We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, delicious and top staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smokey Joe's

Smokey Joe's
Ranked #22 of 302 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, delicious and top staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Staff are attentive and friendly. The owner is an awesome bloke and goes out of hIs way to be sure the customer is happy.

The food is to die for!!! It was quite quick but so yummy! Somewhere I'd like to be a regular at.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Randomisationizm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon P, Owner at Smokey Joe's, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thanks for that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    59
    24
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

The service is wonderful, staff are so friendly and the food is amazing. I have no idea WHAT A CERTAIN REVIEWEE IS TALKING ABOUT. If you're looking for a relaxed yet delicious dining experience, look no further :)

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Miishanyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon P, Owner at Smokey Joe's, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Sometimes, nothing you do will satisfy some people, and with a site like TripAdvisor, it's possible for anyone to be publicly hateful, that's modern life. But we concentrate on making folks like you happy, and don't really care about the haters at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlinghurst, SYDNEY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Relaxed or not, hard to tell?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

I grabbed a quick bite at smokey joes and wasn't disappointed but similarly wasnt blown away. Can't put my finger on it, maybe it was the service, maybe the dining room? The food was great, I had the chimichanga - delicious - with some of the redemption hot sauce, just perfect. Couldn't be sure of the waitress was angry or frightened, enjoyed her job or hated it? Was expected cool, laid-back service, like the food, instead it was intense, loud lunchtime cafe churn and unfortunately the dining room matched the service. Was hoping for a booth or somewhere to hang with a big cool beer and flick peanut shells on the floor....I'm a dreamer!
Concentrate on the food, get a pile of beautifully cooked meat and slump into a coma - will return! Must try the ribs...

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank grainger22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon P, Owner at Smokey Joe's, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. I'm glad you like our food and I would have to say that we do run a fairly laid back establishment (however I am also glad you didn't flick food on the floor--we're not that laid back). It's possible that your server was under a bit of pressure as one of our waitstaff is currently on holidays so the two on duty did a fantastic job of keeping pace on an extremely busy night. And yes, when the place fills up, it gets a bit intense, just like any restaurant does.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Soooo Happy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Was in Launceston for a business trip and decided to try Smokey Joes.
It is easily the best American BBQ I have had in Australia and I enjoyed every bite.

I feel sad for the people who give it a low rating for presentation and atmosphere.

American BBQ isn't meant to be Fancy. It is meant to be messy eat with your hands and wipe your face with paper towels.

Guys...Live your life a little. You don't have to eat every meal with a pole stuck up your BUM!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Frenchowdah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon P, Owner at Smokey Joe's, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you so much! you totally get it and we love that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, wonderful ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

A truly lovely experience had by a party of four this evening. Two locals and two from Hobart, all of us very looking forward to our meal this evening. We weren't disappointed! After reading mixed reviews we were so pleasantly surprised to find that most reviews were right - the food was amazing! Between four of us we shared fire fries - bloody hot, bloody lovely, beef brisket- succulent is the word used to describe this dish, pulled pork sandwich - discarded the bread, not enough room in me, but the pork was the best Ive ever had, (including my own), pork ribs and chicken also on our menu. We all tasted each others meals and the general consensus was awesome. Chicken a little ordinary but only in comparison to the massive flavours of the other meals.We all decided a standout of the meals in general were the beautiful beans!
Maragaritas were great. Wine menu good value, nice beer selection, service was friendly and efficient, food fantastic, owner a lovely guy to chat to. Will definitely return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristinaKaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokey Joe's also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Smokey Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing