We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing and good value for money”

Tamar River Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the excitement and history of Launceston's spectacular Tamar River from the comfort of our unique vessels. An informative commentary from our skippers will take you on a historical journey where you will discover the stories and tales that shaped Launceston and the Tamar Valley. Travel in to the heart of the Tamar and view the navigable section of the spectacular Cataract Gorge. Sample the delights of our local wines and cheeses as you view breathtaking scenery, world class vineyards, historical buildings, rural settings and frequent encounters of fascinating wild life including sea eagles, wild duck, black swans, pelicans, plus many other varieties of water-fowl and occasionally playful seals. One of our passenger recently commented it is like a moving postcard. It is certainly a 'must do' when visiting Launceston!
Heathfield, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very relaxing and good value for money”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Did the 4 hour lunch/wine tasting cruise. Great value for money. Could not believe how much food was available. Wine tasting and boags beer tasting was perhaps a bit underwhelming and not quite what we expected. The cruise was great and informative, the staff were very efficient and friendly.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    69
    24
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Cruise.”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Tamar River Cruises have a variety of river cruises to suit your budget and available time. A great way to see the Tamar River and the wildlife that lives on or around the river. Also a great way to see the old port of Launceston. Great service, and the very friendly and knowledgeable crew gave us a nice quiet afternoon's cruise around Launceston. Highly recommended. Our cruise went up to the Rosevears Tavern and return. But other cruises are either shorter or longer to suit the individual.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry_Goodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very relaxing way to see the Tamar Valley”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We did the 2 and a half hour morning cruise with morning tea and wine tasting and it was a very relaxing and enjoyable way to see the Tamar Valley. The food was really good, lots of muffins, pastries and cookies and filter coffee, much better than expected, based on other cruises I have been on elsewhere. The commentary was very informative and the boat was very comfortable, plenty of space and seating inside and also ample room to go outside on deck to enjoy the views, birdlife etc. The staff were very friendly and happy to answer questions about the area. The winetasting on the way back was a really nice touch.
Would definitely recommend this cruise. One tip I have is that there are vouchers avaialble at hotels etc that give you a discounted rate. We prebooked for 5 of us and had to pay for 2 as a deposit so paid full price for 2 tickets. Then our friends were given vouchers at their hotel and were able to get a significant discount when they paid before boarding.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank SOCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Take this first if you can, 50 minutes”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Walking distance form city centre. We did the 50 minute tour on our last day, I would recommend "do this on day one". The trip and excellent guide's information and understanding of Launceston and it's history will assist you in your visit.
Reasonably priced and highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Relaxing and informative”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We went on the 4 hour 'Batman Bridge Luncheon Cruise' which travels through the Cataract Gorge and through Launceston's riverfront precinct.

The boat is very neat and comfortable. Our hosts were very professional, friendly and knowledgable. We were provided with morning tea, coffee, muffins, fruit cake and biscuits. Lunch was an assortment of breads with a wide range of fillings, ending off with a platter of fruit, Tasmanian cheese and biscuits. Drinks are available on board. A wine and beer tasting of local wines and beer was a lovely touch.

We were fortunate to see several sea eagles and other wild life.

Overall it was a wonderful relaxing experience and highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank VeroBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamar River Cruises also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Tamar River Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing