We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A super Italian farewell for us in Launeston”

Novaro's Restaurant
Reserve with
Novaro's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 303 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $42
Cuisines: Italian, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Novaro's Italian Restaurant is located in the heart of Launceston. The intimate 32 seat restaurant has been established for 21 years. Chef Nicholas Hooper offers local seafood, try the Flinders Island greenlip abalone in truffle oil, game and meats on his extensive menu.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A super Italian farewell for us in Launeston”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were lucky enough to get a booking here and were welcomed into a lovely cosy restaurant atmosphere. The food was superb and the service helpful - a nice selection of wine was fabulous to find.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SimJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    65
    19
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

A surpising little find in a beautiful old brick terrace house.

My entree of Arancini ai funghi con formaggio di capra (fried mushroom risotto balls filled with soft Tasmanian cheese) was a great start. Golden and lightly crisp on the outside, wonderfully rich and soft on the inside. The beetroot praline garnish was an unexpected treat.

I am always a little nervous when ordering a seafood pasta because if cooked incorrectly the pasta can taste like it has been simmered in sardine stock. Based on the qulaity of my entree, I bit the bullet and ordered the Spaghettini al gamberoni (pan seared tiger prawns in an apple, verjuice and chilli reduction served with spring onions and baked apple crisps) I could not have been happier and the apple crisps lifted an already stunning dish to heavenly.

The second main, Scaloppine alla Marsala (escalopes of veal with a light marsala cream
reduction served with herb potatoes and an organic green salad with pear and parmesan) was perfectly prepared.

Cooking a dish well is one thing, creating dishes like these where each simple element gives life to the others takes someone special. This chef is inspired. The old addage of the whole being so much more than the sum of its part comes to mind.

I wish I had more time in Launceston to make my way through more of the menu.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
86 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food for value”
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Seats can be booked online. Good and prompt service. We have scallops and oysters for entree. Lamb rump and Seafood mix. Very good for value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast Tas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Service Outstanding- Food Inconsistant”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I have heard so many mixed reviews on Novaro's and thought it about time to try it out for myself.

The restaurant is lovely and quaint set in a beautiful 1800's house in Launceston's Brisbane street.

Service was super friendly and both staff front of house were knowledgable and really helpful.

The menu and wine list is set out really well with SO many tempting options.

Local seafood features extensively throughout, which is always my highlight.

Whilst there were no real complaints regarding the food, it was just not up the standard that i had expected and left feeling slightly dissapointed. The cost is quite high- especially with most wines by the glass at around $20.00.

I want to return to give them a second chance because i love the concept and the service was some of the best i have had in Launceston.

Its also a very romantic setting for couples and special occasions.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Baraka_lp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to dine out :)”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I can't fault this restaraunt at all. The waitress was lovely, friendly and polite. Service was very fast even though there was one waitress and the place was full. The food was amazing too. Highly recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buttons1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Novaro's Restaurant also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Novaro's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing