We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spotless, good facilities & friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gateway Lifestyle Ballarat
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Spotless, good facilities & friendly staff.”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My family and I enjoyed a very pleasant stay here. We were impressed by the clean bathrooms and surrounds. Our young children enjoyed the playground, esp flying fox, tennis courts and mini golf which is all included in the rates. The pool was just the right size, a little cool but in warm weather very refreshing. The park is close to train tracks but our boys loved this. We'd stay again if we were to stay in ballarat again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rerykali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    43
    7
    8
    2
See reviews for
77
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was our second year at welcome stranger and we will happily return again soon. My family and myself went up with another family to stay for 3 nights on 2 powered sites. The grounds and amenities are always clean, and the environment is not noisy at all.

The camp kitchen is clean and comprises of a microwave, stove and toaster. The bbqs are cleaned daily.

Everyone is so friendly who works in the office and always willing to assist in any way they can. Special mention to Melanie for always making me laugh when on the phone and to Sam for always being helpful. Nothing is to much to ask these ladies,

We were informed the jumping pillow was out of service before we came up and were given a complementary voucher for the spa .

My kids love th pool, mini golf and playground. We would move there if we could lol.

Absolutely love it. Highly recommend to any one wanting time away.

Thanks for having us and see you again soon

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donvale
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Rented a 7 bed ensuite cabin for two days so my Melbourne and Canadian family could visit Sovereign Hill. Location is a bit out of town but good for what we were doing. The cabin was great. All cooking facilities were very good, lots of space and very clean. The park is well maintained, including the camping facilities - toilet block, BBQ areas, pool, mini golf. I will be back here with my caravan soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaygeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from another wonderful stay at the Welcome Stranger. Great pool, jumping pillow, amenities blocks, camp kitchens, playground...... So many great things to mention! The powered sites are spacious, and well maintained. My partner loves the mini gold course, and on occasion we have a bash on the tennis court. We have been staying here regularly for 4 years at various times throughout the year, and it is consistently great! We love Melanie in the office she is wonderful! The kids think she is a comedienne! We have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mel_Cat75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WattsHolidayParks, Manager at Gateway Lifestyle Ballarat, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thanks for posting this review and taking the time to mention one of our hard working team. We will make sure that Melanie sees your comments and we agree...she cracks us up in the office all the time! We look forward to seeing you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedroom family cabin for 2 nights. The room was clean and comfortable with a full kitchen,air conditioning. We had a problem with our hot water which was fixed straight away. Our daughter loved the pool, jumping pillow and the putt putt golf that all on site. Lovely helpful staff.
Reasonably priced, not far form the Main Street of Ballarat. Close to Sovereign hill.
Would stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricochet742009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesea, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed overnight in 2 bedroom cabin which was extremely clean and well equipped. Park has plenty of things to keep the kids amused, and plenty of shade for those who just want to chill out with a good book. Grounds immaculate and park is well layed-out. Within walking distance of restaurants, and across the road from Sovereign Hill this park is in an ideal location. One of their biggest assets is the staff, who are extremely friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Highly recommend this Park.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather120851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights on a powered site. The site was big and was tiled on the annexe area and also where the caravan was parked. Lovely clean park with first class amenities. Price very good. Very friendly staff especially Mel on reception. Would highly recommend this park to everyone. Situated not too far from the CBD. There are plenty of cabins and the park was booked out for a family reunion (we were not part of this), but there was no noise or any other interruptions, except for the storm!

Room Tip: Great park with plenty of room for the kids to play. Pool, mini golf, jumping pillow and all of thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nette8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballarat
2.0 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
1.8 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#1 of 32 in Ballarat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
7.8 mi away
RACV Goldfields Resort
RACV Goldfields Resort
#1 of 2 in Creswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Eureka Stockade Holiday Park
1.5 mi away
BIG4 Ballarat Goldfields Holiday Park
2.8 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#6 of 18 in Ballarat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Lifestyle Ballarat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Lifestyle Ballarat

Property: Gateway Lifestyle Ballarat
Address: 263 Scott Pde | Cnr Water St. & Scott Parade, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gateway Lifestyle Ballarat 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway Lifestyle Ballarat is an established park located in the Central Highlands region of Victoria, just one hour's drive from Melbourne. With easy access to many of Ballarat's popular tourist attractions like Sovereign Hill, Ballarat Wildlife Park and Lake Wendouree as well as the town centre. Ballarat is known for its gold rush history culture and preserved Victorian era heritage. The park is set on landscaped acres, this is a perfect location for families looking for a relaxed holiday, couples seeking a romantic escape or a group looking for a range of self-contained accommodation options and a function or meeting room. Some appealing facilities and features at this popular tourist park include- - Lagoon style pool - Jumping pillow - Playground - Mini golf - Tennis court - Indoor Spa (fees apply) - Games room - TV room - School holidays activities - BBQ areas - Kiosk Gateway Lifestyle Holiday Parks are dedicated to providing you with the best holidays possible and wish to advise some locations are undergoing development as we continue to improve our parks. You may experience some noise during your stay, for further details, please contact our friendly park managers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and PitchUp so you can book your Gateway Lifestyle Ballarat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Lifestyle Ballarat Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing