We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5th consecutive year staying here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sovereign Views Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sovereign Views Apartments
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5th consecutive year staying here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We cannot fault the sovereign views apartments and this is why this is our 5th year of staying here on the long weekend in June. The apartments are cosy warm, spacious and has everything we need. Very very affordable, easy to get to anywhere in Ballarat and Wilma is always friendly and accommodating. We have already booked for 2015.

Room Tip: Over the five years we have stayed in the 2,3 and 4 bedroom apartments and all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    27
    9
    7
See reviews for
33
18
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wangaratta, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Have stayed here twice now and I've got to say Wilma is the just great to deal with, We stayed on business and wanted great value for money and room to move, the location is excellent just a stones throw from CBD and Sovereign Hill, this place has underground car parking, is warm in winter, cool in the summer, very modern and spotless, has all the mod con's, we'll most certainly be back to this one. 10/10 I highly recommend this place, and I stayed in 174 motels last year so I know a good one when I see it.

Room Tip: Families will love this place, but also good for shared Business people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve3678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

**The GOOD things***

~Great location, super close to Sovereign Hill and walking distance to some restaurants
~Apartments were new, clean, airy and spacious with good water pressure for shower too
~Beds were good and linen clean with opening windows & fly screen, good for Summer
~Friendly receptionist pre-heated our room prior to our arrival (was a cold day)
~Has a table tennis table & foosball table for the teens (free) and a billard table (fee)

**THINGS TO BE AWARE OF***

~Apartments 16, 17 & 18 are up on level 1, facing the pool. In Summer, these rooms could be noisy due to pool noise. OK for us but not if you don't like kids!
~The apartments all have windows facing out towards the walkway. This means that people can peer into your lounge room as they walk past as the windows are not tinted for privacy They have blinds but they cut out light only. (note: apartment 18 would be ok as this is at the dead end)
~The view from these rooms is that of a very unsightly industrial ? neighbour. See other posters photo for view.
~For a 2BR apartment (1xQB + 1xDB 1xSB) cost us $230 peak period. I think this is a bit expensive for it's location (5 min drive to centre of town) and more importantly, it's lack of service in relation to the fact that the reception is only open from 8-6pm. Other places normally man their businesses at least until 8 or 9pm. We were lucky that nothing broke when we were there as I would be concerned that there was no one around to assist.

For $230 it is also expensive due to the lack of other facilities. Even a deluxe cabin at a Caravan park is cheaper and yet they offer a playground(s), jumping pillows, heated pools,
& pancake breakfasts on weekends. If you don't have kids, then you should be expecting a basic continental breakfast (or the supplies) at least in your tariff.

Would I stay here again? Yes, no , maybe. Depends on the tariff and what I was doing in town.

Room Tip: Rooms 16, 17 & 18 face the pool. This can be a good or bad thing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beryl_be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with our toddler and the grandparents recently. Apartment was ideally situated for shops and attractions, clean, well presented. Modern and well equipped. We would recommend it.

Our only concern was that there were blinds in every area of the apartment which has chains dangling down which are obviously a hazard to children. These need to be secured really.
The living area has a 2 seater sofa and two dining style chairs. Not very comfy for a whole family to sit on but bearable for a short trip.
Staff were friendly and helpful.

We didn't know there was a swimming pool available or DVD players in the room so hadn't brought the necessary clothing and DVDs to use which was a shame. The website we used for the booking didn't describe these things, so they were an added bonus. We were able to borrow a child's DVD from the reception area.

We didn't really explore Ballarat beyond the gold mines but all in all we had a great weekend and felt very happy with our accommodation choice.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joweyDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We booked this last minute, it was more expensive than anywhere else we had stayed but little else available. The actual apartment was very nice inside, but the building was depressing, a bit of a concrete block with metal grilles everywhere, also noisy with little privacy. There was a small table with chairs outside but it was not an attractive place to sit. Felt quite closed in.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Lovely apartment and very spacious. Good decor choice and artwork. Lots of natural light from top windows (well thought of when built) which have blinds that can be pulled down but the security of knowing no one can see you from the roof. You are on a landing to other guests walking by but everyone is just doing their own thing. When you leave you will need to do your own dishes before leaving and empty the rubbish bags but that's no biggie. We couldn't find the light switch for the bathroom light (perhaps the globe had blown?).

Beds were comfortable and bedding of good quality. The only thing that was the let down were the pillows - too soft and we all thought that.

The place is very close to Soverign Hill - literally a 5 minute walk but over a main road and up a slight hill. A 2 minute drive. There is no supermarket near by that we found so buy your stuff at Coles in Ballarat city area before arriving. We had a great pub meal at the Red Lion Hotel which was busy for a Saturday night.

Things that could be improved: A map of Ballarat provided by reception on check-in with a marking of where the hotel is located and instructions inside the apartments for how you turn the gas wall heaters on/off. Our heaters were on when we arrived on a sunny day so we opened the door to let the heat out (a waste of energy really). We absolutely loved returning to them on that evening after a very chilly wintery time at the Sovereign Hill 'Blood in the Southern Sky' night show.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper and you have a choice of rooms in an apartment you will prefer a room awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank havachatkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment (apartment 17) for 2 nights. Wilma, the manager, was kind enough to arrange an extra bed at no extra cost for our special needs child upon calling a week prior, and a room located away from the traffic. The apartment was well-equipped and even had a fan in one of the rooms. Both rooms have sufficient cupboard space and heating. It has a kitchen with a gas stove, cutlery, microwave, fridge and sink. The hall had a large TV, an air conditioner, 2 couches and a dining table. The room was located at the back of the property, above the undercover car park, so noise was not an issue. The size of the bed rooms and the apartment was sufficient. The location is good, within walking distance to the popular Japanese food, Kambei (about 50 meters) and Sovereign Hill (about 100 meters). It even has a pool, a barbecue pit and an elevator. As all units were located on the first floor, above the undercover parking, so we did not use the lift.

The bad...the reception is not always manned, even during conventional working hours. There is a phone number on the entrance, which we did call a few times and left a message too, as our air condition was not working well (remote went berserk, and gave us hot air in summer). There is a charge for non-urgent calls (as stated on the door). All calls were not answered nor returned.

The apartment is rather oddly shaped, with some high ceilings with non-working electric blinds covering windows in the living room and the bed rooms. The first thing we noted upon entering was the dead cockroach below the couch. In addition, the water tasted funny, so we were forced to stock up water from Aldi, located some distance away in the center of Ballarat.

Upon checkout, we wanted to inform the owner of these issues, but there was no one there, so we just dropped the keys.

Do shop for the best prices on multiple websites. This apartment can be rather crowded on weekends, so prices might be higher. Trivago, booking.com etc might not give the cheapest prices, despite them stating so. I think for the apartment price (we paid $500 for 2 nights via booking.com) was rather pricey. Try their new website for more competitive prices: www.Accommodationonlyons.com.au

Overall, this is not a bad place to stay if the prices were cheaper.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clarence17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilmaCurnow, Manager at Sovereign Views Apartments, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hello Clarence, thankyou for taking the time to write such a long review. unfortunately had you looked at the blinds they all have a chain on them at a reachable height to open and close as all blinds do even the high ones, We are closed for lunch most days as this is a quiet time otherwise the office is staffed, and I always answer my phone and messages. unfortunately we have no control over the taste of the water though I find quite good, that is personal . we are a 3 minute drive in to the CBD. am glad you liked the apartment and hope you enjoyed your weekend otherwise. RegardsWilma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ballarat hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Ballarat Hotel and Convention Centre
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballarat Suites
1.5 mi away
Seymours on Lydiard
Seymours on Lydiard
#2 of 33 in Ballarat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Main Lead
Comfort Inn Main Lead
#28 of 33 in Ballarat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites City Views
0.8 mi away
Bakery Hill Motel
Bakery Hill Motel
#21 of 33 in Ballarat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sovereign Views Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Views Apartments

Property: Sovereign Views Apartments
Address: 5 Lal Lal St | Golden Point, Ballarat, Victoria 3350, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Ballarat
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Ballarat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sovereign Views Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sovereign Views Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sovereign Views Apartments Ballarat, Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing