We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good service and good deal :-)”
Review of Pierre's

Pierre's
Ranked #37 of 304 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $31
Cuisines: French, European, Grill, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Pierre's has been operating for more than 60 Years and is a true Launceston Icon. With many Awards and recognitions to its name, it is the perfect place for Breakfast lunch or Dinner. Bookings Highly Recommended !
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, good service and good deal :-)”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

A wonderful location with fantastic atmosphere. The waiter who served us was efficient and friendly. I highly recommend the 'Ceasar salad with salmon', it was very delicious with good deal. Besides, the one you can't miss is the Tasmania oyster! It is small in size but very tasty; you have full confidence with their excellent water quality where their marine farms are. Go and try and you will find more :-) Good!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    121
    46
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dinner with the Girls”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our party of five had a great table at the back of the restaurant, near the bar. Great food, decor, and atmosphere. Service was a little aloof. Definitely book, if you have a large group and want a good table!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieL316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Casual Dining at its best”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

A relaxing, casual restaurant. Friendly helpful staff and the food was very good. The slashback scallops were as good as I have tasted. The pork belly was presented in a way I hadn't seen before but still very tasty. Don't order a rare steak unless you like it blue. A pleasant night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GlennW661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good, but better options in the area”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had Friday group lunch here as part of a farewell celebration. The service was definitely very good, but as the majority of customer were at our table, I can't comment on the service levels when the place is busy. Pre-meal bread was provided with a very nice butter and whole olives. Strangely though there was no olive oil to dip the bread in.

I ordered a main of the 350gm chargrilled scotch fillet (medium). This was delivered with a large serving of plain shoestring fries, a cup of lettuce and the steak cooked medium-rare at best. No big issue personally as I alternate between medium-rare and medium, but and issue that the request wasn't met. Also, three people on the table had the Caeser salad and needed to request for some dressing to be brought to the table as the salad was very dry and bland without it. Not sure if this is their usual method of serving the salad or a missed production step in the kitchen.

Most at the table went with the Creme Brûlée which "we are famous for". Whilst it was good, none of the locals at the table were aware of this fame nor was it mind-blowing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good service, comfortable, but................”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The waitress here was excellent - attentive but not intrusive. The seating was comfortable - a real plus in m book. The food was nice. Not great though, so with a number of excellent choices around they might need to do something a little better. A friend had fettucine, which was a great success. I had the duck which was tasty, reasonably but not perfectly cooked, and a very small serve given the price. I am unlikely to be back given the aforementioned excellent choices nearby.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank russAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pierre's also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Pierre's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing