We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food, great staff, friendly and inviting. Will be back”
Review of Smokey Joe's

Smokey Joe's
Ranked #33 of 331 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The meal was delicious, well presented and great atmosphere. Loved it, will be back definitely. The outdoor dining area was lovely as the night was humid. The lush trees enveloping the area made the area private and inviting. It was just beautiful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Brandon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 168 of 267 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Seriously-- a Southern American restaurant in Launceston? Could they do the great Creole meal justice?

In one word "YES YES YES"!

Fabulous service, terrific food (we have the beef brisket and the gumbo for mains, the fire fries for entree and managed to fit in half a blueberry cobbler in for dessert). All the food was perfectly cooked (gumbo was the most authentic I've had) and beef brisket was melting off the bone. The highlight would have to be the fire fries though!

Would strongly recommend any visitor to launceston to come here-- you won't be disappointed!

Keep up the great work guys!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank melbourneblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

hi i visited smokey joes on the 23/2/13 with high expectations of traditional food, we ordered the brisket, northern style ribs and the gumbo and for a starter we had the croc, and for myself who has been a chef for 17yrs i can honestly say that it was the worst food experience i have had in my life, the reason for this is are- the croc was $15 and there were only 8 pieces no bigger then 15mm long and 4mm wide and tough. the ribs had basically no meat and the sauce was out of a jar, the brisket was not edible is tasted like it had been braised in oil only and was bland and finally the biggest disappointment was the gumbo it was anything but a gumbo, it tasted like freezer and there were no tradition to it at all. all in all we ate about 25% of the 4 dishes and couldnt eat the rest, $100 up in smoke literally.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon P, Owner at Smokey Joe's, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy the food, you and your family came in early on the evening, ordered the crocodile starter, which is, a STARTER, it's not meant to fill you up. For a person professing to be a chef of 17 years experience, I can only say good on you. You have no palate or understanding of the food that you were served. We prepare all our food and condiments from scratch, smoke our meats on site, and make our own andouille for our gumbo. the brisket is SMOKED, not braised, (any real chef would know this), and our sauce only goes into a jar when WE put it there to sell to our many happy customers. cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Great food, awesome taste. Try the fire fries if you dare...... They start of okay then BANG !!!!! The ribs are huge!!!!.... Cooked to perfection this place gas it all

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bigmickz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal with family including 2 from Georgia USA and we all loved the food.... we will be back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank RichardBejah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokey Joe's also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
 
Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Smokey Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing