We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you haven't been for awhile - it's time to come back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kryal Castle Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“If you haven't been for awhile - it's time to come back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Went to Kryal Castle in the 80s on a school trip and never been back? Well it's time to revisit the Ballarat Medieval tourist attraction. I was keen to see what the newly refurbished park had to offer and was surprised by the options. There's something for everyone here: a cute puppet show for little kids, interactive session in the Wizard's Workshop or with the Knights of the round table for medium sized kids and the macabre torture dungeon and museum for the over-12s. The Mounted Skills at Arms Show (Medieval games on horseback) is just great.

The highlight of the day though were the character actors playing the roles of Knights, Wizards and Squires - just hilarious. They stayed in character the whole time and interacted with our group throughout our visit. Let's face it - who else is going to address you as M'Lady these days?

The food in the cafe is homemade and tasty. The setting is beautiful and the experience is worth it. On the down side - there's no access via public transport so it's a self-drive trip or a taxi from the train station, so plan ahead.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandycandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    44
    27
    7
    6
See reviews for
71
68
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Havent been to the castle in yrs decieded to take kids upon arrival discovered renovations not finished .There should of been knights,wenches & jesters walking around doing shows The Jesters theatre was nothing l explained to my kids what Jesters were but there was not a jester in sight only a poorly puppet show.. Costume shop wanted to charge $10 pp to try on costumes and we take as many photos as we want Had lunch at the bakery service was slow food nothing to rave about & the cost my god!!!!! My suggestion close until all renovations are completed look at ur costs and what can be improved in doing shows performers What i spent i could of enjiyed my day better at QLD theme park Didnt stay in hotel

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cody05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband thought I had booked a cabin in a caravan park so he was more than alittle amazed to find I had booked into this "blast from our past" The new hotel suites have been tastefully decorated and are very well appointed. Our spa room had one queen size and one single bed. The beds were very comfy with crisp white linen and faux fur blankets. Dark patterned carpet, small castle shaped windows with lovely views across to Ballarat and a wall tapestry all contributed to the feeling we were staying in a castle without being over the top. , The breakast "box" was fairly basic, but the bathroom amenities were excellent.
We ate dinner in the tavern on site. The menu was small, offering your usual pub food but it was good -the servings were generous and prices very reasonable. The staff were very professional and helpful.
We wandered around the castle the next morning and saw some of the jousting show. The attractions are aimed at kids but it was still a lovely venue for a romantic night. Kryal Castle suites are excellent value for money - nad much more fun than your standard hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKGRegular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We visited as we'd heard Kryal Castle had just reopened after being rundown after many years of decline.

The castle itself is a magnificent building, unlike many other theme parks. It is a real stone (or at least in part concrete blocks that look like stone) structure that has aged wonderfully and appears truly ancient. The work that must have gone into building this place is awe inspiring.

Massive round towers that have a round table and another with a wizard's workshop. Lovely gardens and a beautiful herb garden growing ancient medicinal plants for the wizard's potions.

We booked a King Twin Suite and found it well appointed. Massive soft King Bed with crisp white linen. Breakfast was included in boxes with cereal, Carmen's Muesli bar and fruit in juice with an orange juice. The kids were well impressed.

Entire suite appeared brand new and of great quality. Even included a microwave. Hotel staff couldn't do too much to help.

The eating facilities provided were excellent value. There's a bakery café that had a large range of rolls, quiches and hot food. Gourmet pies are baked on site and I recommend them wholeheartedly. Prices really surprised me as they were as good, if not better than what I'd pay at my local café. None of the crazy prices I would have expected in a park like this. The Tavern offered full meals and all were priced at $20 with beer and wine cheaper than most pubs. James Squire beers were $5.

The Tooth Fairy's lolly shop has a big range of English lollies. Blocks of treacle toffee for $2.30. The whole place can't have put their prices up since $1985.

All of the parts that should look ancient did, and places like the Tavern were clean and new with impressive huge wooden beams and white line table cloths. The fact that you can stay here and wander up for your dinner at night and be back in your castle room in a minute is wonderful. I'd love to book the place for a party.

From talking to staff, the recent opening is only the first stage. Crew from The Lord of The Rings films are adding lots of things in the near future to make it even more magical.

With the cost of entry to the park included in the accommodation cost, it is remarkable value. We missed a couple of things on the day we arrived and fully expected to be booted out of the park at checkout the next day. The lovely hotel lady asked if we were staying to look around further. That, and being able to wander the grounds at night made it a magical experience for our girls.

Rooms mid week for $145 are a bargain for accommodation of this quality. If you want to stay in Ballarat and have a car, stay here and have a great feed and beer in the evening, breakfast in the morning. Awesome value for a hotel regardless of the castle you're staying in.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank angryfromparkville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

My first feeling of Kryal Castle is its unfinished but the fee doesn't reflect this. It is really big but yet feels empty. The "labyrinth" going in was quite drawn out and the kids got bored waiting. But there were good things, the joust was really good and kids enjoyed the playground. The employees are good and stay in character very well. It isn't bad but not value for money at this point at $79 for the family but will be great when it is finished. I didn't stay in the accommodation so can't comment.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank She11y1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Great medieval theme park only 1.5 hours from Melbourne, neat Ballarat has on-site accommodation which we didn't used, recently refurbished only re opened in early march 2013, lovely day out for the family.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank technocv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

My fiance had never been to kryal castle before witj mw having gone years and years ago (im 25) and as they had only just opened they has a special on and had cheap accommodation so we took the chance. We were greeted by a very welcoming and friendly manager who directed us to hotel reception. She was very friendly also. The room was very cosy and greatly decorated. The shower we had was AMAZING!!!! It waa huge!!! It was like a medievil chamber. You could havw comfortably fit approx 5 adults in there at a min. Bed was very very comfy and had all microwave fridge and kettle and toaster. It was very quiet and peaceful to sleep in.
The park was a good set up but being a weekday seemed quiet and not along going on. I would come back here once the park is complete and on school holidays or a weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller2787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
5.5 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#2 of 32 in Ballarat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
5.8 mi away
Ballarat Premier Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Craig's Royal Hotel
Craig's Royal Hotel
#9 of 32 in Ballarat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Provincial Ballarat
The Provincial Ballarat
#1 of 32 in Ballarat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballarat Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kryal Castle Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kryal Castle Suites

Property: Kryal Castle Suites
Address: 121 Forbes Road | Leigh Creek, Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kryal Castle Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following a major redevelopment, and reopening in March 2013, Kryal Castle is Australia's only medieval adventure park, and recreates a legendary land of myths and medieval adventure with knights, dragons, wizards, kings, queens, princesses and fairies. Within the Castle walls is a medieval town of activities, where visitors feel as if they have entered a unique and magical place! Witness daring jousting contests, venture down into the creepy Torture Dungeon or wander through the grounds and gardens exploring the Knight's Round Table Tower, the Maze, Dragon's Labyrinth, Village Traders, Bravehearts Playground, Wizards Workroom, Jesters Theatre and so much more. Buy sweets from the Tooth Fairy Lolly Shop, and if you can't resist the lure of this fascinating period try on an outfit at the King's Britches Costume Emporium and take a picture of your medieval self. To extend the adventure, visitors can continue with a night in one of the Castle's 17 luxury suites, which beautifully capture the glory and mystery of times past, with stunning hand woven European tapestries, yet are as modern and as well equipped as any lord or lady would want. Perfect for romantic getaways or fun family adventures staying in the heart of the action! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kryal Castle Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kryal Castle Suites Ballarat, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing