We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week at the welcome stranger holiday park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gateway Lifestyle Ballarat
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A week at the welcome stranger holiday park”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here in our van for a week in may 2013
The park was great the staff were very helpfull the sites are big the showers were excellent plenty of hot water and very clean the park gets a 10 out off 10 from us
I would happy stay there again .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    43
    7
    8
    2
See reviews for
77
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at the Big4 Ballarat Welcome Stranger Holiday Park in May 2013. From the very first moment we made our booking over the phone, the customer service was excellent. Nothing too much trouble, very helpful and willing to offer options and information beyond what I asked. When we arrived (very late at night) keys and map were available as per our instructions. To our delight, they had left the heater on to warm the cabin for us. Where do you get service like that nowadays?
Next day, at the office, once again the staff were incredibly welcoming and advised us of all the facilites and very happy to make us as comfortable as possible.
The family cabin was clean and simple and quite comfortable for our family 2 adults and 2 kids.
The boys loved the mini golf course and the jumping pillow. There was an Xbox kinect which the boys also thought was great. Unfortunately due to the cold weather, the boys could not take advantage of the pool. But I'm sure it would be great to stay there in Summer.
There were a number of covered shelters with BBQ's and tables and sinks. All of which were very clean and tidy. All in all, a very good experience and a nice place to stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We are a family of 5 and stayed over night our 3 boys absolutely loved our stay there was so much for them to do mini golf jumping pillow etc our boys our 2,9 and 11. Our cabin was very close to the jumping pillow and play ground which was fantastic for us as we could easily keep an eye of the older boys. The cabin we stayed in had a corner couch so we all had a place to sit and was very clean. The staff were professional and very friendly/helpful. Highly recommend Welcome Stanger.

Room Tip: If you have children I would recommend the duluxe 2 bedroom near the jumping pillow
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familytraverler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WattsHolidayParks, Manager at Gateway Lifestyle Ballarat, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We do work hard to ensure the kids have a great time and look forward to seeing them back on the Jumping Pillow soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I made a booking for the for the long weekend the Sunday before, I had to cancel early on the Monday morning less than 12 hours after due to work circumstances, I was told that they would not refund my deposit. I said to them that they should refund as no cancellation policy was explained to me, and they had plenty of time to resell the cabin. I rang later that week not telling them who I was to see if they had any vacancies for the weekend they said no we are fully booked, still no deposit back, very bad form seeing I had stayed there before on 3 occasions, you have lost a customer and also your reputation, I will be contacting Big 4 to make an official complaint.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PeterLMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WattsHolidayParks, Manager at Gateway Lifestyle Ballarat, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It is always our intention that every guest has a positive experience at BIG4 Ballarat Welcome Stranger and we can understand your frustration with what seems to be an unreasonable cancellation policy. To avoid “no shows” it is necessary to ensure bookings made for periods of high demand are legitimate by stressing and carrying through with our deposit policy. Of course, a cancellation within 12 hours of booking is unusual and should have been taken into consideration at the time. We also note that in your instance only two of the three nights booked were resold and this would have contributed to confusion and the refund decision taken at the time. As we have already responded via personal email, we do sincerely apologise that your previous happy visits to BIG4 Ballarat Welcome Stranger Holiday Park have been impacted by this experience and we hope the refund given alleviates that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We were driving from Adelaide to Melbourne & decided to break the journey & stay overnight in Ballarat. After looking on Trip Advisor & Last Minute.com, a cabin seemed better value & convenience than a motel for us. We arranged a late arrival & booked a small cabin. It was perfect for our needs- clean, heater on when we arrived, private bathroom, tv, basic kitchen facilities (microwave, fridge, stove top, kettle, toaster & cutlery) & single carpark space. This cabin is perfect for a couple, or family with 2 children (bunks for kids in little separate room).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferntree Gully, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Family friendly park with endless entertainment for the kids. The staff are very helpful and friendly and close to everything. Walking distance to Soveriegn Hill, just across the road .I recommend staying at Welcome Stranger Holiday Park to all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie-Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

A lovley clean and tidy park.Friendly staff who were helpful and informative.Facilities were in excellent condition and kept clean. Grassed areas were tidy and trees provided great shade. It was easy to locate and moving the caravan into position was easy. Although we did not travel with children I was impressed with the playground facilities available for families.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
2.0 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
1.8 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#1 of 33 in Ballarat
369 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Ballarat Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites City Views
0.7 mi away
Eureka Stockade Holiday Park
2.8 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#8 of 20 in Ballarat
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Lifestyle Ballarat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Lifestyle Ballarat

Property: Gateway Lifestyle Ballarat
Address: 263 Scott Pde | Cnr Water St. & Scott Parade, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gateway Lifestyle Ballarat 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway Lifestyle Ballarat is an established park located in the Central Highlands region of Victoria, just one hour's drive from Melbourne. With easy access to many of Ballarat's popular tourist attractions like Sovereign Hill, Ballarat Wildlife Park and Lake Wendouree as well as the town centre. Ballarat is known for its gold rush history culture and preserved Victorian era heritage. The park is set on landscaped acres, this is a perfect location for families looking for a relaxed holiday, couples seeking a romantic escape or a group looking for a range of self-contained accommodation options and a function or meeting room. Some appealing facilities and features at this popular tourist park include- - Lagoon style pool - Jumping pillow - Playground - Mini golf - Tennis court - Indoor Spa (fees apply) - Games room - TV room - School holidays activities - BBQ areas - Kiosk Gateway Lifestyle Holiday Parks are dedicated to providing you with the best holidays possible and wish to advise some locations are undergoing development as we continue to improve our parks. You may experience some noise during your stay, for further details, please contact our friendly park managers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Gateway Lifestyle Ballarat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Lifestyle Ballarat Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing