We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Green Ones?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Three Steps on George

Three Steps on George
Ranked #52 of 302 Restaurants in Launceston
Price range: $17 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Green Ones?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Mains orders being taken -

"What are the vegetables tonight?"
"Green ones"

"May I please have a 10 ounce of raspberry lemonade, a pint of Boags XXX Ale and a bottle of 42 degrees South Sauvignon Blanc"

Translated to -
A pint of raspberry cordial, a XXXX stubbie and a bottle of Pinot Noir?

When questioned -
"can't you just have the pint of raspberry?"
"no its for a lady"
"what about the Boags XXX?"
"we don't sell it"
"yes you do, it's right in front of you on tap"
"that's Pinot Noir, I was after the Sauvignon Blanc please"
"We don't sell it, this is the only 42 Degrees South wine"
"um, no it's not, we just had a bottle and it's right here on your wine list"

Eventually my order was filled and was then advised, wait for it...........
"we don't have EFTPOS"

Ok, so what is the guy doing with his card standing next to me PAYING BY EFTPOS?

OMG, that was the most unbelievable restaurant experience I have ever had, I was waiting for her to say "Whatever you do, don't mention the war"

Absolutely comical, no drink service to your table, what's that about?

The food was actually quite good, my partner ordered a salad with no tomato and it was as if a chef had decided to have a laugh, it appeared to have 1,700 cut tomatoes on top. HAha.

Sweet potato chips - Perfect and deliciously scrumptious!

Overall, hideous customer service I will return one day when feeling a little down just to see if theycan top that experience and cheer me up.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank F1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    61
    35
    34
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
“An enjoyable eating experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The food, the fire and the staff. The menu was small but well cooked and well served. I was impressed that the Manager, Dale, came and checked on the service and took the time to chat for a while.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Betty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the three steps and were seated quite quickly which was good, we ordered an entree to share and our mains. Our first impression was good, but after waiting 35 mins for a bread and about an hour 40 for dinner - we left with a sour taste in our mouths. We asked twice where our dinner was and was first told it wasn't far away, 20 mins later it still hasn't arrived. When I asked again why we were still waiting we were provided a number of excuses as to why and not one apology. If they had acknowledged the wait before being seated or even a waitress to come and let us know that they were busy elsewhere we would have been fine but just to be left sitting there with no idea what was happening was very disappointing - I would not recommend dining here, apparently they service the hotel as well? Hence our long wait and the service we received was very dismal. The food was fine once it arrived, your standard pub meal ... but def not worth such a long wait

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mel_Goforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Tasmania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“"Long wait guys, really long wait"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

3 of us went to 'George' on Saturday night for coffee and dessert. Meet by a nice young man at the bar who took our order and passed it onto the waitress. Who took a deep breath, rolled her eyes and said ' it's going to be a really long wait guys, really long wait, l have to seat 5 people'. Clearly they don't need customers at this place to make a living! We left and went else where..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 166lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Staff too busy to serve and maybe able to help "in a while"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We went to three steps on George for coffee and dessert to be told they were too busy and maybe able to make coffee in a while... Very strange seen as they had only four tables seated, three eating and five people at the bar awaiting a table which was numerous. What a joke!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dani_girl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Steps on George also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 
Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Three Steps on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing