have asked for better .Thanks to all the great staff who made our first trip to Beautiful Ballarat a holiday to be remembered . See you 2014 Cheers !!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elderslie, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and & I recently stayed at this hotel and coould not praise it highly enough. From the moment we arrived and the reception offered to carry our luggage up stairs for us to the moment that we left, we found the staff to be courteous, respectful and always cheerful.

The room was absolutely beautiful. It was serviced daily and very quiet.

I have no hesitation in reccomending this establishment to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 14. Very nice with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky Q, Owner at Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Oscars Hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ballarat and ensuring your visit is as an enjoyable as this time.
Regards, Nicky.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

cently attended a friends engagement at Oscars and we stayed upstairs in a spa room. The room was fantastic with a tv over the spa bath, and when we checked in the staff were friendly and helpful. The great staff attitude continued throughout the weekend at both the fun ction and at breakfast the following morning. Nothing was too much trouble. the food at the engagement was the best cocktail food i have ever had and the garden room where it was held was beautiful.Cant wait for antoher reason to visit Ballarat so I can stay at Oscars again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patsy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky Q, Owner at Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your great review of Oscars. It is very much appreciated.We look forward to seeing you on your next visit and ensuring your stay is perfect .
Regards nicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainbow
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times but this was "The Best"
I was upgraded and enjoyed a very spacious spa room for two nights. The staff are wonderful and go the extra mile, the food is great and breakfast was up to the usual standard.. I am looking forward to returning in 2013.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the backnof the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.3 mi away
The Provincial Ballarat
The Provincial Ballarat
#2 of 33 in Ballarat
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
0.6 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#1 of 33 in Ballarat
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Craig's Royal Hotel
Craig's Royal Hotel
#8 of 33 in Ballarat
243 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites
1.4 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar

Property: Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar
Address: 18 Doveton Street South, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ballarat
#7 Business Hotel in Ballarat
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique accommodation in the heart of Ballarat CBD. Great food, friendly staff and sunny courtyard in summer and gas log heaters in winter.The perfect place to stay for shopping, the theatre, soveriegn hill or attending functions in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar Ballarat, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing