We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Old Girl's Quite Classy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Ballarat
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This Old Girl's Quite Classy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Plenty of old-worldy character yet with all modcons needed, this Ballarat Original is well worth a stay. There's a tie-in with the local RSL with memorabilia and photos of old soldiers adorning the walls - all very interesting and they add to the character. Rooms are large and comfortable. Our bathrom was separated from the bedroom itself by a frosted glass wall which is OK but doesn't lend itself to total privacy (if that's an issue for you!). The hotel is very central with good restaurants and parking close-by, quite secure and free for guests. Someone warned us of the noise from downstairs but we never heard a thing and slept soundly. Enjoyed Ballarat itself. Thanks for a very pleasant time all round!

Room Tip: We would have liked one that opened onto the front verandah but I suspect it may have cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    65
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
18
55
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The stand out for us was the sensational big breakfast !
Best we have had, even spoke to the chef and we told him it was great, presentation was fantastic. Also had the steak for tea in the front bar, great meal, the mrs had the whiting, also yummy, great beer range as well !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesandAndrea7173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a suite on the 2nd floor. On arrival we were amazed at the beautiful decor and the huge area of our rooms. The bedroom is separate from the lounge and has a good sized bathroom. The loungeroom has a mini kitchen with hotplate, oven, microwave, sink, washingmachine and fridge. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Our evening meal in the diningroom was delicious, a very good menu was offered. Breakfast was also very nice, however it was slow coming out. We would definitely stay here again, the location in the heart of Ballarat was ideal, the price was reasonable, all good.

Room Tip: 2nd floor was lovely and you have access to the huge balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEC306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Well for an RSL this is a great hotel. The food was good value for money and very tasty. The renovation of this property has been done to a high standard. We were very impressed. This is a good place to take a family on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayleneL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The George is an excellent pub, with a number of different areas, including the Lane Restaurant (which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner). Can recommend the breakfasts. The bar service is excellent, and the bar meals are very good. The pub is partnered with the RSL, so RSL members get 10% of food and drinks. Worth a visit if you are in Ballarat. We stayed at the motel part, which is one of the chains, but owned by the same owners as the pub. Rooms were excellent, large, and well fitted out. Secure parking is available, and the staff were exceptionally friendly and provided great service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coradsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
230 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Loved the hotel and the location and newly renovated cafe and restaurants. Right in the middle of all the attractions and all the rooms have been renovated. We chose a studio as there was only the two of us and the room had been extremely well transformed into a studio. Glass wall and door to the bathroom, large flat screen on the wall and very comfy pillow top bed. It started to rain so we decided to dine in but had to eat from the bar menu as the restaurant was fully booked so obviously popular. Our meal from the bar was great and well priced.
The Negative.
When we checked out we had to walk down the street to hand in our key to the reception at another hotel. Get a key drop box please.

Room Tip: Looks like all rooms have been refurbished so all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philandcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Vic Australia
Level Contributor
310 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

This historic hotel has bedrooms that have been very smartly updated (although not exactly in keeping with the period of the hotel - but I wouldn't change what they have done) with all the latest facilities. The decor is modern and tasteful, excellent bathroom with walk in shower, flatscreen TV with all free to view channels, telephone, clock radio, bedside table with table lamps. Comfortable bed and wifi that really works well. As well there is good undercover parking at the rear of the hotel reached via a lane way. Great value. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionel41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.2 mi away
The Provincial Ballarat
The Provincial Ballarat
#1 of 32 in Ballarat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craig's Royal Hotel
Craig's Royal Hotel
#9 of 32 in Ballarat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn Heritage on Lydiard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#2 of 32 in Ballarat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
0.2 mi away
The Ansonia on Lydiard
The Ansonia on Lydiard
#22 of 32 in Ballarat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: 27 Lydiard St N, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Ballarat
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballarat's second oldest hotel, the original George Hotel building was erected in 1854. The George Hotel is located in what is known as one of Australia's most important historical streets and is opposite the Art Gallery of Ballarat, walking distance from Ballarat's Visitor Information Centre and a few doors down from the local cinemas. Over the past 3 years the hotel has undergone a major refurbishment to bring its hotel style rooms, including some apartment style accommodation, to a four and half star standard. The hotel is now also home to the Ballarat RSL with memorabilia displayed within the hotel. Newly refurbished bars and dining areas now operate seven days and at the rear is a new upmarket lounge which operates weekends for guests and discerning patrons with strict standards. One of Ballarat's most popular meeting places, The Lane offers a street cafe and alfresco dining, alongside the Lane Restaurant (popular with foodies) and Heritage Bar & Restaurant offering breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Ballarat, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing