We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it”

Novaro's Restaurant
Reserve with
Novaro's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 304 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $42
Cuisines: Italian, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Novaro's Italian Restaurant is located in the heart of Launceston. The intimate 32 seat restaurant has been established for 21 years. Chef Nicholas Hooper offers local seafood, try the Flinders Island greenlip abalone in truffle oil, game and meats on his extensive menu.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved it”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We ate at Novaro's on a Monday night in July. We had two courses each (disappointingly had no room left for desserts) and we both absolutely loved everything served to us. On top of the fantastic food, the service was excellent. Novaro's has a lovely ambience and is so homely. Although the meals were a little bit expensive, we felt they were definitely worth it. We could not fault anything about our evening at Novaro's.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee28_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas H, Owner at Novaro's Restaurant, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Lee28_13,
I am sorry it has taken me so long to thank you for taking the time to review Novaro's Restaurant. We are so pleased you enjoyed your evening and hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards,
Sarah and Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    66
    20
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Luv Novaros”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

If you come to Launceston for a visit you must go have Dinner here. It's so lovely. And you must have the quail if you have entree. Always go for the game meat. Superbly cooked amazing service and I love the Janz bubbles...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebF24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas H, Owner at Novaro's Restaurant, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear DebF24,
Thank you for writing a review of our restaurant. We appreciate this takes time from your day.
I have passed your comments into the kitchen regarding the quail! Nicholas and Bryce say thank you!
We hope to see you again soon!
Thanks again and kind regards,
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A disappointing experience”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were looking forward to Novaro's because of the glowing reviews and initial impressions of the setting were good. However, we were disappointed by both food and service. The food did not live up to its fancy Italian titles and the prices charged. An entree of "Creme frutti brodo, Creamy seafood" soup was a thin tomato broth with bits of seafood and fish but mainly mussels, with no trace of the creaminess that had enticed us to order it. Bowls and other entrees were slapped down hastily in front of us. The "eye fillet" one of our group ordered "medium" was more like Scotch and half of it was blue raw. We sent it back for extra cooking. There was no apology. Plates were cleared by reaching across people and grabbing. We didn't bother with dessert.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas H, Owner at Novaro's Restaurant, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Jane D,
Thank you for taking the time to review Novaro's Restaurant. i am sorry to read you did not have pleasurable dining experience. I will certainly check the quality of the seafood broth, and was and to hear you did not enjoy the steak as usually this is a popular dish on the menu. (it is actually a Scotch fillet on the menu, we do not offer an Eye Fillet on this current menu.)
I hope one day you return to Novaro's Restaurant and enjoy your experience.
Kind regards,
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“People Make Places”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We were recommended to dine at Novaros. We were not disappointed. Lovely intimate atmosphere, generous, delicious, fresh seafood and mouthwatering deserts. The complimentary soup and professional, friendly service, set the scene for a wonderful dining experience. Congratulations Sarah, you made us feel so welcome.......like we were dining at a friends house. Definitely come back to Novaros next time we're in Launceston.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas H, Owner at Novaro's Restaurant, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Wendy,
I am so sorry it has taken me so long to thank you for your kind review on Tripadviser. Nicholas and I are so happy to read you enjoyed your evening and we hope to see you again when you are in our beautiful state!
Thanks again,
kind reagards,
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Size DOES matter!”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Novaro's is small, but well thought out in both space and menu.
We were lucky enough to be given a gift voucher for our first meal here and were ultimately sorry that we did what most people do with gift vouchers - leave them too long before using!
We really wish we had 'discovered' Novaro's earlier!
Warm and intimate, the space manages to not feel crowded even when full (which it usually is).
The menu made choosing easy (even for me) and the service was discreet but very competent and caring. Sarah and Nick have created a restaurant that might be small in stature but big in experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annieb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas H, Owner at Novaro's Restaurant, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Annie
Thank you for taking the time to review out restaurant, I am just sorry I have taken so long to reply. Tripadviser can be rather terrifying for anyone who owns a restaurant and your comments make it so much better when we do have a Sunday morning peek!
Manu thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
kind regards
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Novaro's Restaurant also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Novaro's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing