We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A one off visit not to be repeated! Mediocre 80's pub food..” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Three Steps on George

Three Steps on George
Ranked #54 of 302 Restaurants in Launceston
Price range: $17 - $27
Cuisines: Bar, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A one off visit not to be repeated! Mediocre 80's pub food..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Got a flyer in letterbox at home to visit. With a freebie included. Booked in Friday 7pm and waitress knew not a lot about it. Comments from friends was "we used to go there years ago". 2 of us put upstairs on a micro size cramped table . So we got to see how the place worked from a birds eye view. Slow service. Food all comes from somewhere else on site with a "runner". All wrapped in tinfoil . Salads , cooked food, and sweets.All covered together on your plates.Half of food that arrived was cold. Saw 2 customers take food to cash register to complain. Overpriced basic pub food it was. Sweets mediocre. Coffee had 1'2 inch of froth and lukewarm underneath.Several times saw waiters drop things on floor at front counter. Picked up, didn't even attempt to wash hands and then proceeded to serve food and handle cutlery.
Would have had a better and much cheaper meal at a variety of local pubs. Won't be back and won't tell friends to do the same. Waitress spent most of night apologizing to customers and phoning kitchen to find out where lost servings were. Watching all of this from directly above didn't add to the experience. I normally would tell someone but kept quiet to relieve my partner. who paid as a treat.
To top it all off, The bill had a 2 cent fee for some free voucher garlic bread! Waiter had to explain it to me! Customers must complain about it. Feeble.
Food prices don't concern me,, but paying for dud meals does.
The staff looked like they were used to the situation. Poor sods.
Place fairly full , ironically.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Noel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    61
    36
    35
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“2 hrs for way overcooked steak and seafood that was inedible. Manger discounted half the meal only for the owner to charge my cr”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

4 adults and 3 children arrived at the restaurant on a Monday evening. Waitress staff quite friendly. Ordered drinks at the bar and then moved to our table whereby we ordered starters at 6:15. As they appeared to be taking a while we ordered our mains approx 15-20 mins later and we were assured that starters were very close. After an hour our starters and kids meals arrived. Too late for one child as they had fallen asleep. Again we were assured that the mains would follow quickly.

After enquiring several times and the manager on duty having arguments with the kitchen our mains arrived, we had been waiting 2 hours by this stage. Both steaks were beyond well done and the scallop pasta was inedible. Explained this to the manager, she agreed that quality was unacceptable and did not charge for the steaks.

Upon checking my credit card the next day there was unexplained charges from the hotel. Upon calling the hotel and speaking to the owner he let me know that he had sacked the manger and he debited my credit card as the manger had no authority to not charge me for inedible food. Explained to the owner that this was illegal and he did not seem to care. Will be taking the issue up with my bank.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Cpmccormick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Second to none!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Fantastic food, excellent friendly service, overall a fabulous experience.
Will come again. AAAAA+++++

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mechman36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great staff and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The staff were very accommodating(thanks Nicki and chef James Lethborg) as we needed to be served early and quickly, so top marks to them. Nothing was a bother to them. Food was great - mine was Ocean Trout wrapped in Filo Pastry. Nice atmosphere inside and with a courtyard and verandah outside. Would definitely return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kkcsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Good Friday feast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were staying in Launceston for a few nights dog-sitting for friends, and decided to try this restaurant on Good Friday, as it was open, and thought we would treat ourselves. I had seen the menu some weeks ago and found it to be quite interesting. We booked for 6.00 p.m. and were well looked after from the minute of our arrival. The main restaurant (the Three Steps) was closed for the evening, but the QC Brasserie, which is operated by the same owners, was open for the holiday. The decor was good and the staff (particularly Nikki) were extremely helpful and efficient. The menu was very substantial with a huge offering, more than most. We ordered a prawn roesti and a quail dish for entrees, and the slow-cooked pork belly with crispy crackling etc for the mains. The food was quick in arriving, and absolutely delicious. The only complaint regarding the food was that the poached pear with the pork dish was as hard as a rock and overpoweringly tasted of red wine. We did not eat our pear. The servings were so substantial that we couldn't finish them, which was such a shame. We certainly didn't have room for dessert. Perhaps the only criticism (apart from the pear) was that at no time were we told, nor could I see it anywhere on the menu, that there was a 10% surcharge due to the public holiday. (I was aware of this, however, as I had made enquiries prior to booking). I just think that patrons should be told about this upon entry or when booking to avoid any unpleasantness at payment time. In conclusion, the meals were very substantial, extremely tasty, waiting times were short, and all in all an exceptionally pleasant experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaywol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Steps on George also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Three Steps on George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing