We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak & excellent service”
Review of JailHouse Grill

JailHouse Grill
Ranked #12 of 308 Restaurants in Launceston
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Devonport, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Great steak & excellent service”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Had a great steak at the Jail House Grill. We went for the small cut luckily as that was more than enough to eat along with the all you can eat salad and veggie bar (although we had had a rather large lunch). My only complaint would be that they charge extra for the sauce which we weren't expecting. Not sure if it wasn't on the menu or we just didn't see it. Apart from that, the service was really good and can't complain! :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fairywings2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    275
    91
    37
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The perfect steak as always - highly recommend the Eye Fillet with Diane Sauce. Good selection of wines to suit all tastes. Good service. Lively atmosphere.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank NurseBec06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“actually quite nice”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Went here on easter monday after black cow was booked out - was in town and hunting for a good steak after not managing to find one over easter in hobart. they took us in despite being fairly busy and it being a bit late.

Decided on the new york cut, med rare, and my partner had the eye fillet. yes, the salad bar was a bit cheesy, but the salads items themselves were fresh and quite tasty and besides its obviously a family oriented place, so why judge that as anything but appropriate. Anyway, our steaks were cooked perfectly, came out relatively quickly after finishing the entrees (some brilliant oysters), and had decent flavour. i enjoyed the mushroom sauce and potatoes also. finally some shared dessert (mud cake)- not amazing, but pretty good..

Finally, the service was lovely and attentive without being over the top- again i suspect family operation?

So dont know why, but i was surprised how much i enjoyed it- the food, experience and service. id not recommend it for an intimate dinner perhaps, but great steak with friends or family. Dont know about non steak mains, but i wouldnt myself look for that in a clearly themed steakhouse/grill.

Thanks!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

So glad we found a Restaurant on Good Friday when most places closed.

Excellent steaks and atmosphere. Very busy and fantastic salad bar.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GriffinFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great steak, real pepper sauce”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

It's nice to get a perfectly cooked steak with a pepper sauce that doesn't pay lip service to 'pepper' - it's got a nice flavour and there are actually peppercorns in it. Love the roast spud even though I'm not a potato person and usually give them to my better-half. We've been here several times though now know to be a bit selective about when to go if we haven't booked as it's sometimes fully booked or too busy to be comfortable. Salad bar is okay but nothing to write home about. Staff friendly. It would be good to have the arrival/payment area more clearly defined as it's in the middle of a busy walkthrough area so on busy days you can be left waiting and wondering what to do next until someone notices you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JailHouse Grill also viewed

 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to JailHouse Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing