We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be fooled by the outside appearance of the hotel, nice rooms!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Ballarat
Certificate of Excellence
Kiama, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the outside appearance of the hotel, nice rooms!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

Central location in Ballarat, walking distance to shops and restaurants in CBD. Nicely appointed, refurbished rooms, although a bit small. They have really spent one money refurbishing the rooms and it shows. Parking is very tight at the rear of te hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    65
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
18
55
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Recently stayed overnight in a small but gorgeous room. The upgrade to this hotel is fantastic, complimenting the heritage. The bed was sooooo comfy, my hubby loved the HUGE TV. Very central location, parking was a bit tricky but who doesn't love a challenge?! We had room service breakfast as part of our wotif special and were very impressed. Service from all staff was friendly and helpful. Can also recommend Oscars for meals, a nice walk a couple of streets away - outstanding!

Room Tip: We had Room 1 which is the smallest. If staying longer choose a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magilacuttys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

If you don't have your own vehicle and wich to be near the train and central Ballarat this is a great place mid-week. Being aware that there is noise on Friday and Saturday nights I was not concerned staying on a Tuesday and Wednesday.

The George is part Quality In group, it's sister Hotel os next door and this is where you can check-in or out from if the George is unattended. The George has refurbished rooms and given that the hotel dates from early 1900's they have done a great job to maximise the space in the rooms. Had room 8 on the first level, stairs or lift. This room is beyond two internal glass doors, 1 with security card access. Once in the room it has windows and light well. From the look of it not many rooms would have street view anyway. if you are touring you should be out most of the day anyway. Room was made up on second day and all items replenished. No noise at any stage.

Tourist office is a couple of doors up, Art gallery across the road, Sturt street shops very handy and Bridge Street mall 7-10 minutes.

Room Tip: I'd ask for one nearer the back that way you walk past every one elses room and no one walks pas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieTravellerDU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

I stayed overnight at the George in a studio suite and was very impressed with this property. They were in the process of renovating the entrance and some of the public areas, but the rooms have all been done already.

I was in Ballarat for work, so just wanted a simple, clean room at a reasonable rate. The studio rooms are small, but well fitted and lovely to look at. There is a really nice blending of the old and new.

I had a great nights sleep in a very comfortable bed. I had the room service breakfast and was extremely impressed at the healthy selections available at a very reasonable price. Its a nice change to be able to order lovely fresh fruit, muesli, yogurt and warm fruit muffins instead of the usual continental selections.

All the staff I spoke to were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the cafe was closed at the time I was there.

I will definitely stay again and try one of their larger rooms!

Room Tip: Studio rooms are perfect for a work traveller or if you are by yourself without needing too much spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FussyGuestMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

Lovely heritage hotel that has had a refurbishment. Booked a suite and was very spacious with a great bathroom and nice furniture. In the late afternoon bass thumping noise sounded through the room and eventually at 1130pm we left to drive back to melbourne knowing we weren't going to be able to sleep with the noise. On further inspection the website does have a disclaimer saying the nightclub is open until 5am(!!!) fri and sat nights - but here is the kicker, when we left the nightclub hadnt started yet. so this noise was in addition to the nightclub - no thanks! We were also on the second floor and at the back of the building, so would hate to think what it would be like lower down and at the front.
Such a shame, really put a dampener on our weekend - especially after paying over $200 to not even sleep the night!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank porgey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caravanaddict, Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank for your feedback and you will be pleased to know the nightclub no longer operates. All areas have now undergone a major refurbishment including bars/food areas. The nightclub has been replaced with a very upmarket lounge/piano/supper club with accoustic music which cannot be heard from rooms and closes by 2am. It is for guest and discerning mature type patrons only with strict standards. We are also in final stage of new alfresco Laneway areas including children's playground.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyCandy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2010

Nice rooms, but overlook a carpark and you are kept awake because the smoking area underneath runs parallel to the upstairs rooms. The exhaust fan also hums away 24./7. I was there Wed/Thursday. Little heritage character visible, the upgrade has improved the room but the rest of the hotel is 2 star with expensive price for drinks, and the eating area is plain awful. I paid $140 and if I wanted a room at the front of the hotel it wld be $200 - not worth it. No wonder the place was practically empty.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyCandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellarat
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

Great location. Great rooms Very modern and stylish which have very recently been refurbished. The bathroom was excellent. Staff were really friendly and helpful and the bar even threw in a free round of drinks . We would definetly stay here again

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.2 mi away
The Provincial Ballarat
The Provincial Ballarat
#1 of 32 in Ballarat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craig's Royal Hotel
Craig's Royal Hotel
#9 of 32 in Ballarat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn Heritage on Lydiard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#2 of 32 in Ballarat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
0.2 mi away
The Ansonia on Lydiard
The Ansonia on Lydiard
#22 of 32 in Ballarat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: 27 Lydiard St N, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Ballarat
#12 Luxury Hotel in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballarat's second oldest hotel, the original George Hotel building was erected in 1854. The George Hotel is located in what is known as one of Australia's most important historical streets and is opposite the Art Gallery of Ballarat, walking distance from Ballarat's Visitor Information Centre and a few doors down from the local cinemas. Over the past 3 years the hotel has undergone a major refurbishment to bring its hotel style rooms, including some apartment style accommodation, to a four and half star standard. The hotel is now also home to the Ballarat RSL with memorabilia displayed within the hotel. Newly refurbished bars and dining areas now operate seven days and at the rear is a new upmarket lounge which operates weekends for guests and discerning patrons with strict standards. One of Ballarat's most popular meeting places, The Lane offers a street cafe and alfresco dining, alongside the Lane Restaurant (popular with foodies) and Heritage Bar & Restaurant offering breakfast, lunch and dinner 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Ballarat, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing