We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious delicious delicious!”

Me Wah Restaurant Launceston
Ranked #16 of 308 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $79
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious delicious delicious!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoy me wah and would go alt more often if it was more affordable. In saying that every time I go to any other Asian restaurant in Launceston I wish I just paid the extra. Keep up the good work Me Wah!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dani_girl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    80
    31
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
brighton tas
1 review
“work dinner”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

we had a work dinner the service and food were great would recommend it to all. the drinks menu was extensive as well love the moet

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank michelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“60th birthday”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I had my 60th birthday dinner with my family,it was such a success with the high level of service and delicious meals.I was amazed at the little time with so many of us that it took to get our meals.Absolutely recommend this resteraunt.Thankyou for a perfect night.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Delicious and a great experience”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I came for dinner last Friday night with 2 friends and it has got to be the best Chinese food I have ever eaten - anywhere. Not only that the service and the atmosphere are elegant and combine to make an old world charm that seems to have disappeared elsewhere. I loved it and it makes for a special evening. The crispy skin duck was just the best thing I have ever tasted. Absolutely out of this world. We shared this and also the eggplant with chicken dish and this was mouth watering. The rice was perfect, and the green vegetable we had, not bok choy but some other type of vegetable, was so fresh and delicious we could have eaten two platesful easily. Oh we all had soup too. I had the hot and sour and it was divine. I took home the tiny bit I could not eat because the serving was so big, as I could not bear to waste it. The Chinese tea was absolutely fabulous quality. Heavens, I am spoiled now. Even Chinese food in Asia is not this good. THANK YOU!! I have been telling everyone. I think the modern trend is for the staff of a restaurant to act important and as though they are so busy and this and that etc. But in this restaurant the attention is entirely on you the patron, and making your entire experience memorable. This is a huge advantage for the Me Wah over many other dining places.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Discerningtravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Not your average Chinese....”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Having eaten at All Launceston has to offer in the way of a feed of Chinese tucker, let me make this observation for my fellow would be diners.

If you just want a cheap feed and really casual surrounds then my advice would be to go and see Suzzy at the Hoong Fat Chinese restaurant down near the Penny Royal in Brisbane street,

The food there is very yummy and you can help yoursef to seconds if you wish, all at an affordable price, Great for families and students and good value for money.

But, you get what you pay for!!

The other end of the scale is the Me Wah Restauraunt,

Linen table cloths and Linen Napkins
Water which is served as your glass empties, and ALWAYS cold,
Quality ingredients, not only in the cuts of meat but the vegetables used,
Good quality utensils, and Glassware.
A wine list bettered only by the OTHER Me Wah Restaurant in Sandy bay,
Wait staff that are ALWAYS attentive and friendly

and finally the Food,
People have said in other reviews that the Me Wah is expensive.

Let me assure you that you can pay more per meal, for far less Quality at another Chinese restaurant in Launceston, Believe me, We did only a couple of weeks ago.

You pay for what you get at the Me Wah,
and for our experience over 20 years, we will be back........

I only Wish They would go back to doing a Weekend Yum Cha, it was sooooooo good.
They still do it in Sandy bay and is worth the trip.....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SLACKESTBLADDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Me Wah Restaurant Launceston also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Me Wah Restaurant Launceston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing