We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best burgers east of Melbourne”

George's Hamburger Shop
Ranked #6 of 69 Restaurants in Bairnsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Best burgers east of Melbourne”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

There's no accident that George's is regularly ranked highly in the mainstream media in lists of the best hamburgers in Victoria. Fresh patties (not pre-packaged gunk) and other fresh ingredients freshly cooked to perfection on a real bread bun. Prices are highly competitive, just your standard fish 'n' chip shop hamburger price. Get yourself a bucket of chips to go along with the burger, they're a treat as well (ask for chicken salt).

There's a few chairs and tables if you want to eat in store, but the store itself is pretty old school, and there's a number of parks and gardens nearby that provide a nice spot to eat. They're generally open until a reasonable time at night. George's is easy to find, on the highway directly across the road from the golden arches - handy if you need a toilet break while your burger's on the grill, there's also a public toilet round behind Subway. But it's a no-brainer which side of the street to buy your burger.

To be honest these are probably the best burgers I've had anywhere, ever. Well worth the visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boxing_Kangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    20
    6
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paynesville, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Hamburgers.”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Georges hamburger at Bairnsdale are the best tastiest hamburger ever. Everything is fresh including real meat patties. They are the real deal, along with friendly service. My family and self came away very satisfied after sitting on the freshly mown lawns in the middle of the Main Street in Bairnsdale to eat our Georges hamburger. No hesitation in recommending.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gipslake7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Burgers in Town”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Everytime I visit Bairnsdale I visit Georges for the best Burger in town Never dissapointed, always tastes fresh with the best meat patties I would recommend to anyone try it and see

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Excellent burgers and chips”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The chips were simply YUM, and the burgers are as good as what the other reviews say.

My wife and I had originally planned to dine at River Grill. We didn't have a reservation and found they were booked out with a function when we arrived.

So Plan B was to try Georges' burgers. We were not disappointed. The burgers were done very well. Buns were not soggy, ingredients fresh and not overly oily, and the chips ...... just yum.

We didn't have the souvlaki but the fact that they had hardly any meat left on the rotating spit suggests it is very popular (we were there 7:30pm)

Highly recommend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lokky_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale, Australia
1 review
“The Best Ever.”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Food is great! People are great! Everything is amazing. Great collection of fishing photos also.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptainJHarkness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's Hamburger Shop also viewed

 
Bairnsdale, Gippsland
 

Been to George's Hamburger Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing