We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good dinning and drinks option”
Review of Star Bar Cafe

Star Bar Cafe
Ranked #138 of 304 Restaurants in Launceston
Cuisines: Bar, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A good dinning and drinks option”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Good menu with something for everyone. Good service by waitresess and timing of food.

Easy to stay and drink more around corner of the main bar.

Worth a visit anytime of the night or day

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Byron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    41
    22
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice pub but meals were overpriced.”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

A good atmosphere but the pub food is priced like its fine dining. The pizza @ $20 a go is not to be shared if you wish to make it to the next meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe Tasmania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rather Dissapointing”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

After travelling up from Latrobe (Tas) to have lunch with my Girlfriends that live in Launceston - We always liked the Star Bar so was no hesitation to go there as been great in past (Year ago used to go at least once a week , since moved to Latrobe June 2012)

Started with Herb Pizza was nice and tasty except the black bits on the base as if the Bottom of the Pizza oven had not been cleaned out & Stuffed Mushrooms (Potato/thyme/procuitto) tasty but lacked salt and potato that was diced was undercooked.

Then came Mains - Morrocan Lamb Shank with Sweet potato mash (was a special but we asked if could have with SP mash as Pork Belly was N/A) Mash was Bland and Shank needed another Hr in the Oven did not pull away from bone and again no Seasoning in Sauce , Chicken BLT was average as the Chicken breast was over cooked and could not eat as dry/un-eadable , Finally my Chicken/Roasted Vegetable Salad - Nice sounding but as above lacked seasoning/flavour very bland and Roasted Vege was lucky to see 1-2 min on a Char grill .

All three of us are in the Industry and lovers of good food/wine we don't like to complain but after Yesterdays experience i feel it is needed so management can rectify and maybe try some dishes leaving the kitchen in the near future .

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KatherineandFletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Pizza and Great Service!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stopped in for a quick bite and got a delicious Florence Pizza. The service was great and I found the food to be a great bang for your buck, compared to other places in Launceston.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick_Osbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Ate here on our last trip to Launceston about 2 and a half years ago and it was just as good. Service was friendly and the pizza was nice. A nice pleasant evening, our last in Launceston.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzeeQ60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Bar Cafe also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Star Bar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing