We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Ballarat
Post
Inbox
Search

“Excellent food and service”

Carboni's Italian Kitchen
Reserve a Table
2
Tue, 2/18
8:00 PM
Ranked #4 of 390 Restaurants in Ballarat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Description: At Carboni's Italian Kitchen Ballarat, we invite guests to enjoy a selection of artisan wood fired pizzas, antipasti, pasta dishes and delicious desserts, all sharing a distinct, rustic Italian twist. Relax with friends over a shared platter or glass of red. Catch up over a Sunday lunch or dinner any night of the week. The choice is yours. With a menu created from only the freshest local seasonal produce, Carboni's Pizza Kitchen is one of Ballarat's premier relaxed dining destinations. Our menu is hand crafted by our chef and his team, utilising carefully selected local and imported premium ingredients to reflect the classic and uncomplicated flavours of the Italian cuisine.
Restaurant details
Description: At Carboni's Italian Kitchen Ballarat, we invite guests to enjoy a selection of artisan wood fired pizzas, antipasti, pasta dishes and delicious desserts, all sharing a distinct, rustic Italian twist. Relax with friends over a shared platter or glass of red. Catch up over a Sunday lunch or dinner any night of the week. The choice is yours. With a menu created from only the freshest local seasonal produce, Carboni's Pizza Kitchen is one of Ballarat's premier relaxed dining destinations. Our menu is hand crafted by our chef and his team, utilising carefully selected local and imported premium ingredients to reflect the classic and uncomplicated flavours of the Italian cuisine.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great little Ballarat gem. Would highly recommend it to everyone wanting an authentic Italian meal. If I had to criticise anything, it would be the coffee at the end of the meal. I would have given 10/10 for this place if it wasn’t for the terrible coffee at the end. Fix the coffee situation and you have an excellent place!

Date of visit: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank mliuzzi2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 493 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

We had a group of 5 and were seated at the kitchen door so we had no delays in our meal service and we also had the matching wines. Meal service was paced perfectly for us and as long as you didn't guzzle the wines they lasted through the appropriate course(s). Given the fact it was NYE and the place was packed I couldn't fault the service. All pasta was cooked perfectly although I prefer my gnocchi a little lighter in texture. Sauces were fine and service always with a smile. While food is not always 5 star it is the best Italian in Ballarat and as good or better than most you will get in Lygon St. Don't be put off by the occasional grumpy review this place is worth a visit if you are in town and looking for a nice Italian meal.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank georgedV712DY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2020

Arrived at 6:30pm for a New Year's Eve prepaid 4 course dinner. Received our first drink about 7:15pm and the first course at 8:00pm. We had signed up for the matching wines and this first drink was long gone before any food arrived. The second course of trio of pastas came out one pasta at a time at 30 min intervals. The third (main) course arrived at 10pm with dessert following at 11pm. Several patrons voiced their displeasure and some even left early. The food was hit and miss and some dishes were cold and under cooked. We use to love this restaurant but on a previous visit slow and average service combined with this 'special event' have us wondering if we'll ever bother to return.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Piffpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019

It was a busy time when 5 of us had dinner at Carboni's. The service was not great and the food was very average. I had been there twice before and was very impressed but disappointed this time.

Date of visit: December 2019
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank OnAir315415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2019

Good service, delicious Italian food and value for money. Would recommend for couples, families and big groups as versatile setting.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank annehealesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carboni's Italian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Carboni's Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing