We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for the coast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mitchell on Main Motel & Apartments
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Bairnsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Travelling from the UK needed to find somewhere for Australia Day weekend and the Comfort Inn fitted well into our plans with easy access to Lakes Entrance and a staging point for the Great Alpine Road. Hotel located on the right hand side of the wide Princess Highway on the approach to the town centre from Sale. A ten minute stroll to Coles and main shopping area. The motel units were quite spacious with small patio although the bathroom and "kitchen area" were compact. Being the holiday the restaurant wasn't open for dinner but served a complementary breakfasts; which was an unexpected bonus for us as we thought we had booked room only.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DurhamJeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 154 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Location perfect on the main strip of Bairnsdale.

Pros:
Excellent customer service.
Comfy beds.
Spacious rooms.
Good facilities.
Newly refurbished bathrooms.
Good restaurant attached.
Value for money.
Pool for summer nights.

Cons:
Thin walls.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank EvangelineAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Got two rooms at the Comfort Inn on the recommendation from another hotel across the road who was fully booked. Traveling in January for a month this was common theme with school holidays etc. the staff were great and friendly the lady showed us our rooms which had both been recently renovated. The price was in the average we had been paying. Despite being busy it was quiet in the rooms, there was a small sitting area outside the patio door leading out from the bedroom. We didn't use the pool but it was being well used by others. The buffet breakfast was also very good and kick started our day. Definitely worth another stay if in the area.

Room Tip: This motel has more rooms than the average motel so it does get the business when other places are f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Room16- 1 night
Very nice clean motel. The lady at the reception was very helpful and had always a lovely smile
Big room with almost evything you need.

Breakfast was just ok. A better coffe should be provided. I just not used to the soluble one (small bag) which has a horrible taste.

Overall, It was a nice experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EtoileFilanteduSud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

After a very long car ride, we arrived in Bairnsdale at 9pm on a friday night to find that the majority of hotels had no vacancies. Fortunately the comfort inn had a couple of rooms still available. The lady at the desk was a huge help and put us in a deluxe room which had all that we needed for an overnight stay.

Buffet breakfast of cereal, toast, fruit, tea coffee and juice was included in the cost. This was just the tonic to the start of another long drive!

Would recommend for a basic stopover during travel.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank HelloAFo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The owners received us very kindly and were very helpful. Although our room was a bit outdated, is was very clean - including the carpeting - and pretty large. It had a good working air conditioning, a large bed with good pillows and a nice shower.

There was also free fast wifi available in the room and in the morning there was a good simple complementary breakfast.

Although we only stayed here for only one night we would be happy to stay here for more days and definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed only one night during our trip from Melbourne to Sydney but very pleasant experience. Twin room big enough for us (2 small kids included (1 and 3 years olds)). Clean, quiet, in the center, nice owners, free parking 20 metres from the room. Continental breakfast included in the price. KFC next door, other restaurants maybe 5-10minutes walking. Big supermarket Coles 10minutes.
Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rastompk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bairnsdale hotels
0.4 mi away
Bairnsdale International
Bairnsdale International
#4 of 13 in Bairnsdale
335 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Riversleigh
The Riversleigh
#2 of 13 in Bairnsdale
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bairnsdale Kansas City Motel
Bairnsdale Kansas City Motel
#9 of 13 in Bairnsdale
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mitchell River Tavern
Mitchell River Tavern
#1 of 13 in Bairnsdale
129 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bairnsdale Motor Inn
Bairnsdale Motor Inn
#12 of 13 in Bairnsdale
27 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Colonial Motor Inn Bairnsdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitchell on Main Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitchell on Main Motel & Apartments

Address: 291 - 295 Main St, Bairnsdale, Victoria 3875, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn Mitchell on Main)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Bairnsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Bairnsdale
Price Range: $96 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mitchell on Main Motel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Bairnsdale, walking distance to shops and the train station. All rooms have opening windows and some have courtyards (you can request one when booking, subject to availability). We have upstairs but most are downstairs rooms. Free continental buffet breakfast 7 days a week. We have budget standard rooms or beautifully and modern newer deluxe rooms. Open 7 days. 24 Hour check in available if advised prior to arrival. Ample parking can accommodate trailers, boats, small trucks. On-site restaurant that opens Monday-Thursday 6 pm-8 pm for dinner (room service available between these hours) and cooked breakfast 7 days a week between 7 am-9 am Monday-Saturday 8 am-10 am on Sunday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mitchell on Main Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing