We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impeccable.”

Hallam's Waterfront Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 304 Restaurants in Launceston
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Impeccable.”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Four of us recently had a long dinner at Hallam's. We are hard markers, but we couldn't find fault with this place. From the expertly delivered, friendly service from Salisbury and his team, to the most delicious food, it was all wonderful. We particularly enjoyed being able to eat some of our entrees with a drink at the casual table outside, to enjoy the evening, before moving inside for the remainder of the meal. The food was served when we were ready, not when they were. Thank you.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrodwynB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonWilfred, Owner at Hallam's Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review!
It was a pleasure and great to see you and
Hopefully we will see you all again soon.

Cheers
Salisbury Hallam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    187
    79
    50
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
77 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

A great restaurant in an excellent setting, views are great. Waiters were very attentive, but not annoying. Had some great wine and a platter for two. The seafood was cooked to perfection, would recommend this restaurant to anyone. Best seafood in Launceston.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonWilfred, Owner at Hallam's Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of my restaurant.
I'm happy you enjoyed your dining experience, we hope to see you again soon!

Cheers

Salisbury Hallam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Four and a child enjoyed a leisurely lunch here .A plate of oyster, some seafood chowder, some dory, some trumpeter and pork belly.
All were nicely cooked and at the end only the oyster shells were left.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonWilfred, Owner at Hallam's Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of my restaurant.
I'm glad you enjoyed your lunch, it was a perfect Sunday for dining on the deck!
Thanks for the support and we hope to see you again soon.

Cheers

Salisbury Hallam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Just wonderful!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Last weekend we held a post wedding brunch at Hallam's, for 100 people. We had chosen this restaurant having looked at several, and having had the most superb dinner there. The venue is lovely, with great views. The staff were marvellous and interacted with our guests in such a welcoming way. Nothing was too much trouble for Salisbury Hallam and his team. The food was absolutely delicious, and feedback from our guests was excellent. The chefs did an outstanding job, and the menu catered for every taste most generously. Honestly, we could not fault it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cords52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonWilfred, Owner at Hallam's Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Hi from all at Hallam's.
It was an absolute pleasure to cater for your son and now daughter!
we all had such fun doing something different and we are all thrilled that you enjoyed the brunch as much as we did! thank you once again, it was an unforgettable experience and we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Congratulations to the newly weds, enjoy your lives together!

Cheers
The Hallam's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hallams is our "go to" restaurant if we are looking for superb food and excellent service.”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We returned to Hallams for another family celebration, and I wasn't disappointed. We love the fresh Tasmanian seafood menu that reflects the seasonal changes, as well as the friendly professional service. I particularly love the amazing selection of shell fish dishes on offer, and there is uasually something new on the menu everytime we go. If you are looking for delicious food, and terrific table service( at a reasonable price) then give Hallams a try, you wont regret it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mandi67_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hallam's Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
 
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Hallam's Waterfront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing