We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY DISAPPOINTED”
Review of The Metz

The Metz
Ranked #25 of 364 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $34
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are committed to utilising high quality, local and seasonal produce to create beautiful, modern and flavourful food. Our menu features modern Australian dishes with international flair and a beverage list with the best that Tasmania has to offer, including an extensive list of local gins, whiskies and wines from the surrounding abundant regions. Our relaxed contemporary style of dining lends itself to cater to a wide range of occasions - take a stool in our bar for a well deserved after work drink, get cosy and intimate with friends for a long chat and wine in our lounge area, let your family relax in our comfortable booths or take a seat at a round table for a luxurious evening of cocktails and gorgeous food.
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

Woodfired pizza was ordinary. Steak was not cooked as requested. My husband asked for medium to well done and it was definitely rare. Overpriced for what was served.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Ardione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 402 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2019

If you want to pay $22 for bread then go there, and lots of 'extra' sides are needed to get a meal of vegetables and protein. Service basic, meals were passed across people, dont recall the orders, so have to tell them what you ordered- yet the prices for meals is higher than Acland St in Melbourne- no substance to this place. Tables are too small to accommodate the sizing of the platters and dishes. Views out to the traffic- no ambience. No music. Its basic cafe style with high end prices. Quality of food was very good though.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2019 via mobile

We went for dinner on TA recommendations. Unfortunately I chose the Tuna steak with soba noodles. This was a tasteless dish & at $42, was very, very disappointing for my taste buds & my wallet!!
My friends enjoyed their meals without raving about them.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank PetaAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019

We ate here with a large group whilst in town. We hadn't booked but the staff accommodated us after a short wait. It's basically a pizza and pasta type setting but we found the food more elevated than I expected with the platters displaying great cooking technique and more than satisfying the group. we were the last to leave having enjoyed both the food and the wine offered in this excellent venue

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

We came across the Metz in the early afternoon of Anzac Day when not much was open and are glad we did. Enjoyed a lovely glass of wine and amazing wood fired pizza in a busy but relaxed at atmosphere. Service was excellent and the staff were happy to share their knowledge of the local gins and wines.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Flatulator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Metz also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to The Metz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing