We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely recommend ”
Review of The Metz

The Metz
Ranked #25 of 364 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $34
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are committed to utilising high quality, local and seasonal produce to create beautiful, modern and flavourful food. Our menu features modern Australian dishes with international flair and a beverage list with the best that Tasmania has to offer, including an extensive list of local gins, whiskies and wines from the surrounding abundant regions. Our relaxed contemporary style of dining lends itself to cater to a wide range of occasions - take a stool in our bar for a well deserved after work drink, get cosy and intimate with friends for a long chat and wine in our lounge area, let your family relax in our comfortable booths or take a seat at a round table for a luxurious evening of cocktails and gorgeous food.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great food, great service and a really nice vibe about this place! Although I was tempted to try the emu... I'm glad I had the scotch fillet, one of the best I've had.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 403 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2019

Good service, but even better food. Definitely go back there again but perhaps to try the dinner menu.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sjmckenzie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019

We really enjoyed our meal at the Metz Café Bar, food was delicious and the service was excellent. They went out of their way to provide a dessert that had to be prepared for us as the chef was not happy with the portion that was remaining (last one).

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Floss S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2019 via mobile

Have had some lovely meals at The Metz Launceston! On our most memorable visit (which was a special occasion) we were treated to a wonderful dessert platter which not only looked incredible but tasted amazing! Tasty, hearty meals in the CBD with something to please everyone. Will always return :)

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Linda X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

Woodfired pizza was ordinary. Steak was not cooked as requested. My husband asked for medium to well done and it was definitely rare. Overpriced for what was served.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Ardione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Metz also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to The Metz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing