We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Rooms Great Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Ballarat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and & I recently stayed at this hotel and coould not praise it highly enough. From the moment we arrived and the reception offered to carry our luggage up stairs for us to the moment that we left, we found the staff to be courteous, respectful and always cheerful.

The room was absolutely beautiful. It was serviced daily and very quiet.

I have no hesitation in reccomending this establishment to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 14. Very nice with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky Q, Owner at Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Oscars Hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ballarat and ensuring your visit is as an enjoyable as this time.
Regards, Nicky.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 251 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

cently attended a friends engagement at Oscars and we stayed upstairs in a spa room. The room was fantastic with a tv over the spa bath, and when we checked in the staff were friendly and helpful. The great staff attitude continued throughout the weekend at both the fun ction and at breakfast the following morning. Nothing was too much trouble. the food at the engagement was the best cocktail food i have ever had and the garden room where it was held was beautiful.Cant wait for antoher reason to visit Ballarat so I can stay at Oscars again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patsy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky Q, Owner at Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for your great review of Oscars. It is very much appreciated.We look forward to seeing you on your next visit and ensuring your stay is perfect .
Regards nicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times but this was "The Best"
I was upgraded and enjoyed a very spacious spa room for two nights. The staff are wonderful and go the extra mile, the food is great and breakfast was up to the usual standard.. I am looking forward to returning in 2013.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the backnof the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I went in on a Saturday afternoon for originally cake and coffee. We changed our minds and decided on wedges and drinks. After waiting 10 mins for our order to be taken my partner went up and ordered himself. Another 20mins later Ge wedges appeared but no drinks. We were expecting a bowl we couldn't finish for the price but alas we should have ordered that and something else too. So after finishing the wedges we were still waiting for drinks which was a spider and jug of soft drink. Again we had to go and ask where they were. Out table wasn't cleared even after wai staff walked pass a number of times and just stared at the plate there. $30 later we left annoyed and wondering why we used to love this place!! :(

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmah87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My family stayed there recently for a wedding. We had two rooms. We had stayed there a number of years ago when it was first renovated and it was much better. The rooms look tired and the bathrooms more so. No soap holders in the shower, no shower curtain and the vanity units are showing signs of age. Blind in bathroom would not go up because cords were broken. Cracks in the room plaster show signs of neglect. The beds are very cheap and uncomfortable. Staff were friendly but the breakfast was average and not worth the money. All in all not worth the money and we would not stay there again in Ballarat.

Room Tip: Check out the actual room before taking the key as some are better than others in terms of condition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel was fine. The room was clean and comfy. the shower was excellent and the bathroom had been modernized. I didn't dine in but the restaurant was busy. The staff we friendly and helpful. The wifi was free which is great although a little patchy. I had a room on the street side. If you were a light sleeper you might prefer a room a litle further back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank golfingkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have dined at Oscar's on a number of occasions ... most recently a few days ago. We were a party of three who had different selections from the menu. I had Leg of Duck confit with a mixture of fresh vegetables and salad that had excellent flavours. My lady had the Roast Vegetable Lasagna that she found delicious and her 17yo son had the Chicken Parmagiana that also hit the spot. the servings were substantial, the staff were friendly and the patrons ranged in age from infants to those well into their 70s ... but no problems with noise from the youngsters. We ate indoors as it was a bit chilly for the alfresco courtyard.

Room Tip: We didn't stay ... just ate at the cafe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.2 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites
0.3 mi away
The Provincial Ballarat
The Provincial Ballarat
#4 of 34 in Ballarat
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Craig's Royal Hotel
Craig's Royal Hotel
#8 of 34 in Ballarat
256 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel
Mercure Ballarat Hotel
#6 of 34 in Ballarat
689 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#1 of 34 in Ballarat
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar

Address: 18 Doveton Street South, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ballarat
#7 Business Hotel in Ballarat
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range: $112 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique accommodation in the heart of Ballarat CBD. Great food, friendly staff and sunny courtyard in summer and gas log heaters in winter.The perfect place to stay for shopping, the theatre, soveriegn hill or attending functions in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oscar's Hotel & Cafe Bar Ballarat, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing