We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to perfection”
Review of Fresh on Charles - CLOSED

Fresh on Charles
Price range: $12 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Fresh on Charles also has two apartments for short term rental and a flexible back space for events and functions.
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Close to perfection”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This place is fantastic. It's hippie chic decor is matched well by a variety of organic, delicious menu items whether it be for breakfast of lunch. It's time I had the baked eggs which were delicious. They have a good range of gluten free, dairy free and vegetarian options. A great way to try some fresh seasonal produce; oh and the coffee is damn fine too!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peta737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    46
    19
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yummo!!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Food awesome (baked Spanish eggs/ fritters) and great value. kid friendly and clean change room. Added bonus top coffee!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lyndsayqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Vegan Awesomeness”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I shared the Vegan Platter and everything was very, very tasty (even for a card-carrying carnivore like myself). The chickpea burger was a particular highlight, as was the raw pad thai, and the warm flatbread, and the beetroot salad, oh and I almost forgot the roasted pumpkin (basically everything was great!). Would love to eat there again - and will certainly be doing that if we are ever back in Launceston.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mel30th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“amazing - best ever!!! excellent food, excellent accomodation.”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The food is to die for- dinner, breakfast, everything. My husband still talks about it a year on. The staff are all so friendly and helpful.
LOVE THIS PLACE!!!

We stayed in the accomodation owned by Andrea the owner of the restauarant.
There are two beautifully furnished flats and these are the nicest most chic places we have stayed in (and we travel alot). Andrea is the most thoughtful person - she has supplied everything you may need and more ...electric blankets,a kitchen full of eveything you would need, she very kindly left milk, bread etc for our first morning. She even gave us a complimentory night as she was worried that we would be disturbed by a small party that was held one night in her restaurant downstairs. There was hardly any noise!! So considerate of her anyway!

She even gave us her car parking space and paid for her own car parking on the street - amazing lady.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SAMUALLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newham, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“If you like hair in your food come here”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Looks great menu was interesting.
But we waited ages to be served and when the food came one dish had a long hair in it, yuk!
I won't be back

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresh on Charles also viewed

 
Invermay, Launceston
Kings Meadows, Launceston
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing